Fiction logo

The Longest Journey

To infinity and beyond

By Adam EvansonPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
The Longest Journey
Photo by Ben Richardson on Unsplash

As heists go, this one took quite some time - twenty five years to be exact - twenty five long years of planning and executing, but it was so worthwhile in the end.

In the early days, as a dirt poor, highly introverted, child of five, I was constantly told by my betters that I would never amount to anything. "Totally useless" and "Not a cat in hell's chance" were some of the kinder comments made about me and my abilities, or presumed lack thereof.

"Won't come to a hill of beans in a million years of trying, if you ask me." was the personal, highly opinionated, measured judgement of even my own father.

In my ragged, hand-me-down clothes, I sometimes used to gaze up at the night sky and dream of one day exploring the universe. I didn't have the slightest idea how I was ever going to make that ridiculous dream come true. But, I never gave up dreaming.

Eventually, at ten years old, I made a start on the longest journey, from a school textbook to the steps of the spacecraft Voyager.

"....5,4,3,2,1. We have lift-off. To infinity and beyond, gentlemen!"

"Oh, dear Lord, what a heist!"

By NASA on Unsplash

Microfiction

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Adam EvansonWritten by Adam Evanson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.