Fiction logo

The Lost Girl and The Divine Lake

By Marcus Isaiah Williams

By Marcus WilliamsPublished 3 years ago 17 min read
1
The Lost Girl and The Divine Lake
Photo by Nathan Anderson on Unsplash

During the time when Isabelle and her parents were preparing their things before leaving their original home on Midnight Creek, they didn’t notice that Michelle had left her cell phone in the house. After coming back to the house , Isabelle had checked every single corner for her mother’s phone. A few seconds later, Michelle and her husband Isaiah had heard a slight ring coming from under her seat.When they got back on the road, they had started telling jokes about each other that weren’t real. As quick as a heartbeat could

pass , a woman had a heart-attack while driving on the opposite side and ended up crashing into them. Lucky that they could still move , Michelle quickly called for a few ambulances to take them to the hospital.

Even though the car accident was brutal, Michelle and Isaiah were not angry at the woman at all since she had a heart condition.

“Michelle had asked the doctors about Isabelle’s condition suddenly”

“She is recovering but she is in an unconscious state right now” the nurse had told her.“So what you are saying is that she is in a mind induced coma right now?” Isaiah had asked.

“Yes, I am sorry but she will be up soon, we just need to make sure that she is treated well” the doctors had said .

After two months had passed by Isabelle’s mother and father had continued to care for her. Her friends had also come to visit her in the hospital after hearing that Isabelle was injured after the accident. “Mr. Thomas, is Isabelle going to be alright?” Rachelle had asked, feeling concerned about her condition.

“The doctors had told us that she was going to make a fine recovery but, we won’t know how long she will be in her coma” Michelle had told her in a very sad way.

Isabelle’s other friend Chris had also come to see how his friend was doing right now.

“Ms.Thomas , I've been asking the nurses lately about Isabelle and they've all been saying the same thing” Chris told her not feeling at all happy.

“I know, we can't just stay here and just do nothing , I know there is something we can do to wake her up,” Michelle said.

“Do you mind if I stay the night with her?” Rachelle asked Michelle.

“I don’t mind , it would be nice if one of her friends stayed here with her during the night,” Michelle had said.

While her mother was sleeping beside her, Rachelle was in the pull out bed. During her dream, Rachelle entered a forest that had strange animals all around it. While walking around in the forest, Rachelle had finally seen her friend again.

“Isabelle I can’t believe I am seeing you again” Rachelle said.

“So what you are saying is that she is in a mind induced coma right now?” Isaiah had asked.

“Yes, I am sorry but she will be up soon, we just need to make sure that she is treated well” the doctors had said .

After two months had passed by Isabelle’s mother and father had continued to care for her. Her friends had also come to visit her in the hospital after hearing that Isabelle was injured after the accident. “Mr. Thomas, is Isabelle going to be alright?” Rachelle had asked, feeling concerned about her condition.

“The doctors had told us that she was going to make a fine recovery but, we won’t know how long she will be in her coma” Michelle had told her in a very sad way.

Isabelle’s other friend Chris had also come to see how his friend was doing right now.

“Ms.Thomas , I've been asking the nurses lately about Isabelle and they've all been saying the same thing” Chris told her not feeling at all happy.

“I know, we can't just stay here and just do nothing , I know there is something we can do to wake her up,” Michelle said.

“Do you mind if I stay the night with her?” Rachelle asked Michelle.

“I don’t mind , it would be nice if one of her friends stayed here with her during the night,” Michelle had said.

While her mother was sleeping beside her, Rachelle was in the pull out bed. During her dream, Rachelle entered a forest that had strange animals all around it. While walking around in the forest, Rachelle had finally seen her friend again.

“Isabelle I can’t believe I am seeing you again” Rachelle said.Purification so he can become a boy again and remember who he was” Isabelle had said.

“I wish I could help you but, I have to wake up soon,” Rachelle had told her.

“Oh yeah, I forgot about that,” Isabelle had said.

“Do you even know where the lake is?” Rachelle asked.

“Yes, the forest told me it should be near the violet mountain.” Isabelle had said

“Violet Mountain is that where you have to take him? Rachelle asked.

A few minutes later, Rachelle had woken up but didn't know what to tell her parents. The reason was because they probably wouldn’t believe her anyway. They would probably think she was just dreaming.

