Fiction logo

The last Black Hole

Of a dying universe

By Hywel LatimyrPublished 7 months ago 5 min read
Like
Source - https://coub.com/view/1r0gc1

They once ruled the universe with an iron fist, scattered throughout the endless vast territory that once provided a universe's heartbeat. But her final organ was dying, her final breath, her final thought and her final whisper. The last black hole in the universe was very close to fizzling out.

Perhaps there were others, somewhere, anywhere, or perhaps no where, in the endless empty darkness of eternity. Sound hadn't been heard for such a long time there was perhaps nothing left to even suggest it ever existed. Light had become such a rare occurrence that the mere sight or even a bleak unknowable suggestion of it's continued existence attracted the last souls of eternity towards it.

One such soul had long forgotten their name, or if they had ever even been in possession of one. They didn't know what vessel they once possessed either. Or perhaps, they had nether in truth, possessed one before. It didn't understand why it had become lost in the universe, or remember when it became lost. It had spent, as far back as it could remember, chasing their own loss of everything. It only knew one thing, to chase light wherever it could find it.

Along the vast horizon, along the fabric of space, there was a spec of light. Finally. The search was over. It was only a few billion light years away, easy work. In relative terms, it was a very short time to wait. This such soul had been searching for so long that a number wouldn't do it justice. Think instead that this soul had been searching for over a trillion times longer than the time in which the souls had vessels. Perhaps even much, much longer.

Closer.

Closer.

Nearer.

Nearer.

The light was slowly, but eventually, becoming larger and larger.

Closer.

Closer.

Nearer.

Nearer.

It was more than just a mere spec in the distance now.

Closer.

Closer.

Nearer.

Nearer.

The temperature was beginning to change.

Closer.

Closer.

Nearer.

Nearer.

It could start to feel itself being pulled now. A forgotten sensation.

Closer.

Closer.

Nearer.

Nearer.

The soul could no longer control it's movement now, it was locked onto the light's orbit. This was it! The soul could see the light clearly now. It was a ring, like a doughnut, With an intense darkness in the centre. Slowly, yet quickly, it, spinning in circles around and around, began to descend towards the centre. Where it would travel beyond everything that was ever known.

... A doughnut?

...

The souls, in essence, didn't appear to exist. They couldn't be seen or measured, in any dimension or layer of space time. Back when there were thoughts, the thinking was that they could either be a myth to explain the crazy reality of life, or a crazy reality of life. Perhaps even evidence of God. When would the last prayer have been? Do some souls still pray? I couldn't tell you. But they do exist, I myself can feel my own soul begin it's flee toward whatever our souls search for after death.

The last of my offspring's souls gather around me now, there are so few left. But, with great luck, these souls came to live in my loving body. They fed from my body and drank my blood. I couldn't give up on them. There are some who abandon them, but never myself.

...

A doughnut? I remember now! I was on Llandudno pier. No, not /lan/-/dud/-/no/. /Klan-did-no/. Where is it? Wales Yes. Oh my, Earth. That wonderful place.

I was with someone. A he. He couldn't walk, I was pushing him in a chair with wheels. Yes YES! A wheelchair. Oh shit, no no I couldn't ever use such language in this life. No Oh dear. I am sad today.... I was sad today. No, I am.

I looked at him, old in the face, not long left for this world, neither of us were. There was still a light in his eyes, looking directly into mine. He reached for my hand, silently, as the sound of seagulls and playing children echoed in the background. He had this trick you see where he would do a small palm reading. It was always just for fun and jokes you see. He use to tell me, oh you know, that we would win the lottery or that I would run off with Tom Jones and leave him heartbroken. Ffwl doniol. (Funny fool)

But no, he had throat cancer at this point. Very bad throat cancer. Oh my, yes, this was when he, he was on his last legs. Well, he couldn't even walk anymore. Ac eto ni bu ei ysbryd erioed yn wan. (Yet his spirit was never crippled)

I felt like he was trying to tell me something. He gestured for me to look out at the vast ocean before us. Well, it was the Irish sea but still salt water I guess. Whilst I was looking out at the sea, he touched my chest, about where my heart was. I can feel an ocean breeze. My hair moving in the soft wind. The heat is just about mildly hot or the best it's gets up in north Wales. His fingers were still somehow delicate despite the shakes. His hand unbalanced yet still somehow in control.

The whole world was still. Er gwaethaf y plant yn chwarae tag (Despite the children playing tag) and the music that began to play.

We spent until the sun set gazing out at the ocean. At one point, we ate doughnuts. It felt like eternity, but somehow as if no time had passed at all. He died the next day. A theimlais fy enaid yn dianc, er gwaethaf curiad fy nghalon

...

She would spend the rest of her days, walking up and down the pier, looking out at the ocean. Alone. But for whatever reason, she never felt alone when she walked up and down the pier. But, like herself and everything else that ever was, is and will be, it all eventually faded away. To become a memory, eventually forgotten.

...

Around and around.

Around and around.

Around and around.

Around and Around.

There was light all around the soul now, as it spun faster and faster toward the centre where there was darkness. She had finally made it, beyond all that was ever known. What was next? I couldn't tell you, as now it is my turn to wander.

Sci FiShort Story
Like

About the Creator

Hywel Latimyr

I kinda suck at writing but I enjoy it

Anyway, here's a dumb little haiku:

The gunslinger draws

His opponent does the same

oh dear, they both died

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.