Fiction logo

The look of you

fiction

By JackmamaPublished 2 years ago 12 min read
1

For this story, which took place in a migrant relocation area, there seemed to be only one thing I could ultimately do: describe it.

  Following a team from the county's Writers' Association to Xin'an Dai Township to participate in a wind-picking activity, the fresh breeze there blew my clothes like a lover's nostrils blowing on my hands. A light blue lake, surrounded by endless green hills, the shadow of the mountains reflected in the water, mountainside mist around, the more clear and clear, the surface of the water is often like a mirror, when the wind rises, there are slight wrinkles, like young girls frowning their brow, after a while it is good. The sun in the ancient beautiful shining dance to reveal the Dai smell. That day, the group of flowers are still dreaming their dreams, the light rain secretly wash away their dust and dirt, their sweet soft luster will be renewed. I could see the quiet red, the cool purple, and the bitter white and green that they hide when there is daylight under that washed away floating color. Rows and rows of houses fall flatly and narrowly between the landscape, strikingly recording the story of the place.

  --Awei's smile

  "A small face, like a peach-plum flower in bloom, with a smile on her face all the time, vaguely containing the glow of spring, like a flower room filled with honey. Her smile most makes me remember, like a flower floating in my mind." Ms. Yang said excitedly.

  This story just caught me off guard and gripped my heart.

  She was a lovely person, I thought the first time I saw her face. Her short, shoulder-length hair was pinned cleanly behind her ears as she gently told the girl's story, speaking for a moment and then falling silent. A smile floated on her face as she told the story, just like the smile that often floats on the girl's face in her mouth.

  --Drawing

  "I only learned about her when I was her class teacher in 2019. Wei, a female, lives in Xin'an Dai Township, her father is in Panzhihua Psychiatric Hospital, and her family has an intellectually challenged mother and elderly grandparents. She has a good personality, she is smiling, very hardworking and kind. Although she was only six or seven years old, she would secretly hand me a note with Happy Teacher's Day on Teacher's Day, and she drew me into her paintings, which were so beautiful." When she said that, there was a light in her eyes, and I knew it was the light of pride.

  --To run the card

  Ms. Yang went on to say, "One of the most impressive things was taking her to get a card. The school wanted to put the 500 yuan boarding allowance on the social security card, but she didn't have one. I called and contacted her grandmother many times, but she was of Yi ethnicity and could not understand me. Seeing that the time to punch the card was about to close and 500 yuan was a lot of money for her family, I discussed with the principal that I should take her to Lixi to get the card. She was overjoyed when I told her that it was her first trip in fourteen years - to Lehigh Creek."

  When I heard this, I wanted to say something, but when I looked up, I didn't know what to say. A thousand words were stuck in the back of my throat.

  --The group photo

  "Look at this is the first photo of the two of us, taken at the place where the card was issued, and I sent it to the group of sisters at that time." With that, I was shown the photo, and a few pictures of the girl alone.

  Two black eyes so clear that you can almost see the bottom, like two dark stones under a stream, especially a deep dimple on the right cheek, but also naughty. She smiles really well, slightly reserved, but so pure that it warms the hearts of those who look at it. The long eyelashes that shield the black pupils, the shadows cast at the eyelids, have a mysterious flavor. There are a few aura of spirituality between the eyebrows, a smile that cannot be hidden, rippling from the bottom of the eyes, shimmering.

  --Small short skirt

  "The next morning she got up early to clean up and I noticed she was wearing a green skirt. I was surprised and asked her where she got it, she said her classmates borrowed it from her. I told her it was cold in Lai Xi and not suitable for wearing a skirt and asked her to change back into her own clothes. I told her to change back to her own clothes. At that time, I was thinking that I had never seen her dress up like this before, and how excited she was to go to Laixi.

  --Going out

  "We took a ride with Ms. Gao from the same school, and she had a smile on her face the whole time, not a word, her eyes looking straight out the window, so I guess no one had ever taken her out of the house except home and school. She recalled the first time she went out with the girl in waves, with nothing in her eyes, and seemingly everything.

  "When I got off the bus, she followed me closely, little she carried a large school bag, struggling to keep up with me, I walked fast she also walked fast, I slow she also slow, still full of smiles around until we reached the bank. I lined up to let her sit and wait for me, she has been guarding me next to the people around us with strange eyes, I like child trafficking, very embarrassing. I think she was afraid that I would leave her alone, so she followed me every step of the way. When the card salesman asked me what relationship I had with her, I explained the situation and felt that people around us were not surprised, so I took out my phone and took our first picture together. After the card, I took her to eat and told her that I was going to hand her over to one of her relatives and let her follow them home, and when I left I wrote down my phone number and told her to call me at home and instructed her to keep her card and account book in her school bag. When my phone was late ringing in the evening, I called my grandmother and she told me she had arrived home and said a lot of words to thank me ......"

  The sky that had just rained actually cleared up. The sun seemed more like a gentle color painted on us at that time, seeping into our souls rather than a blinding light.2019, when Ms. Yang was also just a 26-year-old just joining the workforce as a big kid, in her, I saw not only the shadow of a teacher, but more of a mother.

  I looked at her, my eyes warm and admiring. Innocent feelings are always accompanied by reverence, and reverence is often accompanied by humility, and only at such times do humans feel most impoverished by their own language.

