Fiction logo

The love from a small town

Sheree and Nick fall in love on their first date and by their second date, they are talking about marriage. Falling in love is a wonderful thing when you find that one person you can spend the rest of your life with.

By Laura mcleanPublished 3 years ago 29 min read
Like
The love from a small town
Photo by AJ Yorio on Unsplash

Every morning, I walked to the café for my latte and a glimpse of him. He was a sight to see with my morning coffee. The day's I missed him in the morning, and I would see him later that day. But I could not go a day without seeing him. The smile across his face made my day. I would dream the rest of the day about his smile.

I could never get the nerve up to ask for his number. But he was so dreamy. I decided to take a friend with me the following day to the coffee shop. I had to show my friend Jenny how sexy he was. Maybe she would help me get his number or even get my nerve up to ask him out on a date.

There were times I would catch him looking at me too. But as soon as I saw he was looking at me, I would look away really fast. I was trying not to be so obvious. That was hard to do when all I could do was stare at him while working in the shop across the street.

My friend Jenny said I should go over and talk to him to find out his name. I told Jenny that I couldn't do that. I'm too shy. I asked Jenny if she would either go with me or ask for me? She said, no, your a grown woman. You can walk over and ask him his name. Since Jenny would not go over and get his name for me, we decided to leave and head home.

Jenny and I had a wonderful conversation on our walk home. It was a windy, hot day in Dahlonega, Georgia. The sky was so beautiful this time of year. I would always try and go for a walk before the sun was completely up. It was the most incredible time of day. The sky would have all kinds of colors flowing through it.

Jenny's house was before mine, so I walked her to her door and told her I would talk to her later. I continued to walk to my house. While I was walking, all I could do was daydream about that guy's smile and the way he looked. I thought he was the sexiest person I had ever seen.

This guy's eyes were so dreamy. When I went to bed that night, all I dreamed about was this guy. We were going on a date, and it was the perfect date anyone could ever go on. I could remember the sun just about to set, and we were sitting on a blanket. But the rest of the dream was a blank; I could not remember anything else.

That next day I received a call from Jenny. She had called to tell me that she had set me up on a date. The only thing she could tell me was his name. Jenny said his name was Nick and I had to meet him in the town's center under the town bell. Jenny told me to dress nicely and wear a pair of flats. Jenny said your date is at 6 p.m. don't be late.

I had a few hours before I went on this date with someone I don't even know. I decided to take a walk to the coffee shop and see my man working. I couldn't wait till I reached the coffee shop.

I walked into the shop and ordered my coffee. While waiting for my coffee, I sat down and stared out the window looking for the hot guy. But he was not at work yet. So I sat there waiting on him to get to work. I had to keep ordering things so that I could sit there longer.

It was almost time for me to go home and get ready for my date, and he still has not shown up. I had to get home before it was too late. I wanted to change my clothes before going on this blind date. By the time I got home, I only had one hour before having to be downtown. The rush was on.

I rushed to get dressed. I put on my red finial long dress with my flat knee-high boots. Curling my long blond hair and finished my make-up. I was ready to walk out the door. I had 30 min. to get downtown. I wanted to be there waiting on this guy to see what he looked like before telling him my name or anything.

I made it downtown within 20 min to spare. I went and sat under the town bell, waiting on this blind date to show up. I closed my eyes for a split second, and when I opened them, I saw a shadow walking up the sidewalk toured me. It was hard to see what he looked like that far away, but from his shadow, he looked ok.

When my blind date reached me, I noticed that he was the guy I had been watching for weeks from the coffee shop across the street. He was the perfect blind date. Right then, I could not wait to get this date started. I asked him what he had planned for us to do? The only response he gave me was its a surprise.

He asked what my name was? I replied with it's Sheree. He said, nice to meet you, Sheree. My name is Nick so how about we start this date. We took off walking to the vineyard that was a couple of blocks down the road. I knew right then, and there this was going to be the best date ever.

Just as we walked up the vineyard's sidewalk, Nick had stopped me and asked if I preferred red or white? Red or white, what I wondered. But I did not want to sound stupid, so I just answered whatever color you prefer, and we proceeded to walk into the building.

When Nick and I walked into the building, the building was empty, so it was just him and I. The smile grew bigger across my face, and I felt my face start to get red. I asked Nick, so where are we going to be eating? Nick said I have a place set up in the vineyard to eat dinner and chat a little.

But before we sat down to eat, Nick and I took a walk through the vineyard. It was beautiful walking and holding his hand. I couldn't believe I was on a date with my dream guy. All I keep thinking about was getting married to him and the dream life we would have together.

