Fiction logo

The last key.

Don't run, until you find it.

By Maya Published about a year ago 4 min read
Like

Wednesday. 11am. Just another day where I wake up not knowing where I will go, where I will land. Why is my life falling into pieces? I thought to myself as I woke up.

Don't say that. Everyday is a miracle. Today will be.

Is today even is already? What does it change? Nothing happened.

It will.

After what seemed to be a lifetime of endless quarrel with myself, I finally decide to get up.

Great, it's really gloomy outside.

You are doing it again. Stop. No spiralling. Remember, there is always the mystery box to entertain you. You havn't cracked that one yet. You have one last key left. Maybe you should have a look at it again.

It's just too early for me. I am not sure I wanna go there. Yoga might help. 10mins morning yoga video. Perfect. Let me get my body moving.

The box. Open it. You've been carrying it for so long, don't you think it's time?

It might. Only one key left to know what's the big mystery. Let me give it another try. 2mins trying to crack the code seemed like 2 lifetimes and I gave up as fast as I started. I am not ready.

You are.

I have been trying to open this box for such a long time. It's been 2 years now. One day I was tidying up, and just like that a mystery box appeared in front of me. Maybe it was there before? I have never seen it before. It didn't even feel real in many ways. Who put it there? Was it me? There's no one else in the house. It must have been me. But how? I don't get it.

Open it.

It's locked. A code. Something I need to decrypt. Symbols I had never seen before.

Can I have a hint?

There are hints everywhere already.

But, I don't see any!

You do. You just choose to ignore them.

I don't get it.

You will.

Another endless spiral. This mystery box has for some reason fell into my lap and those who sent it seemed to think I put it there myself. Isn't that crazy? I mean. Am I the one going crazy? What hints is she even talking about?

From that day, I spent 2 years relentlessly searching everywhere. How can I decode this cypher? Where should I look for the keys?

It seemed to be a sequence of keys. I needed to find all of them to unlock the box.

I was living a pretty boring life back then. Toxic relationship. Failed start-up. Low self esteem. The usual. The box brought adventure and a fair bit of chaos.

Chasing the code made me a whole new person. Death. Rebirth. Phoenix.

"You've changed" "Stop chasing these stupid keys" "They're not gonna lead you anywhere. Come have a drink instead."

I remember, the day I found the first key. It's tattooed on my skin. Infinite consciousness. Om. Life changing. Happiness. Bliss.

It took me a long time. And I thought it would only get easier from there. But each key I unlocked afterwards seemed to bring destruction. Chaos. Nothingness. Void.

And again. Piercing through what seemed endless layers of illusion. Endless spirals of chaos. Endless spirals of doubt, anxiety, depression, sadness, anger, confusion, frustration and the list goes on.

So why would today be any different?

Because you are ready.

I open my computer in an attempt to make it seem as if something exciting would rhythm my day. Oh, I got an email from "Phoenix" - "We should meet now that you are back."

Ugh. Not sure I want to meet anyone today.

Just go. You never know.

And so I went. Little did I know the last key would be hidden at the center of a spiral in the city. A portal. A pyramid. A dome of light.

Phoenix handed me the last key. And at that moment everything started to make sense again. Falling into place. Magically. Chaotically. Gloriously. Beautifully.

For years, I have been searching. Everywhere. Only to discover that all the keys where unlocking were layers of my mind. Layers that I needed to break through to open the mystery box. A box I put there for myself and completely forgot about. The keys were about remembering. All this time. I held all the keys and didn't even know it. I mean, who teaches you this stuff?

Mind blowing.

Life changing.

Today, for the first time. I could see the full picture. All this time, I have been killing myself, chasing, screaming, crying, running while it was so simple. I just had to look within. All I had to do was to stop the run.

So what's inside the box? You have all the keys now! Open it.

I am not meant to open it.

What do you mean?

You will know when you find the next key...

MysteryShort Story
Like

About the Creator

Maya

From the stars we are born and to the stars we shall return. Let us write in between.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.