Fiction logo

The Indigo Child

The First Seed

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - March 2023
62
The Indigo Child
Photo by Nikhita Singhal on Unsplash

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky.

A haze would descend upon the fields as tiny purple seeds planted themselves gently. Each seed carried a love; a love of sky and water entwined to give life. And life grew. Luscious flora bloomed releasing sweet scents, and wildlife twittered and skittered around a blossoming world. Harmony reached its roots deep into the land and caressed its matter, “You matter, land”.

When the sun rose from its nightly rest, it smiled upon the fruitful earth and fed it with warm rays. The lush flora reached towards the sky from which it came from and waved; gratitude carried in the effortless breeze. Songbirds cheered and chirped melodies, and the animals worked together to keep everything at peace. Rabbit knew it fed wolf, and wolf knew that when the time would come, it too would return to the earth to feed the soil. There was balance.

But then the people came.

And with them, they brought song and dance, but also screams and battles.

They littered the once heavenly land with their scraps and sorrows, and then tried to build atop of it all. Skyscrapers shot out to the sky, a masked greeting to the pure blue, while metal poles poked holes deep in the ground. With each stab, roots split apart and seeds were squashed. All except one.

This seed burrowed unharmed below a wooden flooring, which lay as a starting foundation for a weary fella’ and an infatuated gal.

~

My momma always said that, just because you’re a little different, it doesn’t mean you don’t deserve respect.

Daniel Greeves didn’t seem to care much about what my momma said though. He just straight up punched me square in the schnoz and laughed at my bloody tears. Him and his goon of a buddy then proceeded to dump my bag out in the mud and yanked off my shoes. Then they were gone.

“They were a ratty ol’ pair anyhow,” I tried to convince myself as I gathered my damp belongings together. “It’s not like I wanted to do my homework anyhow,” I mumbled as I threw out my unfinished assignment in the trash, knowing the incomplete mark probably wouldn’t matter. I was flunking school regardless. And it wasn’t because I was some dummy, I was rather bright actually, or so my momma always said.

But the truth was, was that not even the teachers cared about me or wanted me here.

Nobody did; except my momma.

She would tell me every night how special and important I was. She’d tell me how everything about me was magical and unique, and that I should always embrace my differences. Easier said than done though.

She didn’t have purple-y eyes and faded purple freckles.

And at first, with the purple hair, we thought I’d be cooler. Those were easy to say were dyed. But the rest… it just freaked out some and creeped out the others.

But momma always said, just because you’re a little different, it doesn’t mean you don’t matter.

As much as I tried to believe her, and as much as I probably knew deep down inside that there was truth somewhere in those words, I still wished we never had to move away. I wished dad never had to get hurt down in the dark smoky mines. And I wished we didn’t have to lose everything after that terrible Thursday in May.

I hate Thursdays now. And I hate my dumb purple genes.

What I wouldn’t do to be rid of these stupid freckles that littered my skin. What I wouldn't do...

FantasyShort StoryFable
62

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (44)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    This would make a great spoken piece. Love it.

  • Amir Hossainabout a year ago

    Nice! Love every day and all the best to your challenge 👍🏼

  • Safeera Satharabout a year ago

    Nice

  • Dora Caetanoabout a year ago

    I love thursdays. I enjoyed your story.

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Love the voice through this Oneg. Nicely done! Congratulations on the top story.

  • David cenabout a year ago

    Oh so nice article,thanks

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    You never disappoint in your story telling, I enjoyed it .🙂

  • Lalith Poojariabout a year ago

    truly interesting article. Expecting more interesting articles from you

  • Eva Lyraabout a year ago

    This is an outstanding piece of writing.

  • Solomon Chidubem Ogbonnaabout a year ago

    Great article.

  • Wow, what a beautifully written story! The imagery is so vivid and captivating, and the way you describe the harmony of nature before the people came is truly breathtaking. Your use of language is poetic and evocative, and it really brings the story to life. I especially love how you contrast the beauty of nature with the ugliness of human behavior, and how the one seed that survives represents the resilience of life in the face of destruction. And the way you tie it all back to the story of the boy with purple features is so moving and powerful.

  • Michael Davisabout a year ago

    Thanks for sharing.

  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    Oh purple freckles! Great story!

  • S.T.Seelanabout a year ago

    Enjoyed! superb

  • Rey Visionaryabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!! Expecting more

  • Dee Brattonabout a year ago

    Love it!

  • Kalliema RieVenturiniabout a year ago

    💖💖💖

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Great description and imagery wonderful story but sad it not easy being the one who doesn’t fit in.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Wow, I loved this story so much, Oneg!! Great job and congrats on Top Story!! 😍😍

  • Rachel M.Jabout a year ago

    Oooh, Oneg! "And with them, they brought song and dance, but also screams and battles."

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    I'm ready to read more!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Subscribed

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Excellent, love your character and background. I see and felt every emotion. Plus a really nice story line. Perfect length to leave us wanting more. Congratulations on the well deserved Top Story.

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Great approach to the purple clouds challenge. It is unique and compelling. Congrats for getting top story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.