Fiction logo

The healing power of love

love in a dark moment

By Beauty UfuomaefePublished 8 months ago 3 min read
3
The healing power of love
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

Love entered my life like a light of hope in the midst of my darkest hour, I had lost trust in the world, in myself, and in the possibility of happiness at the time. But I had no idea that love had different intentions for me.

My entire universe had collapsed around me. The death of a friend had crushed me, my heart aching with an emptiness. I shut myself away from the outside world, retiring into the darkness of my own thoughts. Every day felt like a battle against an unseen force attempting to take me deeper into the abyss.

Then, as I sat alone in my dimly lit apartment on a wet evening, a knock at the door broke my gloom. I paused, not expecting to see any visitors. My friends had grown bored of my misery, and my solitude had driven them away. But the continuous knocking persisted, luring me out of my stupor.

I opened the door with a sigh, and there she was—a stranger in the rain, drenched and trembling. Emma introduced herself and stated that her car had broken down, leaving her stranded. She had noticed the faint glow of light coming from my apartment window and hoped to find assistance.

I invited her inside without thinking, offering her a warm towel and a cup of tea. I observed her eyes as she wrapped herself in the towel, which held a depth of comprehension I had never seen before. It was as though she could see straight through the mask I had put up.

That evening, we talked, or rather, she talked and I listened. Emma discussed her personal problems, her battles with darkness and sorrow. She spoke about the power of love and how it had given her the fortitude to endure the darkest of circumstances. Her words struck a deep chord within me, rekindling a flicker of hope that I had thought had been extinguished forever.

Emma became a frequent presence in my life in the days that followed. She arrived at my door smiling, bringing warmth and brightness into my otherwise dark existence. The darkness that had swallowed me began to fade slowly but steadily. Emma had brought a beam of sunshine with her, piercing through the storm clouds that had engulfed my soul. She made me laugh when I had forgotten how, and she reminded me of life's basic pleasures.

I realized I was in love with Emma one evening as we sat on my balcony watching the stars. It wasn't a love born of desperation or need, but of the fertile soil of our shared experiences and the true connection we'd created.

My heart racing with fear of rejection, I told her how I felt. But she looked me in the eyes with that same knowing look and admitted that she felt the same way. It seemed as if the universe had conspired to bring us together at that moment, two damaged souls seeking consolation and strength in each other's embrace.

With Emma by my side, I discovered that love can be a ray of hope in the darkest of times. She showed me that love was more than simply a feeling; it was a natural force capable of healing wounds, repairing shattered hearts, and illuminating even the darkest of pathways.

Emma and I continued to manage life's problems together we battled our demons together, knowing that if we had each other, we could weather any storm. Emma had been my guiding light, my rescuer in the depths of misery, and together we had realized that love could shine brightest even in the darkest hour.

Love
3

About the Creator

Beauty Ufuomaefe

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah D8 months ago

    This is lovely. Read mine? https://vocal.media/poets/waking-up-perfectly-normal

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.