Fiction logo

The Holmes Heist

She(r)locked down another T.S.

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
The Holmes Heist
Photo by Miha Meglic on Unsplash

Articulate. Calculated.

I had to be nothing short of a bridge engineer; one wrong move could cost more than lives. Pride was at stake here.

Sweat dripped profusely from my brow, and I asked myself for the hundredth time, “Is this good enough?” before deciding it was not and making changes again.

Not drastic ones, but meticulous ones no doubt.

My work needed to be dynamic enough for someone to notice. They had to.

For weeks, every time I thought it was done, I found myself coming back again, to tweak, to move, to critique my work from the day before.

Like a ransom note, I made sure every word held as much weight as the next.

I ran it through grammar analysis. No errors. Whew!

Finally, my submission was ready. This time, I would win.

I hit the submit button, only to wake the next day and find that my Top Story had been stolen by someone called Cathy Holmes.

I read her story.

It was good. A little too good. She must have made alliances with the prose mafia. I should have done that.

But this heist would not go unseen.

I’d be back.

+ +

Thank you for taking the time to read “The Holmes Heist.” This story has been written from a place of admiration and respect for a fellow Vocal writer whom I have frequently seen write at the top of her game lately.

So, Cathy, if you are reading this, WELL DONE and MUCH LOVE! But just know, the pen is never going to stop moving over here and I am coming for ya! ;) ♥️

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.