“ Good morning, Mrs. Thomas, where is your husband? Rachelle asked.

“ Oh he just went to Burger King to get us something to eat” Michelle had told her.

“ So did the doctors check on her lately?” Rachelle asked.

“Yeah, they said she would be fine,” Michelle said.

Rachelle wanted to tell Michelle the real reason why Isabelle won’t wake up but she couldn’t because she didn’t think she would believe her.

“I’m back everyone, sorry It took so long for me to come back” Isaiah had said.

“Oh it's no problem, did you get the diet Sprite?” Michelle had asked.“They didn’t have anymore diet drinks so I had to get you the regular one”

“I'm trying to lose some weight, not gain more,” Michelle had told him.

“I don’t think you need to lose any weight, you aren’t big” Rachelle had said.

“Thanks but, this stomach is not getting any thinner” Michelle said.

While back in the fantasy world, Isabelle continued walking down a pathway that had bushes with blue roses growing from each side.

“The forest said we had to keep walking straight down this way if we wanted to reach the lake,” Isabelle said.

“What if we went through this shortcut?”

“I don’t think that would be a good idea,” Isabelle said.

“Why not?” the mockingbird had asked.

“Because we don’t know what lies that way” Isabelle told him.

“I think you may be thinking about this too hard,” the mockingbird said.

“Why do you say that? Isabelle had asked.

“I don’t think anything would be down this path” the mockingbird said.

The mockingbird ignored Isabelle and flew through the shortcut without thinking about what lies ahead.

“Wait, stop!!1” Isabelle said while chasing him down the forest.

“You have to hurry and stop him before he runs into the griffin at the end of this path,”the rabbit said to Isabelle.“What's a griffin?” Isabelle asked the rabbit while running down the forest.

“ It’s a mythical creature with a lion’s body and an eagle’s head,” the rabbit told her.

“ What are you?” the mockingbird asked the griffin.

“I am the first thing you have to pass by before you can get closer to the Lake of Purification.

“The griffin will trick whoever stands in its way until he gets his pleasure,” the rabbit said to Isabelle.

“So what do I have to do in order to get by you?” the mockingbird asked the griffin.

“Hmmm...in order to get past me you will have to fly all the way up the tree beside you.” the griffin told him in a sarcastic way.

“No, don’t believe him” Isabelle had said to the mockingbird.

“Your friend is right, he is only trying to trick you,” the rabbit said.

“We need to get back on the right path or we will never reach the lake,” Isabelle said to the mockingbird.

“Sorry but you can’t trick me griffin. I am way smarter than you” Isabelle had told him.

“My bad, I should’ve listened to you the first time Isabelle” the mockingbird said as they started walking down the right path again.

Back at the hospital, the doctors were checking her temperature and heart rate. Michelle was coming in the room back and forth to make sure she was alright. After coming out of the room, Rachelle had asked Michelle if she could talk to her for a minute.

“What did you want to talk about Rachelle?” Michelle had asked.

“ I know why Isabelle has been in her coma for so long and I know when she might wake up” Rachelle said to her.

“You do please tell me,” Michelle said.

“I don’t know if you might believe it or not because it may sound crazy,” Rachelle told her.

“Come on please, I have to know when she will wake up,” Michelle said curiously.

“When I first fell asleep here, I had found myself in a mysterious world where I kept seeing creatures that looked so strange and when I went into the forest I had seen Isabelle again” Rachelle had said.

“You were probably dreaming,” Michelle told her.

“Something told me you might say that, so just give her two more days and I promise she will wake up soon” Rachelle said.

Michelle had gone back in the room and looked at her unconscious daughter and didn’t know what to think after talking to Rachelle. She wanted to believe what Rachelle told her but she didn’t know what to believe after seeing her daughter in a coma for so long. Rachelle had walked back in the room and saw that Michelle was looking even more depressed because she didn’t know when daughter was going to open her eyes again.

“Ms.Thomas listen, I know what I told you sounds stupid but, you just need to trust me and you will see your daughter smile right in front of you,” Rachelle said to Michelle.

