Fiction logo

The Lunch Debt

A micro-fiction

By Leslie WritesPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
9
The Lunch Debt
Photo by CDC on Unsplash

Mom puts her tips in the coffee can after work and it's usually enough to cover my school lunch.

All I could find for dinner was a pack of saltine crackers. I ate them one by one in front of the TV. Mom got mad because she says she is saving those for soup. What soup? She's always mad because she’s always tired.

No money in the coffee can for a week. I got lunch anyway. They put it on my account. I know I shouldn’t have. The school will send letters home about it. Mom doesn’t need that trouble.

Microfiction
9

About the Creator

Leslie Writes

Another struggling millennial. Writing is my creative outlet and stress reliever.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    This is very sad 😢 No child need to worry about food

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh12 months ago

    That pack of Saltine crackers ... such a small, tangible detail that serves as the fulcrum for emotional impact. Thank you for writing this!

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    Awwww, this hurt to read 😔

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Ouch, Leslie. I loved the way you wrote this...there was a gentleness to it, but with that harsh reality for some lurking underneath. It's hardbreaking and this kind of writing helps highlight it. Even in just a small way. Bravo!

  • This was so sad. No child should go through this. I mean, I know there are kids who are worse off but yeah, I just feel so sad 🥺

  • Yes, the destitution ❤️😉

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    Great writing!! ooof...this one stings. 😢

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.