Fiction logo

The Hero's Conundrum/Chapter 21

- Let It Flow -

By Angel DelgadoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
The Hero's Conundrum/Chapter 21
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

I have my head covered with a bag and I’m with Marduk on our way to Sarah’s village, we have been on the road and I’m in pain, I’m about to faint. They tied me to a chair besides Marduk, is really weird seeing this from this perspective. Sarah was in front of us and Marduk started talking

“What is going on Sarah?”

“I was about to ask you the same thing. I’ve been keeping an eye on you and you have been keeping some secrets from us”

“I can say the same for you, the difference is that I have no idea what’s going on even with me. But you? You have your own army?”

“No, I’m just a high ranking officer but not the general. I was hired to look for one of our rouge lieutenant. Lieutenant Bansao, I infiltrated your little militia group before we found you. One of my missions were to find and apprehend Bansao which I just did. The second mission was to protect you and ensure your survival. The second one have been, for a lack of a better word . . . intriguing.”

My pants are soaking in blood, my blood the pain is almost gone, I must be dying. I can’t wait to die so I can get out of here. I remember back when I was Marduk I thought thet Bansao was the most horrible person, I was so mistaken. Those elders made us believe that and now I’m the enemy.

“Listen to me Sarah, Bansao is dying and if he dies your mission will fail, I suggest you bring him medical attention fast.”

“Forget about him, now I know why my superiors were so interested in you, but I just learned that now. The first time you died I thought I failed my mission but then you came back, not once not twice . . . three times. Well at least I’m aware of just three. You are the key to defeat Bansao once and for all, but what do we do with you after Bansao is finally dead for good? Well that’s up to my superiors.”

“Sarah shut up! I think Bansao died, he is not moving, you idiot you let him escape.”

I faked to be unconscious to plan my escape.

“Don’t worry about that I bet you can find him again and help me bring him back.”

“I don’t work for you!”

“Marduk you have a small militia, we have an army, if you are smart you will join us, we will take you to your camp and we expect that you help us. I would hate to kill your people. I kind of like them.”

“You asshole, you are no different from Bansao, after I kill Bansao, you are next”

“Relax, I know you want information, I’ve been keeping an eye on all your people and it seems you don’t really know any of them. Especially John, everyone seems to have a secret, except John, right? WRONG! In fact John never had a family John is. . .”

This is my chance, I need something to cut the rope and my knife suddenly came out and I cut the ropes, pushed Sarah away said, “I am John” then stabbed Marduk in the heart so he could escape also. I started fighting them all until I died.

I woke up, covered in blood and I immediately knew where I was and what I needed to do, it was time. Sammael and Marduk were arriving at the camp, but before they entered I told him;

“Marduk let’s talk” He came to me with his men “Oh yes an audience, we deed an audience”

“Why do you need an audience?”

“Come closer and I’ll tell you”

“Today you become a Hero and I need everyone to see”

“Wait let’s talk about joining forces”

“Are you sure about that?” then John threw us a grenade. Marduk tried to throw it away, but, he took us by surprise I forgot about it and we got hit by grenade shrapnel.

I’m way faster than I used to so I punched Marduk in the ribs, I quickly dominated him and started attacking his men. Now he will talk to Sarah so she can shoot us, Sammael was right I need to let this flow. I need this to happen because he will win this one and my men will later join him. What happens from now on is a mystery to me, I just remember until here.

They started shooting and I’m hurt and bleeding too much, Marduk slammed me into one of the vehicles, started punching me and stabbed me.

He asked his men to shoot as I remember, so I smiled and told him,

“I don’t know what will happen to me after this, but, this is your time to shine Hero”

“Stop, let’s talk”

“Too late” It is too late for that now, this needs to happen I need to let time flow. I showed Marduk the three safety pins left of the grenades, He pushed me but we couldn’t get away on time and the grenades exploded right between us.

Series
1

About the Creator

Angel Delgado

Amateur writer, fiction lover. I hope you enjoy what you find here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.