We reached the end of our walk and were at the blanket laid out on the ground. It had an assortment of foods. It wasn't an entire meal, just a few things. As I was sitting down, Nick had pulled to wine glasses out of the picnic basket sitting next to him. Nick poured out two glasses of Merlot.

The name of this Merlot was Obscura. As I sipped it, I could taste the mocha and blueberry the most. It had a few other flavors, but I was unable to detect them offhand. It was just lovely to sip some fine Merlot with this gorgeous man right next to me. With just a little small talk, I knew I wanted to be with him for the rest of my life.

Nick talked to me like I was the only girl in the world for him. We finished the bottle of Merlot and started to walk back through the vineyard back to the building. As we walked to the building, I told Nick I always wanted to get married in a place like this. It was just so beautiful here.

The date was just about over when Nick asked if he could walk me home? Deep in my thoughts, I answered with a quickness YES. On the way to my house, I asked him if we could do this again soon. Nick asked me if I would be available next weekend? Yes, I can't wait to see you again.

As Nick walked away from my house, I could not stop watching him. He was so handsome. I watched Nick until he was out of sight, and I could not see him any longer. The thoughts come rushing into my head. All I could think was, he is the guy I want to marry.

The next few days went by so fast. There was only one more day until my next date with Nick. I already had my outfit picked out. All I had to do was do my make-up and get dressed. I would be ready in no time. Now all I have to do is get through this day.

It was time for bed. I went upstairs to get dressed for bed, and I had my phone ringing. I ran downstairs, hoping Nick would be on the other end. When I answered the phone and said hello there was a man's voice on the other end. It was Nick! As soon as he said his name, my heart dropped into the stomach, and it was hard to breathe.

Nick said he called to tell me that he took the day off of work. That he wanted to spend the whole day with me. I was lost for words. Nothing would come out of my mouth. About 2 minutes later, the only thing I could say was YES, I would be happy to spend the day with you. I had to ask him what time he would be coming over? Nick said he would be at my house at 8 in the morning.

After we hung up, I ran to my room. I couldn't wait to wake up and see Nick. I was excited to see what we were going to do tomorrow. But as I lay in bed, I was unable to fall asleep. The sun was about to come up when I fell asleep. But I would at least get a couple of hours of sleep before Nick showed up on my porch.

I woke up to my doorbell ringing. I knew it was Nick at the door. I was not even ready for him to see me yet. I just woke up, and I look like a huge mess. But I put my robe on and went to answer the door. Nick was standing there with a bag of groceries in his arms. Nick said he was going to cook me breakfast.

Nick told me to go and get ready, and while I was getting, ready he would be in the kitchen cooking. I showed Nick where the kitchen was, and I went back upstairs to get dressed. I was about finished getting dressed, and I could smell the good food he was cooking. It smelled like my mama's cooking. Something I grew up on my whole life. I could not wait to taste his food.

As I walked into the kitchen, I saw Nick standing by the stove making his favorite omelet gourmet meal. While Nick was cooking, we were talking about what we were going to do all day today. Nick said the day is mine, and we could do whatever I wanted to do. Today was going to be my special day.

At this point, I didn't care what we did just as long as I was with Nick all day. So I left it up to Nick to decide what we should do. Everything was in his hands now, and I was eager to see what we would do this whole day. After we were done eating, Nick had me turn around and asked if I trusted him.

What did Nick have planned? I was scared, but I replied, yes, I trust you. Nick started walking me slowly out of my house and into his car. After he got me into the car, Nick got into the driver's seat and said, no peaking. I replied I promise I won't peak, but please tell me where we are going. Nick only said, just wait and see you will love this place I am taking you.

We sat in silence through the whole car ride. When we come to a complete stop, Nick comes to my side of the car and opens the door. As I slide out of the car slowly, Nick says, watch your step. Just as I am stepping up, Nick says, now step up again. He repeated that about five times.

Nick said we are at the top now. There is one more step, and then we are walking through the door. Nick, where are we? Nick says in the place you have always wanted to be married in. Nick said you can take off the blindfold now. I pull it off slowly, confused about what I was going to see next.

I was standing on the porch of JULIETTE CHAPEL. This is the most romantic place I have ever been to. I was amazed Nick had brought me here. Now I wondered what we were doing here? What did Nick have in mind? The only thing I knew was this would be a beautiful place to get married in.

After I was done being amazed at where Nick had brought me, I turned to look at Nick, and I saw him down on one knee. What are you doing, Nick? He then said I knew the first time I saw you in the coffee shop that you would be my wife one day, and I don't want to wait any longer. Sheree, will you be my wife for the rest of our lives?

