Fiction logo

The Hidden World

A James Alderson Story

By Charles DupreePublished 2 years ago 6 min read
2

“The world’s really going to hell.,” said Frank as he threw back another shot of the cheap whiskey he drank.

Frank was referring to the news story, a father of four had slaughtered his family and then killed himself. Sadly, it was something that was becoming all too common of an occurrence. I simply patted him on the back and laid a twenty on the bar, which would give him a few more shots to drown his sorrow.

“You’re right Frank, but there’s always hope when the daylight comes.” I said as I got up to walk away shrugging on my coat as I reached into the bag of jerky beside him and grabbed three pieces

“You’re one of the good ones Jim, I don’t care what anyone says about you.” Frank replied as he swiveled on the teetering on it as though one hard breath of wind would blow him right off it.

“Take care of him Nicky, make sure he gets home.” I said as I headed out the door, the chilly wind hitting my face as I turned up my collar. The air had started turning cold a couple of nights ago. I always liked the cold air, there was something about it that made everything seem clear and crisp. The moon looked brighter as it shone full on the city sidewalk, the stars shone a little brighter as if they were meant to be steppingstones of the old gods. It was in moments like these that the world seemed at peace

Frank had no idea how right he actually was, this world was going to hell, quite literally. It had been heading this way since the last world war. I thought about that great and bloody struggle as I walked to my bookstore, well bookstore slash apartment slash hole in the wall. I fumbled with my keys in my pocket before finding the right one, I had to many keys, I slid it in and opened my door. The smell of the old books, old stories and mythos flooded my nostrils, my familiar smell of home. My sanctuary.

As I stepped into the moonlit bookstore, I heard it coming from the back, its eyes glowing in the lunar light, its black fur glistening almost blue. The four-legged beast stalked toward me slowly deliberately. I stared at him before reaching into my coat pocket, I pulled out the jerky and tossed it to the black canine. “I told you I would be back Grimm, no need to get an attitude.” I said as I grabbed a chair dragging it onto the sidewalk. Grimm followed me back into the store nudging my hand with his head, I petted him as I walked up the stairs to the second level of the store. I did not need the light to know where I was heading, I had grown up here, I knew this store like my own body. At the statue of King Solomon, I touched the side, flipping the hidden switch as a shelf slid out from behind the east bookshelf. I grabbed the second book from the left on the third shelf from the top and slid the shelf back in place.

I walked back out to the street and set down in my chair, opening the book as the moon provided the perfect reading lamp. I petted Grimm as I flipped through the pages of the old book, it was papyrus paper with a leather binding, “Well what shall it be tonight, Grimm? What history shall we relearn?” I asked my faithful companion as I rubbed his head. I had read the book a thousand times, just as my father and his father before him. It was our history, not just of my family but of the human race. The true Bible.

I flipped through pages; the old ink had been redone hundreds of times to preserve the knowledge. My fingers traced through the old text, feeling each bump and raise until I settled on a passage. As I read slowly Grimm laid at my feet, his head resting on my knee as I stroked him absent mindedly. I lost track of time, but suddenly Grimm lifted his head and turned across the street. “I know buddy, I know they are coming.” I said as I closed the book and walked into the store, laying it on the counter. I checked the knife I kept in the small of my back. I walked back out and sat in my chair as I felt the hair on the back of my neck stood up.

I saw Frank staggering down the street, and just like I assumed it would happen, Nicky was walking with him. I saw the Nicky look around, once he saw the coast was clear he leaned Frank’s inebriated self against the side of a building in the alley and started whispering in his ear. Grimm was beside me lowly growling “Its time to go to work.”

I stood up, quickly and quietly walking up behind him. I grabbed the back of his neck throwing him away from Frank. Frank collapsed to the ground, either from drink or from Nicky’s actions. I stood with my foot on Nicky’s throat.

“What do you think you are doing tenebris? I said as I pulled my blade from behind my back, its silver edge glistening in the moonlight. He struggled trying to move my boot from his throat but that wouldn’t happen, the heel of my boot dug in harder as I leaned down pressing my blade to his chest.

“Let me go lucidus.” Nicky hissed, almost as if my name was burning his lips.

“You know the rules Nicky, you aren’t allowed to influence anyone in this town. You know the agreement struck a the at the Council of Nicea states that where a town has been claimed protected by the lucidus no tenebris may affect the citizens of that town. Now, I will give you a warning or you can go to the hole for 3 days, its your choice.” I smirked as the glinting edge of my blade pressed into his chest, just above his heart. He heaved out a sigh in defeat as he stopped struggling to move my boot.

“Warning.” he said solemnly as he braced himself for what was about to come. I unbuttoned the first couple buttons of his shirt to his chest, I saw the scares had scabbed and healed. I slowly slid my blade across his chest leaving another mark. The skin burned as he held in his scream, the silver of my bladed cut and cauterized in one smooth motion. I pulled back wiping the blade on Nicky’s shirt, cleaning his blood from it. I kicked him hard in the head with the heel of my boot, knocking him up. I grabbed Frank and threw his arm over my shoulder as I started to take him to his house. The door wasn’t locked, but it never was everyone knew this, because Frank could never find his key. I laid Frank on the couch and covered him up, he wouldn’t remember what happened, and even if he asked me I could just tell him he hit is head as Nicky took him home. He didn’t need to know how close he was too losing his soul to one of the darkest creatures on earth. Frank, like so many others before him, would never know of the hidden world that almost consumed him.

When I got back to where I had left Nicky, he was gone, which didn’t surprise me. I walked into my moonlit shop and grabbed the old book from the counter, as I turned to head outside something caught my attention, a different light, opal dancing with hints of silver coming from a pendant behind my counter. I walked over, almost in disbelief as I picked it up, it can’t be I thought. There can't be another guardian in the town……….

To Be Continued

Series
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.