Fiction logo

The Long Con

When the heist went too far.

By Jason Ray Morton Published 11 months ago 1 min read
6
Image created by author with Dall-E openai

The doors opened to the church and Jayna walked in, her heels clicking against the marble floor. She looked around until she saw what she was looking for, the confessional. She wasn't Catholic but had a basic understanding.

"Bless me father, for I have sinned," she began. "This is my first confession."

Jayna had robbed someone, leaving them with nothing. It scared her that she could be so ruthless. Part of her felt horrible.

"Father, I took everything from someone, and I did it behind their back. It was easy. He was so into me that all I had to do was sacrifice a little time, a little of myself, and tada, I got everything I wanted."

"My child, can you make amends to this man?"

Jayna thought about it, and she knew there were no amends in the world that would help.

"Father," she said, "You don't understand. I didn't just clean him out, I took everything, even a chance at happiness."

Jayna was married Saturday but didn't love the man. She'd lied. When he went to work Monday, she emptied his bank account and his retirement. She robbed him of being with the woman that did love him.

Short StoryMicrofiction
6

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Confession is good for the soul, but whose soul is this good for. A twist so diabolical. Kudos.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Wow!!! Heck of a heist story!!! Fantastic job!!!💖💖💕

  • the utter cruelty--& the province of every romance scammer I've had the privilege of wasting their time.

  • Nobody11 months ago

    This story beautifully captures the intricate dance between guilt and remorse.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.