Fiction logo

The Hero's Conundrum/Chapter 19

-All Over Again-

By Angel DelgadoPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
1
The Hero's Conundrum/Chapter 19
Photo by Alexander Schimmeck on Unsplash

I woke up again covered in blood, but can’t complain, I had a good couple of peaceful years. Now I need to find out where and when I am, the only way is looking back at the previous camps or villages I have been. Well I start looking for camps again and this is getting tedious, but I got to keep going. I arrived at my camp at the exact time after the mine exploded, a while later my new crew came and found me alive. One of them said:

“The legends were true, you are immortal”

The others couldn’t believe what they saw, I immediately started training my men and told them my plans, number one priority is make Marduk join us. This is not going to be easy, I already know that me as Marduk was very hardheaded. We spent a couple of months training, and planning our attack I don’t even remember what I looked like. I told my men that there is going to be a decoy camp and a real one.

There are a bunch of real assholes in my crew, I took them in not knowing what they have done. They are real trouble makers, sometimes they leave the camp and come back with stuff from other camps and with blood stains on them. I have lost of complaints from our own crew of being assaulted by them. They don’t even want to train, they say that they are good at this already, all they want to do is wreak havoc.

I already know what is going to happen once we are there so, I sent the troublemakers, with a lot of guns, grenades and flamethrowers to the decoy camp. They are going to die, but they don’t know that and I don’t need people like that in my crew. Everything was ready and I gave the signal. Then the silence broke with the sound of a bomb that hit the decoy camp by the trouble makers, then another, they went with flamethrowers, burning everything, the others with machine guns shooting every were. They were as relentless as I remember.

So, I headed to the real camp with my some of my men knowing that Marduk was going to be busy fighting the troublemakers. I scouted the camp, then I saw Elijah and I remember what he said about me when I was Marduk he was just using me. Then I stayed hidden and listen to them he was telling the other elders. Elijah said;

“I think we need to move, if Bansao is there, Marduk and his men will die. This woman here is my niece, she is highly trained by Marduk and she will take over what we have left of our army. Right”

“Yes uncle, Marduk has already served his purpose even if he survives I will kill him when he comes back.”

The other elders were not happy by the decision but they were intimidated, so I seized the cap, I told my men to secure the place and wait. I took Elijah with me and his niece to the front of the camp were Marduk will show up, I know that killing Elijah will trigger his ability so I can get stronger by making him stronger. I need to make him join me ASAP, I need to convince him. I see him and hide, when he got closer I took the Elijah and pointed the gun at him and when he looked at me I smiled at him and shot the elder. His rage started rising, I don’t remember much of what happened that day, but I grabbed his niece and shot her too, now he have fear and anger. Come on, why doesn’t he attack me? What do I do? Oh yeah, the kid, I’m not going to kill him, I know he will react. When I grabbed the kid he charged at me but he is too slow, then suddenly I hear a commotion behind me and my men are dead. Shit I forgot about that it was the other me that day, I only need one of them, so I shot the first one and ran away knowing the other will follow me.

I totally forgot about that, I ran away fast and hid, he is no match for me, he never will, because the stronger he gets, the stronger I get. He is coming and as soon as he got close, I grabbed him by the neck and told him

“I have been waiting for this moment.” He is struggling for air, then I dropped him to the ground and he was trying to catch his breath and I told him

“I just want to talk, that’s all I want, let me finish and if you want to kill me after, I won’t stop you”. He agreed and I agreed to only answer one.

“Listen to me, stop this madness and join me, you can’t beat me I will always come back and you know it. I know this sounds cliché, but we are both strong and together we can end this. If you continue your agenda, to try and get rid of me, it will only bring you misery. I’m begging you, please stop, it won’t end well and it won’t end at all.”

He is quiet right now and I continued “I need you and I can help you grow stronger, reach the limit of your abilities and we will have peace, I promise. This day . . . this moment is crucial. Now is your turn for a question, here is my gun, ask me whatever you want I will answer you honestly” He took my gun and pointed at me and asked me

“Where is your clone source or supply?” I laughed, I remember how stupid I was

“There is no source or supply I don’t even know how I keep coming back. But I do know that the key to end this is for you to join me. I know you love your people so much, but believe me, the way you are running things. . .you’ll be betrayed sooner or later. Well what will it be?”

He came closer to me, pointing the gun at my head, and said, “You know nothing” and pulled the trigger.

Damn it, it won’t change I woke up again covered in blood near my camp just before Marduk went running after the other me. No mater all I try to do, it always ends up the same, well Sammael told me I needed to let things flow. I know what happens so I must act my part now. I waited until I left with my men and entered the camp, told my men what happened and headed to the woods where I was just killed and wait for it to happen. I told all of them to put masks on, they did and so did I. The moment arrived, and as soon as Marduk killed the other me, all the men that came with me, hundreds of my masked men started coming out of hiding, they walked to the corpse and pick him up. They walked by Marduk as if he wasn’t there. Then Marduk asked us;

“What are you going to do with the body? I want to see how he comes back to life.” Damn I was stupid. I walk to him and said

“That one is not coming back to life” then I took off my mask, he opened his eyes like never before. I remembered that moment, then I said,

“I’m so disappointed, a time will come when you’ll want to join me, but you won’t be able to, then you’ll have to make the most difficult decision in your life” just like I did.

As we walked to the camp, we heard some noise then I saw someone moving fast, really fast, is it me again? Oh yes, now I remember. He took out one of my men, I know he is coming for me, but I’m faster, so I grabbed him by the neck. But before I could talk he shot me at close range with a machine gun. Damn it I keep forgetting the little details. As I fell I heard him taking out my men He pointed the gun at me and I smiled, I was going to tell him that it is not over, that it will never be over, but I died before I could. I’m starting to hate this dying routine, I need to be more careful, try and concentrate on the details, but too much time has passed. I woke up again covered in blood and I’m lost.

Series
1

About the Creator

Angel Delgado

Amateur writer, fiction lover. I hope you enjoy what you find here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.