I was so shocked I was at a loss for words. When I snapped back to reality, I told Nick, "YES" I would love to marry you. Nick, I had my eye on you for a long time, and I knew one day you and I would be married one day. I never thought it would have been on our second date. Yes, Nick, I will marry you, YES, YES, YES.

Nick stood up and placed this 18k diamond ring on my finger and said nothing but the best for the one I love. I smiled and wrapped my arms around him and hugged him so tight. Just as I loosened my grip from around his neck, I stepped back a little and kissed him. It felt like the most extended kiss ever.

We walked into the chapel after what I thought was the best kiss in the world. Nick walked up to the priest and asked we he had time to talk to us about our wedding. The priest said, yes, I have time lets go into my office and talk there. I start looking around as we are walking into his office. It was so lovely inside of there.

Nick asked me before saying anything to the priest, what day did I want to get married? All I could say was soon let's get married as soon as we can. I'll start inviting my friends and family, and you do the same, Nick. He said I will, so let's get married next weekend. We were both excited to get married, and we couldn't wait.

We were sitting in the priest's office. Then we were walking out the door and about to get into Nick's car when he stopped me and asked me to go for a walk with him before we leave. As we walked, Nick talked about what our wedding was going to look like and where everything would be. He was telling, and I was picturing it in my head. I just knew it was going to be the wedding of the year. Everyone was going to remember this wedding for the rest of their lives.

We were done walking through the grounds, and we got back into Nick's car and sat there for a minute holding hands. Then Nick started the car and took off. We were headed back to my house. Nick wanted to go and change so he could take me out to dinner. Nick was making this day and night one I would never forget for the rest of my life.

Nick pulled into my driveway and said he would sit in the car and wait for me. I ran into my house, trying to change as fast as I could. I didn't want him sitting out there for a long time. It only took me 30 minutes to change into an evening gown. I just knew he was taking me to a lovely place.

After dinner, Nick drove me home and walked me to my door. He was a complete gentleman tonight. He kissed me good night and told me he would talk to me tomorrow. As Nick walked down my stairs and to his car, I yelled, I'LL MISS YOU. Nick turned around and blew me a kiss and got back into his car, and pulled away.

I had only one week to get everything done. The more I thought about the wedding, the more aggravated I got. So I decided to hire a wedding planner. Her name is Sue, and she has 12 years of experience planning weddings. All the stress can be Sue's. All I have to worry about is finding the perfect dress.

That next day when I woke up, I got ahold of my best friend. I had to see if she would go with me to pick a dress out. I also wanted to see if she would be my bridesmaid. I at least needed a bridesmaid to stand next to me, and of course, she said yes. I had to call Nick and tell him that he had to have a best man at the wedding. So my best friend would have someone to walk down the aisle with.

Jenny showed up at my door around noon, and we went to the bridal store. Everything had to be perfect on my wedding day. Jenny and I tried on dress after dress. I wanted to feel good and look beautiful in whatever dress I choose. I just knew Jenny would help me accomplish every goal I had today.

After we were done at the dress shop, I wanted to go to the cake store. I had set up a cake tasting appointment sometime last night before I went to bed. So when we walked in, they had everything set up. I let Jenny pick the cake, knowing I am not much of a cake eater. Jenny picked a 3 tear cake. It was so lovely looking after all 3 tears were together. I was surprised. I didn't think it would look like a wedding cake, but it did, and I loved it.

When we were done at the cake shop, it was time for me to go home. I asked Jenny to come and visit me at my house tonight. I had plenty to talk to her about. I know Jenny wanted all the details of mine and Nick's dates. I never told her much about them. I was going to give her all the details tonight.

As we pulled into my driveway Jenny and I got out of the car and walked into the house. The sun was going down by the time we were done shopping. Jenny decided to stay the night at my house tonight. I never mind when Jenny wants to spend the night. I love the company. I'm always in this house alone. It would be nice to have someone to talk to all night.

Jenny and I talked all night. The sun was coming up before we knew it. There was nothing to do the next day, so we decided to lay down and get a little sleep when we noticed the sun coming up. Neither one of us wanted to have dark wrings under our eyes the next day. Jenny and I talked ourselves to sleep.

By the time we woke up, the day was almost over. It was nice to have a friend to talk to when waking up the next day. Jenny and I had a fantastic night. We planed my bachelorette party. I decided to have my party the day before I got married. It was going to be another memorable moment.

After having some coffee and a few bites to eat, Jenny left and went home. I had the rest of the day to myself. I wanted to call Nick and tell him the things I had planned the past couple of days. To be honest, I couldn't wait to tell him. I just hope he is as excited as I am about all of this.

