Fiction logo

The Long March: A Story of Honor and Duty

Lorenzo's Struggle for Love in Montevideo

By Liviu RomanPublished about a year ago 11 min read
1
The Long March: A Story of Honor and Duty
Photo by Jose Chomali on Unsplash

The Rich Family of Montevideo

Lorenzo, the eldest son of the wealthy and powerful Rodriguez family, sat at the dining table with his parents and siblings. Juan's father was discussing a recent business deal with his mother, Elena, while his younger brother and sister were bickering over the last piece of bread. Lorenzo, however, was lost in thought. He had everything he could ever want except for true love.

"Lorenzo, are you even listening?" Juan asked, irritated by his son's lack of attention.

"Yes, father. I'm listening," Lorenzo replied, trying to shake off his thoughts.

"Good. Because I need you to close the deal with the Hernandez company tomorrow," Juan said, taking a sip of his wine.

"Of course, father. I'll take care of it," Lorenzo replied, forcing a smile.

"Good. Now, if you'll excuse me, I have a meeting with the mayor," Juan said, standing up from the table.

"I'll come with you," Elena said, following her husband out of the room.

As soon as they left, Lorenzo's brother and sister left the table to go their separate ways, leaving Lorenzo alone with his thoughts again. He couldn't help but think about how empty his life felt without love. He had always thought that his family's wealth and status would be enough, but now he realized it was missing something crucial.

He decided to go for a walk around the city to clear his head. As he walked, he couldn't help but notice the love and happiness on the faces of the people around him, couples holding hands and families laughing together. He felt a pang of envy and longing in his chest. He knew he needed to find someone to share his life with, someone who would make him feel truly alive.

As he walked, he didn't realize he was walking towards his family's house, where Eduardo, his family driver, was waiting for him. Eduardo greeted him with a smile, and Lorenzo got in the car without realizing he would meet the love of his life.

Falling for the Driver's Daughter

Lorenzo settled into the car's back seat, lost in his thoughts as Eduardo began to drive. He ignored their route until they pulled up in front of a minor, modest home on the outskirts of Montevideo.

"We're here, Señor Lorenzo," Eduardo said, turning around to face him.

"Where are we?" Lorenzo asked, confused.

"This is my home. I wanted to introduce you to my daughter, Isabella," Eduardo said, a hint of pride in his voice.

Lorenzo followed Eduardo out of the car and up to the front door, unsure of what to expect. As they walked inside, Lorenzo's eyes were immediately drawn to a young woman sitting on the couch, her head buried in a book. She looked up as they entered, and their eyes met.

"Isabella, this is Lorenzo Rodriguez," Eduardo introduced them.

"Nice to meet you," Isabella said, offering her hand.

"The pleasure is mine," Lorenzo said, taking her hand and feeling an electric current run through his body.

"Isabella is a student at the university. She's studying to be a doctor," Eduardo said, beaming with pride.

"That's impressive," Lorenzo said, still unable to take his eyes off Isabella.

"Thank you," Isabella replied, blushing.

Lorenzo was drawn to Isabella's intelligence, passion for her studies, and kind and caring nature as they sat and talked. He knew that he was falling for her and that it would cause a problem with his family.

"Isabella, I need to speak with you in private," Lorenzo said, taking her hand and leading her outside.

"What is it?" Isabella asked, looking up at him with concern.

"I know that my family would never approve of us being together. They would see it beneath them," Lorenzo said, his voice heavy with regret.

"I understand, Lorenzo. But I can't help how I feel," Isabella said, her eyes filled with emotion.

"Neither can I," Lorenzo replied, leaning down to kiss her.

As their lips met, Lorenzo knew that he would do whatever it took to be with Isabella, even if it meant going against his family's wishes.

Family Opposition

Lorenzo knew that he couldn't keep his relationship with Isabella a secret forever. Eventually, he would have to tell his family, knowing they would not take the news well.

He gathered his family in the living room, his heart pounding.

"Mother, Father, I have something to tell you," Lorenzo said, shaking slightly.

