Fiction logo

The Invocation

The Wizard's quest comes to an end.

By Spencer BarrettPublished about a year ago 1 min read
The Invocation
Photo by Łukasz Maźnica on Unsplash

Across the sands of time, I've sought a spell most elusive. In ancient tombs and through countless celestial cycles, my quest remained unquenched.

Under the eerie eclipse, my incantation found form. With a heart pulsing with anticipation and fear, I invoked the verse, trading my mortality for magic's might.

In that dread moment, a monstrous shadow unfurled from the epicenter. The reality of my pursuit struck like lightning; I had not unearthed a marvel, but a malevolent maelstrom.

As I stood, a doomed harbinger, I understood the terrible truth: not all knowledge seeks the light.

Short Story

About the Creator

Spencer Barrett

A 32 year old Fine Arts graduate with a career in hospitality, Spencer is a published Author, Poet, and artist; Streamer, GameDev, and creator in many mediums, with a guilty spot for animated cinematic movies.

Twitch | Twitter | Instagram

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Spencer BarrettWritten by Spencer Barrett

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.