Fiction logo

The Last Ride

One More Stop

By Tyrone LivingstonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
The Last Ride
Photo by Roland Lösslein on Unsplash

Michael woke up with a splitting headache. Once he gathered himself together, he realized that he was moving. Upon looking around he discovered that he was on a train. He was so confused. He had no idea why or how he got on there or where he was going. The last thing that he remembered was picking up his daughter from school.

That sent him into a panic. Where was his daughter? Did she even make it home? He decided that he had to call his wife right away. So, he reached into his pocket to get out his phone. That was when he realized that he didn't have his phone on him. In fact, he didn't have anything on him at all, not a wallet, a phone, nothing. His pockets were completely empty. That's when he started thinking that something was really wrong.

He decided to get some help from one of the other passengers. So, he talks to Rick. Rick was a man that was sitting directly across from Michael on the train. He seemed to be close in age to Michael, so he felt comfortable talking to him.

"Excuse me sir but could I borrow your cell phone?"

"Oh I don't have a phone. Even if I did, there's no need for it here."

"There is for me. I need to call my wife! I need to check on my daughter!"

"Trust me your wife knows exactly where you are and where you are going?"

"And where is that? Where the fuck is this train going and how did I even get on it!"

"I don't know where it's going for you. I also have no idea how you got here."

Michael starts to realize that Rick isn't going to be much help. So he scans the train car to see if there was anyone else he could talk to. He sees a little girl that may be close to his daughter's age. Then he notices a very old woman and a very old man. Then there was one guy sitting alone in the corner seat.

He decides that none of them are people that may be able to help him. He thinks that maybe he should find a train attendant or maybe even talk to the conductor. He walks down the aisle of the train car and opens the door. He then crosses over onto the next car and opens the door. To his surprise he sees the same exact passengers. That leads him to believe that he may be dreaming. He starts slapping himself in the face trying to wake himself up. That's when Katie starts to talk to him.

"You're not dreaming. You can't wake up. I also wanted to thank you."

"Thank me for what?"

"You tried. You did the best that you could."

"What are you talking about?"

"You'll find out soon enough."

Katie is no help either. Michael starts to think that maybe there's a chance that she at least knows where the train is going. So he continues the conversation.

"Your parents let you travel all by yourself?"

"No, they didn't want me to go but they didn't have a choice. It's ok though I'll see them again."

"Are you going to go stay with your grandparents or something?"

"My grandmother will be there but my grandfather didn't go yet."

"Go where?"

"The last stop."

Michael is sick of the games and starts running through the train cars only to find himself right back in the same spot. So he decided to try and talk to everyone on the train in hopes that someone could tell him what's going on.

Harold was the old man's name.

"Excuse me sir, but do you know where this train is going?"

"Son to be honest I'm not quite sure where this train is going. I mean I spent most of my life trying to be a good person, but you never know. I've had ninety-two years to plan for this trip. So hopefully I did it right."

The old lady Mary calls Michael over to her seat. Michael goes over to her and is terrified by what he sees. Her neck is severely bruised.

"Ma'am are you ok?"

"Oh I'm great. I've never felt better."

"It's just that your neck looks bad."

"Yeah that's because I properly planned my trip. I didn't have to wait ninety-two years like old Harold over there. When I was ready to go, I left. I already knew exactly where I was going to. There was never a doubt in my mind."

"So you know where this train is going?"

"I sure do. You're on the highway to hell baby!"

"No he's not!" screams the man from the corner. "There's no way he could be going there. Not after what he's done."

Michael is curious as to what the man is talking about.

"Excuse me but do I know you?"

"The name is Tony, and yes you do know me. You're the reason why I'm on this train. I'm also the reason why you are on it as well. You see."

Tony is abruptly interrupted by a man dressed in an all red suit. "Time to get off!" He screams loudly. Michael believes that the train is coming to a stop, but it never does.

Mary gets up and runs over to the man. He grabs her by the neck and tosses her out of the moving train. Tony also walks over to the man and he too is thrown out. Then the man walks over to Rick. He grabs him by his neck and picks him up out of the seat.

"I know you didn't think you were going to get away did you? Oh you did huh? You thought that last second prayer was going to save you?"

"No!" Rick responds. "But I just wanted the lord to know that I am truly sorry for what I've done!"

The man carries him to the train door.

"Well the lord can't help you now!" The man in red then tosses Rick from the train. Then he walks over to Harold.

"Ninety-two years! You waited ninety-two years for this trip and you think that you've planned it out right huh?"

"I honestly don't know, but if I didn't then I accept my fate."

The man picks Harold up by the neck. He carries him over to the door. He tries to throw Harold out but a flash of light knocks them both to the floor. The man then gets up and his suit is badly singed. His face severely burnt. His hair is still smoking.

"I guess that's it then!" he screams as he jumps from the train. The door then abruptly slams shut behind him.

The train car then goes dark. Then there is a bright light just like the one that struck Harold and the man in the red suit. Out of that light came a woman in a beautiful white gown. She opens a scroll and begins reading in an angelic voice.

"Rick killer of twelve people. Shot to death by the police. Mary killed three of her husbands. Hung herself while in prison. Tony shoots up an elementary school wounding eight and killing two. Killed by Michael. Are any of those people still aboard?"

"No" Katie yells out. "They're all gone."

"You must be Katie", the woman responds. "Katie young girl shot and killed during school shooting. Harold ninety-two years old. Lived a fairly decent life. Died peacefully in his sleep. Michael killed by Tony in exchange of gunfire while saving his daughter and 35 other people during school shooting. Are you all here?"

Michael then begins to remember what happened. He remembered running into his daughter's classroom. He remembered shooting Tony. He remembered getting shot. He remembered being called a hero by the police and doctors. He remembered his wife and daughter by his hospital bed. He remembered his wife telling him it's ok and that she'll see him again. He remembered dying. He then lies back and slowly closes his eyes as the train rides off into the light.

Fan Fiction

About the Creator

Tyrone Livingston

My name is Tyrone Livingston. I was born, raised and currently still reside in Philadelphia. I'm the host of the Lisper Podcast and I've written three books(published on amazon kdp)

https://anchor.fm/tyrone-livingston

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    very well done

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Fantastic work Tyrone! BRAVO!

TLWritten by Tyrone Livingston

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.