"What is it, Lorenzo?" Juan asked, looking at his son with suspicion.

"I have fallen in love with someone," Lorenzo said, steeling himself for their reaction.

"Who is she?" Elena asked, her tone cold.

"Her name is Isabella. She is the daughter of Eduardo, our driver," Lorenzo said, unable to hide the love in his voice.

"Lorenzo, you cannot be serious," Juan said, his tone filled with disgust.

"I am, father. I love her," Lorenzo replied, standing his ground.

"This is unacceptable. You are a Rodriguez. You cannot sully our name by being with the daughter of one of our employees," Juan said, his face red with anger.

"I understand your concerns, father. But I love her, and she loves me. That is all that should matter," Lorenzo said, determined to make his father understand.

"Love? Do you think love is enough? You will ruin this family's reputation and disgrace us," Juan said, his voice raised in anger.

"I will not let you speak to my son like that," Elena said, standing up for her son.

"Silence, Elena. This is a matter of family honor," Juan said, dismissing his wife's words.

"I will not let you control my life and my happiness," Lorenzo said, his voice filled with determination.

"Then you will no longer be welcome in this family," Juan said, like a knife to Lorenzo's heart.

Lorenzo knew he would have to choose between his family and the woman he loved. He just hoped his love for Isabella would be enough to see him through.

Secret Meetings

Lorenzo knew he couldn't just give up on Isabella, so he devised a plan to see her without his family finding out. He would wait until nightfall when his family was asleep and then sneak out to see her.

One night, as he was making his way to her house, he received a call from Isabella.

"Lorenzo, we have a problem," Isabella said, her voice filled with fear.

"What is it?" Lorenzo asked, his heart racing.

"My father saw us together today. He's furious. He says he'll lose his job if anyone finds out about us," Isabella said, trembling.

"I'll handle it. I'll talk to my father. I won't let him hurt your father's job," Lorenzo said, determined to protect Isabella and her family.

"Be careful, Lorenzo. My father is outraged," Isabella said, her voice filled with concern.

"I will. I'll see you soon," Lorenzo said, hanging up the phone.

When he arrived at Isabella's house, he found her waiting for him on the porch. They hugged each other tightly, both relieved and happy to see each other.

"I'm so sorry about my father," Isabella said, her voice filled with guilt.

"Don't be. I'll take care of it. I won't let him hurt your father," Lorenzo said, holding her close.

"I'm just scared. I don't want to lose you," Isabella said, her voice filled with emotion.

"You won't. I'll always find a way to see you," Lorenzo said, leaning down to kiss her.

As they kissed, Lorenzo knew he would do whatever it took to be with Isabella. He would sneak out every night to be with her if he had to.

They spent the night talking and laughing together, enjoying their secret meetings, knowing they had to keep their love hidden from the world.

Betrayal

Their secret meetings went on for weeks, with Lorenzo sneaking out every night to see Isabella. But one night, as they were sitting on her porch, they heard a car pull up in front of the house. They both froze, knowing it could only be one person: Lorenzo's father.

Juan stepped out of the car, his face masking anger and disgust.

"Lorenzo, what are you doing here?" Juan demanded, his voice filled with fury.

"I came to see Isabella," Lorenzo said, standing up to face his father.

"You lied to me. You said that you would stay away from her," Juan said, his voice filled with betrayal.

"I couldn't stay away from her, father. I love her," Lorenzo said, his voice filled with conviction.

"Love? Do you think love is enough? You will ruin this family's reputation and disgrace us," Juan said, his voice raised in anger.

"I will not let you control my life and my happiness," Lorenzo said, his voice filled with determination.

"Then you will no longer be welcome in this family," Juan said, like a knife to Lorenzo's heart.

"No, father. Please don't do this," Lorenzo pleaded, his heart breaking.

"It's done. You are disowned. You will no longer receive any financial support from this family. You are no longer my son," Juan said coldly.

Lorenzo could feel his world crashing down around him. He had never thought that his father would go this far. He turned to Isabella, tears in his eyes.

"I'm sorry," he said, his voice filled with regret.

