Fiction logo

The Hero's Conundrum/Chapter 3

-Supernatural-

By Angel DelgadoPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

I don’t believe this is happening, we underestimated him, is over, we lost!

I should have known better.

Are the legends true? Is he immortal?

I have too many questions, how is he alive? How did he know about this camp? But most important, what do I do now? Bansao men were pointing their guns at us, as he grabbed a random person from the camp, a young woman, then again he looked at me as he shot her.

“Are you going to let me kill all your people?” asked Bansao while smiling.

I have two options, watch everyone at my camp die or charge at him with everything I have. I would gladly die for them, this are my people and I’m not going to watch them die. I analyzed the situation and we can take them but some of us will die, I wish there was another way. I looked at the men at my sides and they understood, we die with honor. I’ll do anything for this people, they are the reason I’m alive today.

I really don’t remember anything before they found me, first thing I remember is that I was full of blood with a knife in my hand, at the bottom of a cliff .They found me, and took care of me I don’t know why I was covered in blood or what happened to me. If I was injured I healed real quickly, in a matter of days I was already one of the soldiers. They fed me and trained me, they needed a leader and I became one. Elijah the elder, the one that Bansao just killed was the one that decided that I would stay with them. They were afraid of strangers and outsiders, some of them wanted me to leave and some wanted me to stay. Elijah had the final word on the matter, thanks to him I’m here and now he is dead. I’ve seen people come and go, I’ve seen people die but in a fight, in battle, not executed like this animal did.

I will die today but I my death will not be in vain, we will charge at them, I know I’m not going to survive but I will take as many as I can, for our people to survive. Then Bansao grabbed a kid and we charged at them, shooting and screaming. Suddenly something happened, I felt some strong wing and a shadow, then all of Bansao men are dead, but who killed them? Everyone is looking at me, what happened? Bansao looked at me and I think I saw fear in his eyes, but before anyone could react he pointed his gun at me and shot me. As I fall on the floor, I saw the camp people fighting Bansao as he ran away. Sammael grabbed me and said “You’ll be ok” as I feel blood running all over my face, then everything went black.

I woke up covered in blood and with a knife in my hand, I don’t know why I have a knife, but I know the reason for the blood. Bansao shot me! I have to go back to my people, I need to see if they are ok, but why did they leave me here? I went to a nearby river to wash myself from all this blood and when I was going to clean the knife, I noticed it was missing, as I said, I don’t know why I had a knife in the first place. Now that I remember my other knife went missing too, it doesn’t matter, what matters is that I find my people. When I got to the camp, they were not there, they must have moved, I taught them that. They must have left a trail that only people from our camp could follow, there it is. When I was on my way, I noticed that I was being followed, it was Bansao and his men, they want to find the camp, my people must have left me here for a reason. Was it because I let Elijah die? Perhaps, but I know the ones that I was with wouldn’t have left me here without a good reason, especially Sammael but I must find out.

I circled around Bansao and his men to confuse them and then I hid, waiting for the perfect moment to strike. I took one of his men out, grabbed his machinegun and went for Bansao, but before I could do anything, he grabbed me by the neck and said

“Listen to me”.

I quickly shot him at close range, he fell on the floor and I was free. So I went for his men, killed some of them and the others ran away. I moved really fast, faster than I usually move, must have been the adrenaline. I have never felt like this before. There he was, on the floor dying, who knew it was going to be this easy I pointed the gun at him and smiled. He was trying to say something,

“not over . . .”

But I shot him in the head, I don’t care what he wanted to say, it really is over. Actually I emptied the whole clip on him, this time I’m sure its him, the only difference is that he didn’t have the eye patch, that means the first one I killed with the land mine must have been an impostor.

I made sure no one was following me and I reached our camp, when I got there they looked surprised like they have seen a ghost. Joseph came to greet me and Samael was sitting on a bench smiling and saying to our people

“I told you he was going to make it. Didn’t I?”

I told them what happened and that I killed Bansao and this time it was face to face and I was sure it was him. John said

“that’s what you said last time” and Sarah replied

“yeah I told you, he always comes back, there is no killing him, believe me I tried.”

Paul, the doctor in our camp said that when Bansao attacked his former village, he saw him in action and that he was not human. He said that he was something supernatural, some people on the camp started agreeing and commenting that they have also seen him in action.

“There is no such thing as supernatural and I will prove it to you”

I asked my crew to follow me to where he died, but before we could leave one of our messengers came running, when he caught his breath, told us that Bansao people had made camp nearby and we should move.

That was my time to prove them I was right.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Angel Delgado

Amateur writer, fiction lover. I hope you enjoy what you find here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.