Fiction logo

THE MAD MATHEMATICIAN

THE STORY BEHIND THE MAD MATHEMATICIAN

By Noble MondayPublished 12 months ago 15 min read
Like

THE STORY BEHIND THE MAD MATHEMATICIAN

While I was cleaning in the library, I couldn’t help but swear every time I removed the dust.

"Dammit! I wouldn’t be cleaning up here if Jimmy hadn’t been stupid," I whispered angrily and I continued to pick up dust on the book shelves.

I just stopped whispering when a thick notebook caught my attention. The notebook is obviously old, the cover is dark and has "CHRONICLES" written on it.

When I opened it suddenly a picture fell. I picked it up and I was shocked at what I saw. They are three people in the picture, two women and a man. I am not mistaken that the one on the right is my mother, in the middle is my father and on the left is a beautiful woman with long white hair and she is carrying this notebook.

I can't determine who the woman on the left is, maybe she was a friend of my mother and father when they were studying here.

When I opened the notebook it was full of dust so I coughed.

"Personally owned by Celeste Martinez," I read in a whisper.

I kept turning the pages, it was all about codes, formulas, and math solutions. It's just a diary but with a mix of important studies.

When I opened the page again I saw another photo. The one in the photo is the woman holding or owning this notebook and the man with her I can’t determine who he is because his head was cut off in the photo and only his body is visible.

When I looked at the back of the photo, something was written;

"Dear 90101107101

Math has many problems and i can solve them, but when i loved you i saw many problems but i couldn't find the right formula to solve them. I'm sorry.

I can forgive you but I will never forget the pain you left me. But despite what you did to me i will still love you till the last digit of pi my 90101107101."

After i read that, i feel sadness and pity for the woman. I don't know what really happened but I can feel her grief.

I was shocked when suddenly someone called me. " Christina, are you done cleaning?" the librarian asked me.

"Not yet, ma'am," I answered.

"Okay hurry up, malapit ng magsimula ang second class mo," she uttered and she would have turned her back on me when I stopped her.

"Ahm m-ma'am can I borrow this?" I asked her as I showed her the notebook I was holding.

"Sure."

"Thank you ma'am," I happily thanked her and bowed as a sign of respect.

"Bilisan mo jan," she said and turned her back on me.

I looked at the notebook I was holding and smiled. "I want to know your story Celeste," I whispered.

--------------

While my father and mother and I were eating, I put the picture on the table.

"Who is she?" I asked in astonishment while I point to the woman in the photo.

Because of my question, they stopped eating rice and there was a look of shock on their faces.

"W-where did you get that?" My father asked me in shock.

"At the library, just answer my goddamn question mom," I said in an annoyed tone.

"She used to be your dad's friend. She's mathematical genius, no one can beat her," she uttered.

"Where is she now?" I asked.

"Everything changed when someone broke her heart, she became a mad mathematician. She is angry with everyone, she makes her lovers solve difficult problems and then when her lover isn't able to answer what she asks, she hurts them. She's a psycho."

Because of my mother's story, I was dumbfounded and couldn't believe what I heard. I don't think the angel she looks like can do those things.

"Who hur—" but before I complete my words my father replied in a cold tone of voice.

"Forget her, stop asking about her. She was just a mad mathematician."

"But."

"No buts, just eat," he uttered authoritatively.

Because of my dad's attitude, I became even more curious. I want to know the story behind the woman they call mad mathematician.

---------

I searched the name of the owner of the notebook in the Emanuel University Record and I immediately found it.

Based on my research Celeste Martinez, she's one of the top 1 on the entire campus at Emanuel University. She is also the rock star of the EU in the Math quiz bee. What is even more amazing here is that no one can beat her or take her place.

But despite her good deeds in the EU, she was expelled for hurting fellow students. And more information on her record, she was mentally ill and she was taken to psychiatric hospitals.

Because I really wanted to know her story I decided to go to the psychiatric hospital where she was confined.

------------

I'm here at the psychiatric hospital where Celeste Martinez is imprisoned. I can't help but be nervous, what if she hurts me like she did to her fellow students before?

When the nurse opened Celeste's room, I was exposed to her room full of numbers. There’s a woman sitting while writing and I’m not mistaken that it’s Celeste Martinez.

"M-ma'am can i-i talk to you for a moment?" I asked in a scared tone.

Because of my question she stopped what she was doing and she stared at me.

I recoiled at her stares. "I just wanted to ask if it's okay with you," I uttered.

Contrary to what I expected her to act, instead of her hurting me she smiled at me and motioned for me to sit next to her.