"It's not your fault, Lorenzo. I'll stand by you," Isabella said, holding his hand tightly.

Lorenzo knew that he would have to start over with nothing but the love of Isabella to guide him. He just hoped that it would be enough.

Struggling to Survive

Lorenzo struggled to make ends meet with no money and support from his family. He and Isabella were forced to move into a small, run-down apartment on the outskirts of Montevideo. They were forced to sell most of their belongings to pay for rent and food.

"I'm sorry, Isabella. I never wanted to put you through this," Lorenzo said, feeling guilty as he looked around at their humble surroundings.

"It's not your fault, Lorenzo. We'll make it work," Isabella said, her voice filled with determination.

"I'll get a job and support us. I won't let you suffer because of my choices," Lorenzo said, determined to provide for Isabella.

"We'll do it together, Lorenzo. We'll make a life for ourselves," Isabella said, her voice filled with hope.

Lorenzo found work as a manual laborer, working long hours to make ends meet. He would come home exhausted, but Isabella was always there with a warm meal and a smile. They would spend their evenings together, talking and dreaming of a better future.

"I'm sorry, Isabella. I can't give you the life you deserve," Lorenzo said, his voice filled with regret.

"You're giving me the most important thing, Lorenzo. Your love," Isabella said, her eyes filled with love.

Despite their hardships, Lorenzo and Isabella's love grew more assertive. They walked the streets of Montevideo, enjoying the simple things in life and proving their loyalty and devotion to each other.

But as the days passed, Lorenzo couldn't shake off the feeling that he was not providing for Isabella as he should. He knew he needed to find a way to give her the life she deserved.

A Test of Loyalty

As time passed, Lorenzo's job as a manual laborer was not enough to support them both, and he knew he needed to find a way to make more money. He had an idea of starting his own business but was still determining if Isabella would approve of it.

"Isabella, I have an idea," Lorenzo said hesitantly.

"What is it?" Isabella asked, looking up from her book.

"I want to start my own business, but I'm' not sure if it's' the right thing to do," Lorenzo said, his voice filled with uncertainty.

"What kind of business?" Isabella asked, her tone curious.

"I was thinking of starting a small construction company. I know I can make more money, but I'm' not sure if it's' the right thing to do," Lorenzo said, his eyes searching hers for approval.

"Lorenzo, I trust you. If you think this is what we need to do, then let's do it," Isabella said, her voice filled with determination.

"Are you sure? It's' a risk," Lorenzo said, his voice filled with concern.

"I'm' sure. I'll' stand by you, no matter what," Isabella said, her voice filled with love and loyalty.

Lorenzo knew that he could count on Isabella's' support and loyalty, so he started his own construction company. It was a difficult start, but Lorenzo's' hard work and determination paid off, and soon his business began to thrive.

The more successful his business became, the more Lorenzo realized that Isabella's' loyalty and support were critical to his success. He knew that without her, he would not have been able to make it through the difficult times.

"Thank you, Isabella. I couldn't have done this without you," Lorenzo said, holding her close.

"I'll always stand by you, Lorenzo. Through good times and bad," Isabella said, her voice filled with love.

Their love had been tested, but it had only grown. Stronger. They were a team, and together they could accomplish anything.

With their financial stability secured, Lorenzo and Isabella were able to move into a more excellent apartment in a better area of Montevideo. They could furnish it nicely, and they could afford to take trips and enjoy the city together. They would go out for dinner and take walks around the city, enjoying each other's company and the beautiful sights of their city.

Lorenzo's family, who had disowned him, started to take notice of his success, and they began to regret their decision to cut him off. They started to reach out to him, apologizing for their actions and asking for forgiveness. But Lorenzo, with Isabella by his side, had moved on and lived a happy life.

He and Isabella had stood the test of time and adversity, proving that true love can overcome any obstacle. They were each other's others and knew they would always stand by each other, no matter what life threw their way.

Fan FictionAdventure
1

About the Creator

Liviu Roman

Mahatma Gandhi — 'Be the change that you wish to see in the world.'

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.