Fiction logo

The Infiltration

May's Plan

By KBPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Infiltration
Photo by Rick Wallace on Unsplash

“Rhincodon Typus” I sigh under my breath, reading the big sign on the wall.

A new exhibition on whale sharks.

Right underneath is an illustrated image of the polka-dotted shark with its wide mouth open, ready to guzzle down hundreds of tiny plankton.

Very extravagant.

And underneath, “Fun! Fish! Facts!”

God, I hate cheesy alliteration.

“Whale sharks are the largest sharks alive in the world today, ranging between 18 and 30 feet and weighing around 21 tons. Female sharks often grow larger than males. Whale sharks can be found in any of the tropical oceans around the globe.”

Right. So a tank in snowy Massachusetts is not the ideal situation for a whale shark? Got it.

Off to the right, there’s a special sign that reads: “We are only the second aquarium in the United States to obtain whale sharks for our aquarium! The grand opening of this exhibit is August 14th.”

This, and all of the other Fun! Fish! Facts!, I already know.

The only other place that keeps whale sharks is Georgia. Unfortunately, it is not because it is inhumane to keep animals in a glass container. It is in fact, just really expensive and difficult to transport these whale sharks because they are so big. Well...the biggest, as stated.

Not for this aquarium though, they’ve got donors from functions and galas on the Upper East Side so the one percent feels like they’re doing something good with their money.

Meanwhile, my team and I are continuously fighting to save wildlife and help conservationists rather than places like this that abuse ocean life for money.

And that’s what brings me here.

I hate to say that I’m officially standing in the place where I will be working for the next year and then some.

For the last five years, I have been traveling the world; cleaning on the frontlines, and helping hurt animals with my aquatic veterinarian training.

Now I feel like one of the animals in the tanks.

Just, stuck. Unable to exit.

Though, I can just walk out the doors. Wobble. I can wobble out the doors. But I’m not forced to be here, it is partially my own will.

***

Here is my big tale.

I wish it was more extravagant, like:

[In my mind, this is said in an Australian accent. Do as you please.]

When I was on the coast of Fiji last summer I went face to face with a wild shark. He was stuck in a large fishing net, and I knew I had to save it. I jumped in the wavy blue water with my scissors and started treading. While I was treading the water, I cut away at the net to let the shark run free. It was a treacherous and long journey without a life vest to free the shark. But as the shark began to swim away, I wriggled out to move towards the boat and my left foot would not budge. To my dismay, in the flurry of saving the shark, I sacrificed myself. The ankle that was wrapped up in that net will never be the same.

[Light shift. Back to reality.]

Yes, I was on the coast of Fiji last summer. Yes, I was face to face with wild sharks. No, it was not nearly as heroic.

I slipped getting onto the boat and broke my ankle.

Simple and plain.

I have definitely told the other story though, just for fun; to test how far I can stretch the truth without anyone noticing. Most people noticed, especially Natalie.

Natalie is the girl next door. Better known as my best friend. We grew up together and so nothing could ever get by her. She is actually the reason why I wanted to become a vet...not her exactly, but her dog. My family never had a dog and so Baxter was my adoptive pet. And then I guess since I went to school to be an aquatic veterinarian Baxter only helped a little. But I’ll give credit where credit is due and say Baxter was my introduction to...well, animals.

Anyhow, that’s the reason why I’m stuck here. My travels and conservation efforts on the frontline were canceled and so I decided to integrate the system. Only so I could break it down, of course. More like: infiltrate the system.

Aquariums: There are pros to them, especially seeing it through the parental-beneficial to society eye. Which, yes. Kids need to explore. And many aquariums across the globe support conservation and do make a difference. However, this is not the case here. There are too many downsides at the big ol' Mass Aquarium that are far greater than any benefits. From poor regulation systems to cut spaces, it is clear that the only drive here is the money.

And so, my first step is to go to the gala.

You might be thinking, “May, you just complained about the galas and the rich people who toss their money everywhere, why would you go?”

That’s just it...they throw their money everywhere.

Step two is to secure the bag...and I do that by introducing my name as a part of The Massachusetts Aquarium, then explaining my efforts, my conservation fund.

It’s not personal. I’m not being sketchy or anything, it’s a real organization where the money funds my team in various wildlife rescue stuff. Just the ‘this’ and ‘that’ of saving the world. They won’t hear the details anyway; they’ll hear the buzzwords “charity” and “tax breaks” and hand over the money...hopefully.

Step three is more than one step but it’s to internally shift the aquarium from an aquarium to a restoration habitat and aquatic hospital.

One can dream.

***

Note from the author:

Though this is a fictional story, many elements are based on truth: including the Fun! Fish! Facts! about whale sharks (from the World Wildlife Fund), the real harm our wildlife faces, and the potential dangers to encaptured animals.

If you would like to learn more or help with shark/wildlife conservation, check out these links below:

4 Ocean

https://www.4ocean.com/pages/about

Shark Alliance

https://www.pewtrusts.org/en/projects/archived-projects/shark-alliance

Project AWARE Foundation

https://www.padi.com/aware/sharks

Coral Reef Alliance

https://coral.org/what-we-do/

Or better yet, adopt a whale shark! Whale sharks are currently listed as an endangered species. The money from adoption helps fund the research needed to aid in their survival:

Shark Trust

https://www.sharktrust.org/adopt-a-whale-shark

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

KB

A snippet of life. Some real, some not. Thanks for reading!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kb

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.