"You are the daughter of Zeke and Cassy, am I right?" she asked.

I sat down next to her and was surprised by her question.

"How did you know?" I asked in astonishment.

She smiled and she fixed my hair. " Dahil naaalala ko sa iyo ang iyong ama."

I gave her the notebook then i showed her the photo of her with a man. She slowly took the photo I was holding. Her sweet smile was suddenly replaced by sadness when she saw the photo.

"I'm sorry but I want to know who the man with you is, because I don't believe you're a mad mathematician," I uttered.

"He's my boyfriend, we have a good relationship, I'm happy with him and we both love each other very much. Despite my passion, he supported me and didm't leave," she said with a sad tone.

"It turns out that your relationship is good, so why did you write this to him?" I asked.

"We both love math, but compared to him he can never beat me. But even though our relationship went like that, he still loved me. But everything changed when he had an accident one night. He got a pregnant woman but he didn't love her. Because of the sin he had committed, the father of the pregnant woman threatened to kill him if he didn't stand up for his daughter. But even so, my boyfriend was brave and not afraid of the threat of the father of the woman he was pregnant with. Because I was afraid that something bad would happen to him, I pretended to be crazy so that he would stay away from me and marry the woman he was pregnant with," she told me a long story.

"I'm speechless," I whispered.

"But instead of just pretending to be crazy, I became really crazy when they got married. There was a whisper in my mind to hurt and heap my anger on other people."

"Who is he?" I asked.

But instead of answering my question, she took something from under her pillow and handed me a small piece of paper.

I could hardly breathe from what she gave me, this is the head of the man in the picture.

But what is so surprising about it? The man in the picture.... is my father.

"You are the reason we are separated forever. But I promised myself then that I would hug and love the child who was the reason for our separation."

After she said that she hugged me and she kissed my cheek. I was shocked by what I found out and suddenly my tears flowed. I looked at her, she looked at the ceiling and smiled.

"I'm good at math but when it comes to love I'm weak and stupid." She laughed.

She looked at me and her tears flowed.

"Our love story is like a tangent line, we are together once then separated forever."

WORK OF FICTION

CREDITS TO THE OWNER OF THIS PICTURE

STALK MY TIMELINE FOR MORE STORIES

WATTPAD ACC: @enigmatic_ghost

WRITTEN BY: WARIEL SANCHEZ MAD MATHEMATICIAN

While I was cleaning in the library, I couldn’t help but swear every time I removed the dust.

"Dammit! I wouldn’t be cleaning up here if Jimmy hadn’t been stupid," I whispered angrily and I continued to pick up dust on the book shelves.

I just stopped whispering when a thick notebook caught my attention. The notebook is obviously old, the cover is dark and has "CHRONICLES" written on it.

When I opened it suddenly a picture fell. I picked it up and I was shocked at what I saw. They are three people in the picture, two women and a man. I am not mistaken that the one on the right is my mother, in the middle is my father and on the left is a beautiful woman with long white hair and she is carrying this notebook.

I can't determine who the woman on the left is, maybe she was a friend of my mother and father when they were studying here.

When I opened the notebook it was full of dust so I coughed.

"Personally owned by Celeste Martinez," I read in a whisper.

I kept turning the pages, it was all about codes, formulas, and math solutions. It's just a diary but with a mix of important studies.

When I opened the page again I saw another photo. The one in the photo is the woman holding or owning this notebook and the man with her I can’t determine who he is because his head was cut off in the photo and only his body is visible.

When I looked at the back of the photo, something was written;

"Dear 90101107101

Math has many problems and i can solve them, but when i loved you i saw many problems but i couldn't find the right formula to solve them. I'm sorry.

I can forgive you but I will never forget the pain you left me. But despite what you did to me i will still love you till the last digit of pi my 90101107101."

After i read that, i feel sadness and pity for the woman. I don't know what really happened but I can feel her grief.

I was shocked when suddenly someone called me. " Christina, are you done cleaning?" the librarian asked me.

"Not yet, ma'am," I answered.

"Okay hurry up, malapit ng magsimula ang second class mo," she uttered and she would have turned her back on me when I stopped her.

"Ahm m-ma'am can I borrow this?" I asked her as I showed her the notebook I was holding.

"Sure."

"Thank you ma'am," I happily thanked her and bowed as a sign of respect.

"Bilisan mo jan," she said and turned her back on me.

I looked at the notebook I was holding and smiled. "I want to know your story Celeste," I whispered.

--------------

While my father and mother and I were eating, I put the picture on the table.