Just as I was about to call Nick, the phone started to ring. When I answered it and said hello, Nick was on the other end. I said I was just about to call you. I wanted to tell you what Jenny and I got done yesterday. He sat on the other end of the phone, just listening to me go on and on about the dress I found and the cake Jenny and I picked out for the wedding. The only thing that exited Nick's mouth was, " I can't wait to see all of it ."

When I was finished talking, Nick said, " well, I found someone to be my best man. Nick said he was going to have one of his college buddies be his best man. So Jenny was going to have someone to walk down the aisle with. I was happy Jenny didn't have to be the only one other than me standing up in front of everyone.

When we both were done talking, we hung up. I called the wedding planner to see if she needed me for anything, but she did not answer. I had to leave a message to have her call me back. I hope this wedding turns out the way I have dreamed about it my whole childhood. I don't want anything to go wrong.

I had a whole lot more calls to make. I wanted to invite my family and a few more friends. I never wanted a huge wedding, just something small with a few friends and family. Something that would be elegant and fancy. Not so many people that it's crowded but just enough to be memorable.

I can't believe Nick, and I are getting married this Friday. The day is coming fast. I have never had a week that went by so fast like this one is. I believe this week is going by fast because we are both meant for each other. Even though we just met a couple of weeks ago. I just know he and I were meant to be together.

I have one more day until I am married. My last name is going to be changed. Well, my whole life is going to change. Nick and I haven't talked about moving in together or if we will live apart in our own houses. These are some essential things we should talk about. But I won't say anything unless it starts to be a problem.

I believe Nick and I can make anything work if we honestly try. We were meant to be together. What could go wrong? As long as we are open and honest with each other, then everything will work out. I never thought I would ever have love at first sight.

Tomorrow is my party, and Jenny is going to come to stay with me tonight. Jenny wants to start my party as soon as we wake up. I am going to have so much fun at this party. I haven't been to a party in a very long time. I can only imagine what Jenny has planned for tomorrow. It's going to be a blowout.

Jenny is knocking at my door. I don't even get a chance to make it to my door before Jenny was walking through it. She had a skimpy outfit on and a hat that said, bridesmaid. Jenny had a hat for me the said soon to be married. It was going to be crazy already. I could tell by the way Jenny was dressed.

I guess it was time to get this party started. I grabbed my coat, and we took off out the door. Jenny had a limo waiting for us outside. I guess she planned on taking me out of town for the night. I never could guess where she would be taking me. Jenny was a spontaneous one. She was always doing off-the-wall things. Things a person should never dream of doing.

I asked Jenny where she was taking me? The only thing Jenny would say is, " We are going to vegas, baby." That is another place I had wanted to see before I got married. Jenny is a true friend, and I love her for everything she does for me. It's hard to find friends like that now day's. But I have one, and I won't give her up for anything. She is my true best friend.

The limo took us to the airport. After we were on the airplane, we both fell asleep on the way to vegas. When the airplane was about to land, Jenny woke me up screaming, was in vegas. Sheree, wake up. It's time to get this party started.

We had a whole night to party and have fun before we had to get back on the airplane and head back home. Jenny took me straight to a hotel room. She told me to go into the room and wait. She would be there in a minute. Jenny said, don't ask any questions. Just do what I asked, and you won't regret it, Jenny promised.

Jenny gave me a key to our room. When I looked at the key, it said penthouse. I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw that. I took off, toured the elevators, pushed the button, and waited for the doors to open. While I was waiting, I over herd Jenny on the phone saying, "she's on her way up to the room now." I started wondering who she was talking to and what she had planned.

When I reached the room I stood at the door for a minute then I opened it. When I opened the door, there was a group of people in my room screaming "surprise." All my friends and family were there to celebrate my getting married tomorrow.

When I walked through the door and was about to shut the door, Jenny comes up behind me with 4 men standing behind her dressed as cops. At first, I thought we were already in trouble. But as soon as the men walked through the door, they started tearing their clothes off and dancing. They were strippers. I was so shocked my face started turning red.

The strippers stayed for the whole party. The next part my friend arranged for was a giant cake that was being rolled into our room. This cake was as tall I was. Before I could even see if it was real or not, someone was jumping out the middle of the cake. I didn't recognize who it was initially, but I saw my fiance after taking a second look.

I was shocked he was the one inside the cake and had seen all the naked men in the room. I thought he would be upset that there were strippers there, but he wasn't. He was ok with it all. He just wanted to be with me. Nick told me that he missed me and didn't want to spend another minute away from me.

