Fiction logo

The lies within the mirror

The lies within myself.

By Sara KlinePublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Her reflection was lost to lies she told herself everyday in the mirror.

The one morning as a young girl, I posed in front of the mirror like it was going to show me the raw truth that needed to be known. Welcome to Lillian Grace's story of the mirror with the hidden truth to my reality that I blinded myself to for so many years. I held tightly to the lies that I told myself daily in front of the mirror. My mother Ruth told me that 1 day the reflection of the real me would no longer show and I would be lost within the lies of the mirror.

I scuffed at my mother and the truth she was telling me and how true it became was only a reality that I would face in years to come. Why must we all stand in front of mirror and try and convince ourselves of a fake being that we are not. Its because we want to be something perfect but its never going to be a reality in this world or any world. You may ask yourself why, well simply because we are human and we allow ourselves to look like we do because of false imaging that regular human beings put forth with photoshop.

Look at the barbie doll so skinny and yet so fake, but we try to look as skinny as barbie with eating disorders that only shorten our lives by years with damage that is irreversable. Why torture ourselves you may ask, because of the lies within the mirror. We take our photos of ourselves and try and improve on them with programs that take the image and make it fake. Why be fake? Why not be real? Well because we believe the lies that are spread to us through media and magazines and television.

But we don't stop to think is this real or is this made up. Because we want to hope its real and we want to hope that we can be just like that. But the hard reality is we hide the truth and we got lost in the mirrors reflection of the blank space that is not real. We try so hard to believe the lies that are told to us and shown to us. Then one day you come to realize you no longer know who you truly are or what you truly are and time is gone by and your lost and you can not find the way out of the realm of reflection because the reflection is no longer present.

We look up to celebrities and think if I only looked like her or had her hair or her face or complexion or her body. We have so much pressure on ourselves and its not only women its men too they think they need to look buff or be oiled up like a chipendale but they don't sometimes love has more power then we truly understand and know. Sometimes that power is so deep within us we just have to believe in it. Simple what motivation can do and inspiriation can do for a person and there mind set.

If I knew that listening to a speaker who spoke on motivational quotes or self reflection I may not be so lost within my own mind and within my own being. Sometimes when we get lost within ourselves and we are stuck in the dark realm of nothing and we know longer know who we are or where we are and why we are where we are. We would be able to let the light shine to show us the way out of the realm of nothing. But that little girl lillian grace was lost within herself.

She was fearful of being like those around her, fearful of not being enough for one or all. Fearful of looking nothing like she should. Being something she couldn't and yet she got lost within the mirrors lies. She got lost within herself and became the nothing that was hidden with in her because she no longer looked for the light within to guide her to the truth.

She turned and stared at the world around her and wondered do they see me. Do they know I am hidden in a realm of nothing. Are they searching for me. She didn't know because she had no light, her light within faded out and she lost the belief of who she was truly and how pretty she truly was and much of and inspiriation to those around her she was. Her mother ruth sat by her bedside in the hospital where she lie.

Ruth sat there and sat there, day after day, month after month, year after year. Doctors trying hard to convince her to give up on the one she loved the one she birthed into this world the one that gave her hope that one day she would wake and all this would be just a dream. But ruth knew her daughter was lost, she knew that only god could guide her now. Ruth sat and prayed day in and day out with the hospital's pastor.

Then one day a miracle came about her daughter moved and that gave ruth a sign that god was guiding her to the light, the truth and maybe she would wake. Ruth sat and held lillian's hand and she spoke to her daughter and she said blessed are the souls that believeth in the light of god. As ruth spoke the last words to that sentence lillian's eyes opened wide and a tear slid down her cheek and she looked at her mother and she spoke these words to her. Mother your prayers have been answered and god shown me the truth within myself that no matter what images I may see no matter what words I may hear. I am beautiful in everyway and he has made me the way I am for a reason and his reason was that I be the light that shines so bright that all those whom are lost in the reflection of false images may they see my light and follow it to the truth that will set them free.

Her mother stood up and with tears running down her face she smiled at her daughter who finally understood the message that she had always told her since she was a child that she was beautiful and nothing and no one would change that. As lillian surpassed the doctors thinking she would never come to awaken blowed there words out to the pasture of lies.

Ruth went to church that sunday for the first time in several years and the pastor asked if any one had a testimony and she stood in front of the entire congragation and said my daughter awoke to the lord guiding her to the light of my words. I thank him for making my daughter see the truth in the world of lies and shame and false imagery and may he guide to her dying day that nothing and no one can take away her beauty. May god let the man whom is to be her husband find her by her shining light of love.

If we sit and we think to ourselves how true are we to our own selves. We might just be like lillian or like ruth who knew she was beautiful and that her daughter was beautiful. Lillian believed she was not beautiful because she bought into the false imagery, the lies of people trying to have believe look perfect when reality is they don't know one does. We are made how we are but we can control how we look by simply believing in ourselves and taking control of mind over matter.

If we let the world and the media tell us what we should look like then we are only lieing to ourselves. The mirror in the story is not an actual mirror its the media, television, radio, magazines, toys and advertising, scales etc. We let this stuff overpower our minds and take control of our thoughts and we try to be something we are not. We buy into the dieting schemes, we buy into the images, we buy into the magazine articles of the celebrity we love, we let the radio tells us lies.

We strongly hide ourselves behind the false imagery to the point we lose our reflection. You may say well how so, by thoughts, feelings, jugdement, words, second guessing our looks our bodies and our hearts. The only way to get out of the false world that is not a reality is to tell yourself that this is not realistic. The reality is being true to yourself and who you truly are. Believing in yourself that you can eat normal and be normal and still be beautiful and still be you.

Stand one day in front of your mirror completely naked and try and tell yourself the truth that you are beautiful. We all have an image in our minds of how and what we want to look like. But the reality is health plays a part, lifestyle plays a part, food plays a part, thoughts and feelings play a part.

These all have rolls in our life weather we want them too or not. So what are you going to let happen to your life and to who you are. You going to get lost within the lies of the mirror or you going to change it and find the reality within yourself. Only you can know the answer to your fate.

The End

family
Like

About the Creator

Sara Kline

My name is Sara I live in the country in a small town in pennsylvania called St thomas. I enjoy writing and craft making but I do this in the comfort of my home. I enjoy making my own hours and bossing me around. let me create your design

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.