"Who is she?" I asked in astonishment while I point to the woman in the photo.

Because of my question, they stopped eating rice and there was a look of shock on their faces.

"W-where did you get that?" My father asked me in shock.

"At the library, just answer my goddamn question mom," I said in an annoyed tone.

"She used to be your dad's friend. She's mathematical genius, no one can beat her," she uttered.

"Where is she now?" I asked.

"Everything changed when someone broke her heart, she became a mad mathematician. She is angry with everyone, she makes her lovers solve difficult problems and then when her lover isn't able to answer what she asks, she hurts them. She's a psycho."

Because of my mother's story, I was dumbfounded and couldn't believe what I heard. I don't think the angel she looks like can do those things.

"Who hur—" but before I complete my words my father replied in a cold tone of voice.

"Forget her, stop asking about her. She was just a mad mathematician."

"But."

"No buts, just eat," he uttered authoritatively.

Because of my dad's attitude, I became even more curious. I want to know the story behind the woman they call mad mathematician.

---------

I searched the name of the owner of the notebook in the Emanuel University Record and I immediately found it.

Based on my research Celeste Martinez, she's one of the top 1 on the entire campus at Emanuel University. She is also the rock star of the EU in the Math quiz bee. What is even more amazing here is that no one can beat her or take her place.

But despite her good deeds in the EU, she was expelled for hurting fellow students. And more information on her record, she was mentally ill and she was taken to psychiatric hospitals.

Because I really wanted to know her story I decided to go to the psychiatric hospital where she was confined.

------------

I'm here at the psychiatric hospital where Celeste Martinez is imprisoned. I can't help but be nervous, what if she hurts me like she did to her fellow students before?

When the nurse opened Celeste's room, I was exposed to her room full of numbers. There’s a woman sitting while writing and I’m not mistaken that it’s Celeste Martinez.

"M-ma'am can i-i talk to you for a moment?" I asked in a scared tone.

Because of my question she stopped what she was doing and she stared at me.

I recoiled at her stares. "I just wanted to ask if it's okay with you," I uttered.

Contrary to what I expected her to act, instead of her hurting me she smiled at me and motioned for me to sit next to her.

"You are the daughter of Zeke and Cassy, am I right?" she asked.

I sat down next to her and was surprised by her question.

"How did you know?" I asked in astonishment.

She smiled and she fixed my hair. " Dahil naaalala ko sa iyo ang iyong ama."

I gave her the notebook then i showed her the photo of her with a man. She slowly took the photo I was holding. Her sweet smile was suddenly replaced by sadness when she saw the photo.

"I'm sorry but I want to know who the man with you is, because I don't believe you're a mad mathematician," I uttered.

"He's my boyfriend, we have a good relationship, I'm happy with him and we both love each other very much. Despite my passion, he supported me and didm't leave," she said with a sad tone.

"It turns out that your relationship is good, so why did you write this to him?" I asked.

"We both love math, but compared to him he can never beat me. But even though our relationship went like that, he still loved me. But everything changed when he had an accident one night. He got a pregnant woman but he didn't love her. Because of the sin he had committed, the father of the pregnant woman threatened to kill him if he didn't stand up for his daughter. But even so, my boyfriend was brave and not afraid of the threat of the father of the woman he was pregnant with. Because I was afraid that something bad would happen to him, I pretended to be crazy so that he would stay away from me and marry the woman he was pregnant with," she told me a long story.

"I'm speechless," I whispered.

"But instead of just pretending to be crazy, I became really crazy when they got married. There was a whisper in my mind to hurt and heap my anger on other people."

"Who is he?" I asked.

But instead of answering my question, she took something from under her pillow and handed me a small piece of paper.

I could hardly breathe from what she gave me, this is the head of the man in the picture.

But what is so surprising about it? The man in the picture.... is my father.

"You are the reason we are separated forever. But I promised myself then that I would hug and love the child who was the reason for our separation."

After she said that she hugged me and she kissed my cheek. I was shocked by what I found out and suddenly my tears flowed. I looked at her, she looked at the ceiling and smiled.

"I'm good at math but when it comes to love I'm weak and stupid." She laughed.

She looked at me and her tears flowed.

"Our love story is like a tangent line, we are together once then separated forever."

WORK OF FICTION

CREDITS TO THE OWNER OF THIS PICTURE

STALK MY TIMELINE FOR MORE STORIES

CREDIT:

enigmatic_ghost

WARIEL SANCHEZ

Short StoryMysteryHistorical
Like

About the Creator

Noble Monday

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.