“Fine, I guess I don’t have any other choice but to believe you and hope my child wakes up in a few days.Back in the fantasy world, Isabelle and the mockingbird were walking further down the path when they started to notice everything in front of them and around were becoming frozen.

“Why is everything freezing?” Isabelle was wondering

“Oh that is because you just walked the frost domain” a white squirrel had told her.

“Why is everything frozen?” the mockingbird asked.

“Because this whole area is guarded by the ice princess,” the white squirrel told him.

“ The Ice Princess? Who is that?” Isabelle had asked.

“She is the guardian who rules over this part of land,” the white squirrel said.

“Do we have to meet her in order to get closer to the Lake of Purification? Isabelle asked.

“Everyone who has ever tried to get to the Lake of Purification has never made it because they did not speak to the ice princess” the white squirrel told her.

“So we do have to talk to her in order to get to the lake,” the mockingbird said.

“Yes, she lives in the crystal castle in front of the frozen gate.

“Well then let's go meet her so I can finally get my memory back” the mockingbird said.

“Would you like to come with us?” Isabelle asked the squirrel.

“Sure, I would like to meet the ice princess in person,” the white squirrel said.Back in the fantasy world, Isabelle and the mockingbird were walking further down the path when they started to notice everything in front of them and around were becoming frozen.

“Why is everything freezing?” Isabelle was wondering

“Oh that is because you just walked the frost domain” a white squirrel had told her.

“Why is everything frozen?” the mockingbird asked.

“Because this whole area is guarded by the ice princess,” the white squirrel told him.

“ The Ice Princess? Who is that?” Isabelle had asked.

“She is the guardian who rules over this part of land,” the white squirrel said.

“Do we have to meet her in order to get closer to the Lake of Purification? Isabelle asked.

“Everyone who has ever tried to get to the Lake of Purification has never made it because they did not speak to the ice princess” the white squirrel told her.

“So we do have to talk to her in order to get to the lake,” the mockingbird said.

“Yes, she lives in the crystal castle in front of the frozen gate.

“Well then let's go meet her so I can finally get my memory back” the mockingbird said.

“Would you like to come with us?” Isabelle asked the squirrel.

“Sure, I would like to meet the ice princess in person,” the white squirrel said.

“You can sit on my shoulder if you want,” said to the white squirrel.

“Okay, thank you” the white squirrel told her.

“No problem, so how far away from the castle are we?” Isabelle asked.

“We are almost there, I think I almost see the frozen gate” the mockingbird had said.

While walking straight towards the front gate that allowed entrance to the inside crystal castle, two guardians suddenly appeared.They were wearing armor made of ice and carried swords also made of ice.

“Who are you and why did you come here?” the first guardian asked.

“My name is Isabelle and I am traveling with this mockingbird and this white squirrel. We are here to speak to the Ice Princess” she told him.

“No one sees the princess unless they are granted permission by the ice princess herself!!!” the second guardian shouted.

“Let them enter,” a mysterious voice said to guardians.

“Are you sure princess?” the first guardian asked.

“Are you disobeying an order I have just given?” the princess said.

“No your highness” the guardian said before opening the gate and letting them pass.

“Hmmm...I don’t sense anything bad from either of you” the ice princess said.

“ I am Isabelle and I am traveling with this mockingbird that seems to have the boy's soul in it but the boy can’t remember who he is or how he ended up in the body of the mockingbird unless we speak to you and find the Lake of Purification” isabelle said.

“Every creature or spirit has never made it to the lake without speaking to me” the ice princess told her.

“Why have they never made it to the lake without meeting you?” the mockingbird asked.

“Because before you reach the Lake of Purification, there is one last guardian you have to get by and that is the Golden Phoenix that is in front of the lake” the ice princess said.

“ So what is the reason we had to meet you first?” Isabelle had asked.

“ The reason is because I have what you need to stop the phoenix,” the ice princess told her.

“What’s that?” the mockingbird asked.

“It’s an ice crystal. When you meet the phoenix, you will know when to use it” the ice princess said to Isabelle.

“Thanks, it was nice seeing you and thanks for all your help” Isabelle said to her before walking through the frost gate.

While they continued to walk deeper in the path in front of them, they started to feel warmer and a huge breeze that was coming from the end of the bridge.

“That’s weird,” the mockingbird said.