We all had a few more hours until we had to be at the airport to catch our plane back home. I started sending the strippers out of the hotel room to change and get ready for our trip back. Nick pulled me into another room. He couldn't wait to talk to me.

While we were standing in the master bedroom, Nick said I wanted to tell you I love you, and I never want to lose you. Nick continued to say, but I have something to tell you before we walk down the aisle tomorrow. I had no idea what he was going to say. All I could do was hope that he was not going to give me any bad news.

Nick sat down and said Sheree, I don't ever want to lose you, so I want to make sure that this is what you want to do. The only thing I could say was, Nick, I love you, and I won't be going anywhere. I love you, Nick. You are the man I have been dreaming about my whole childhood. I watched you for months before we went on our first date, to be totally honest with you. So believe me when I say I am not going anywhere. I love you, and I am in love with you.

We were on our way to the airport finally. It started to feel like this night would never end. I was getting so impatient to walk down the aisle tomorrow. I was ready to sleep and wake up on my wedding day, ready to walk down the aisle. I sat on a plain night dreaming of what tomorrow was going to be like.

I knew everything was going to be perfect. There was no dought in my mind. As all of us were getting off the plain Jenny stopped me and said I am coming to stay with you tonight. Jenny's excuse was that we could start getting ready to walk down the aisle when we get up in the morning. Even though I never mind when she comes to stay with me.

I kissed Nick goodbye, and Jenny and I got into the limo and headed back to my house. I was beat and ready to climb into the comfortable bed I had waiting for me at home. By the time we got to my house, I had gotten out of the limo. I went right into the house and straight to my bed. I told Jenny to make sure I was up by 8 a.m. I had a hair appointment and a nail appointment before I even thought about getting into my wedding dress.

It was dark outside I was able to fall right to sleep. I sleep so well that night. I felt like I was sleeping on a bed of clouds. I woke up to Jenny jumping on the bed screaming, wake up today is the day you get married to your dream man.

I rolled out of bed and didn't even bother getting dressed. I put my shoes on told Jenny to come on. We are going to be late. Jenny drove me to get my hair and nails done. While I was getting all that done, Jenny did the same. I wanted her to look just as good I would be. Our hair and nails had to match because they would look better with our dresses.

It took two hours to get all that done. By the time we were done, it was time to start getting into my dress. I had to put so many layers on it was crazy. But it was a beautiful dress. It was my dream dress. I had it all on and was waiting to leave and go to the chapel.

I could not wait to see Nick standing by the altar, waiting for me to come and be joined with him. Today is the day Nick and I become one person. I'm getting married in this amazing place and to this beautiful guy. I'm going to have a fairy tale wedding, something every girl dreams about.

Everything has gone smoothly so far, and It was time for me to get married. I stood outside of the doors waiting for them to open. As the chapel doors start to open slowly, I feel a smile start to grow across my face. I was excited to see Nick waiting at the end of the walkway for me to come to join him.

The doors were all the open, and Jenny took off down the aisle with Nick's best man. It was my turn next. I started to get nervous. But was unsure why. I started to walk toured my dream man one step at a time. I was halfway to Nick. I saw his face, and I smiled at him and continued walking to him. When I reached the step, Nick grabbed my hand and helped me step up.

I was finally next to my soon-to-be husband. The priest started speaking, and the only thing I could focus on was Nick's face. As our eyes met one another, it felt like our first date. Nick's eyes sparkled as the light beamed off his face. Then I heard the priest say did you write your own vows? Nick and I both answered NO.

Then the priest went on reading out of his book. It was time to hear the vows and see if anyone stands up to contest our wedding. The priest stopped speaking for a minute, and the room was silent. The priest started to finish what he was saying. Then he said, " you may now kiss the bride." Just as we Kissed, everyone started clapping and cheering.

It was time for the rings. This is the best part of a wedding in my opinion. Other than the big kiss. Nick placed my ring, and I placed Nick's ring on his finger. The priest then said," you may now kiss the bride." Nick Learned in slowly as I leaned in too. We both met in the middle, and it was a magical kiss. This was going to be a kiss I would never forget.

As soon as our lips touched once, another's, and everyone started cheering and saying congratulations. Nick and I turn around to walk together down the aisle and go to our reception. There were rose peddles flying in the air the whole time. Nick and I could do nothing but look at each other and smile the whole time.

We were finally together and were going to stay together for the rest of our lives. This was a wonderful day. Now off to the reception and then to our honeymoon. We would live happily ever after. We are going to have so many kids. Everything will work out just as it should.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Laura mclean

I would like to test my writing skills. try and see if I can make it any better. When I was in middle school I had a published pome I wrote. It's been so long I can't remember the title or the name of the pome.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.