  "How is the girl now? Still studying?" I cut a swath through her memories, trying to get her to tell me more of the story.

  "She is now in junior high school in Lai Xi. I found her homeroom teacher and told her about her situation, hoping that the homeroom teacher would take more care of her and let the students in the same dormitory teach her, you know, teenage is the developmental period of girls, many things I'm afraid she can't cope with and don't know how to do. After that, I also called her to ask how she was doing, fortunately, teachers and classmates are very concerned about her."

  "In her heart, she may regard you as a special trustworthy person, from the time you took her to do the card, has become a person who brings her hope. About the card thing, at that time your mental activities can be more careful? There must be more to it than that." I asked cautiously.

  "I can't quite remember, anyway, the feelings were too deep."

  "You'll be the one she remembers for the rest of her life, the one who brought her living hope."

  "Yeah, just her best friend. I went to see her at school one time, still in a hurry to follow the teacher. Maybe in her heart the teacher is the person she can trust the most."

  "Thank you for not only not giving up on her, but helping her so much, you saved, not only her as a person, but her soul as well."

  "She also taught me a lesson that no matter what kind of environment we live in, we must have love in our hearts and face everything with a smile." Ms. Yang's tone contained a happy comfort.

  The sunlight came from the side and dyed her striped blouse pink and fragrant. Our eyes were blurred and we couldn't even see the road, we just felt some kind of bug crawling on our faces, rolling and rolling ......

  The way you look

  "I was thrilled to learn that Ms. Yang was taking me to the card. The forty-minute drive was the first time in more than ten years for me, and I also borrowed a little green skirt from my classmates on purpose. When the teacher went to check on me at night, I asked my classmates to double check for me, and yes, I was excited all night long. It was my first time to go out of town.

  We took the school's high teacher's car, along the way Yang asked me if I had any motion sickness, and told me about the names of places and specialties in my hometown. I kept looking out the window until I got off the bus, I followed Ms. Yang's steps and watched many little girls wearing pretty dresses, still feeling lost for the little green skirt in my dorm room. Soon, my eyes were busy, in addition to school and home outside surprisingly still so big, everything, flowers and green, two eyes turn can not turn over.

  ''Want some water?'' Ms. Yang suddenly turned to me and asked.

  I smiled and shook my head as she pulled me into the bank. There were so many people inside, and they didn't look as nice as the people at school, always looking at us with a strange look. Ms. Yang went to the line and told me to sit and wait for her. I was afraid, afraid of the way they looked at me, afraid that they would talk to me, afraid that the teacher would forget me and go off alone, so I followed her closely. The young lady in the pretty dress asked what our relationship was, the teacher told her about me, she looked at me, spoke in a better voice than Ms. Yang, and had a nice smile.

  ''Let's take a picture.'' Said Ms. Yang squatted down and put her arm around my shoulder, her right hand held up high on her phone, and took several pictures of me alone, and that's how I saw my own picture for the first time.

  Memories floated in my mind frame by frame, about Mr. Yang's.

  My family was already in a difficult situation, and once when I learned that my best friend had stolen my money, I made up my mind to go to Ms. Yang, but I stood in front of her office for a long time, never daring to step inside. When Ms. Yang found me and asked me to go in, my heart immediately tensed up, my nose sore, and tears fell down one by one. When she found out what had happened, she comforted me and told me to go back to class. That afternoon's class was difficult, and I was both looking forward to the evening and dreading its arrival. Because of my family and my own reasons, I was bullied a lot and slowly got used to the distant and cold words from my classmates.

  Ms. Yang spent a long time in our dormitory in the evening. She sat down next to me and talked to us a lot, not at all like in class, and we talked to each other and laughed a lot. The little sisters took the initiative to come and show me kindness, the friend who stole the money also apologized to me, I forgave them for all the trouble they had given me before, and there was nothing like the laughter at this moment.

  My heart, I feel warmer than ever. The respect and love that I had been longing for came to me all at once, and I was actually a little overwhelmed. I peeked over at Ms. Yang and suddenly felt that she was a lot like my mother.

  After that night, I ran morning exercises, cleaned, played games with my classmates, and when I found out I was going away for a card trip, they lent me a pretty little skirt and helped me brush my hair and dress up. I thanked Ms. Yang and loved her deeply. Without her, I don't think I would have been respected and loved. I wanted to write to her on Teacher's Day, but I couldn't. So I drew her a picture and attached a little note of blessing to it, and those pictures hid my gratitude and love for her, and Ms. Yang loved them and complimented me on how well I drew them.

  After graduating from the sixth grade, I followed some students from the dormitory to Li Xi Middle School. In view of my situation, the school implemented a policy of remission and subsidy for me, so I started my new life again. During that time, Mr. Yang visited me several times, "nagged" me about various things, and asked my friends to teach me many things, and asked the class teacher to care more about me. Now I am very satisfied with what I have in front of me, and I know in my heart that it all comes from my teacher Yang, who has given me respect in my soul and brought me good hope."

  At this point, my eyes were flowing like a spring, and I knew how much had flowed from them.

  May all the ordinary be great, and may all the love fall to the ground. The wind was a little strong, blowing so much that the sun began to shake. Look, the phoenix flower listened to the music and followed the Dai family twisted happily with a wonderful body.

Adventure
1

About the Creator

Jackmama

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.