“What do you mean?” Isabelle had asked.

“The river under the bridge did not move at all and the breeze was aimed straight at us,” the mockingbird said.

“I think I know the reason the river didn’t move,” Isabelle said.

“Why is that?” the mockingbird asked.

“Look behind the tree, do you see something glowing behind it?” Isabelle asked him.“Is that the phoenix?” the mockingbird asked.

“I believe it is since it is bright golden and it seems to be engulfed by flames” Isabelle said.

“So how are we going to get past this phoenix?” the mockingbird asked.

“Hmm...I think I have an idea?” Isabelle said.

“What's that?” the mockingbird asked.

“The phoenix won’t notice us if we are discrete from him” Isabelle told him.

“Well I will try to hide in the trees so it won’t see me” the mockingbird said.

“I will hide in the bushes and make something sharp to throw at it,” Isabelle told him.

“Why throw it at him if you are trying to hide?” the mockingbird asked.

“I had once read that when a phoenix is injured or dies it vanishes” Isabelle said.

“Be careful when you throw it,” the mockingbird said.

When Isabelle had tried to focus and angle her arm so she could aim directly at the phoenix, she had thrown the sharp wooden spear she had crafted while behind she was hiding behind the bushes.

“Okay, I think it vanished” the mockingbird said

“Hmm… I feel like I'm forgetting something” Isabelle said, looking curious about one detail about the phoenix.

As they walked closer to the end of the forest, the phoenix had risen again and engulfed everything around it with fire.“Who are you and why did you throw that thorn at me?” the phoenix had asked.

“My name is Isabelle and I am traveling with this mockingbird in order to get the boy’s soul stuck in its body back by going to Lake of Purification” she had told him.

“Well I can’t allow that,” the phoenix said.

“Why not?” Isabelle had asked

“Because the only way to get past me is to find that out on your own” the phoenix said.

Isabelle suddenly remembered that still had the ice crystal and thought to herself if this was the right time. After pulling the crystal out of the small case the ice princess had given her, she had thrown it at the phoenix. The crystal could freeze anything it landed on. When they saw that the phoenix was frozen and could not move, they continued to walk towards the lake at the end of the forest.When they walked in the Cave of Purification, all they saw were crystals and a small lake in front of them.

“Well I guess this is the end of our path” Isabelle had said.

“I suppose you are right. I am very grateful that you guided me here but I don’t know what to do now” the mockingbird told her.

“Hmm...jump in my hands” Isabelle said.

“Why?”the mockingbird asked.

“Just trust me” Isabelle told him while smiling.

Isabelle had put the mockingbird into the lake and saw it glow in front of her. The mockingbird while glowing in the lake had remembered that he was a young boy who was chasing after a mockingbird recklessly but was hit by a car and was taken to the hospital but was dead after a few hours after the accident.

All of a sudden the mockingbird disappeared from Isabelle’s hands and rose from the lake in the body of a young boy.

“Are you the soul that was in the mockingbird?” Isabelle asked the boy

“Yes. I remember my memories and my name” the boy said.

“So what is your real name?” Isabelle had asked him.

“My name is Zachary last time I checked,” the boy said.

“It was nice traveling with you but,I guess it’s time for me to return to my world now” Isabelle had told him.

“Thanks for all your help Isabelle, I hope I see you again,” Zachary had said to her before she left.

As she walked out of the cave, she had started to glow the same as Zachary when he was put in the water. A few seconds later, she was beamed up towards the sky.

Back at the hospital, the doctors had seen her fingers moving and asked Michelle to come inside so she could know that Isabelle was coming out of her coma.

“Isabelle...Isabelle can you hear my voice?” Michelle asked while standing beside her.

While slowly opening her eyes, she saw that her mother was crying beside her.

“Mother, why are you crying so much?” Isabelle had asked.

“I’m just glad to see that my child is better than ever again” Michelle said while holding Isabelle tightly.

“I’m glad to see my best friend is finally awake,” Rachelle had said laughing.

After keeping her in the hospital for a week to make sure she didn’t have any other problems, they had finally moved to their new home and enjoyed their new life.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Marcus Williams

,I am a true gentleman. I have a wide imagination full of different ideas that I love to share

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.