Fiction logo

The Haunting Mirror

A broken mirror challenge-horror but a tragic modern fairy tale inspired by my experiences with Body dysmorphia. CW- depression, adult language, loneliness, body dysmorphia, trauma, & Suicide

By Meghan LeVaughn Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 6 min read
2
The Haunting Mirror
Photo by okeykat on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. This is more like a fairy tale from hell. It’s not my actual reflection. This isn’t a normal reflection. I have no reflection. I have been cursed with this reflection. I wish it shouldn’t happen this horror. I wish it shouldn’t happen when I have had this curse for decades. This curse has turned my reflection into nothing but darkness and horror in reality. I couldn’t see anything beautiful. I couldn’t stop how many times I looked at myself in the mirror.

How did this happen?

It all started When I was a little girl.

I finished brushing my teeth and get ready for bed. Suddenly, the wind blows through the curtains.

I hear strange wind noises coming through the window.

A mysterious, dark cloud came into my room — it appears that it was a witch — but it was like a demonic fairy just like from ‘Sleeping Beauty’.

She looked at me—

—glared at me.

Silenced, but very creepy feeling.

She didn’t say anything until she said that she has been watching me since the day I was born and I have been chosen.

Huh? Wait a minute?

Chosen of what?

Why me?

I don’t get it.

Then, she flew and stroked through me.

And then, I seemed fine but until I looked in the mirror, I had become this—- Every single mirror—I turned myself into a monster in the reflection! I see myself as a monster. Even without a mirror, I still looked like a monster.

I see it! I saw it with my own eyes!

Every single mirror!

I tried to tell my family! My friends! My teachers!

I also couldn't afford a therapist for many reasons.

Every single person responded to me that it was all in my head.

it was all in my HEAD?!?

My head?!?

Why?!

I don’t get it!

Nobody gets it!

Sadly, I have to deal with it.

There’s nothing I can do.

Years have passed.

Over 20 years, I still have been cursed!

It's like I'm already dead inside!

What is the point?

How long will it last?!?

I never saw myself as beautiful. I just can't. After I had been called all nasty names by my peers, I kept believing them.

I lost My friends drastically. They left me behind on many school tips and move on with better ones than me.

Things did not go well for My family as well. They told me that it was my fault that I was responsible for this mess.

They said that it was not their problem.

Just like all of the mirrors and even that witch told me!

This nightmare is still real!

This nightmare will never go away. Nobody believes me in how I feel. They think that I'm overreacting and being dramatic!

I’m scared!

I’m scared, but I'm also angry, tired, frustrated, hungry, depressed, desperate, and alone!

There must be a way—-

But HOW?!?

The mask.

Yes!

The mask is the perfect answer!

I have to put the mask on. No matter what colors or weird prints/patterns I’m wearing. I love it!

I have to keep wearing them in public. I’m still wearing a mask in the workout studio, grocery, mall, vacation, and so on.

Until that day. Something has changed.

I went to the comic convention for the weekend. Suddenly, I hear something. A beautiful voice. There is a man- a handsome man. He also has the same age as me. I'm shy. What should I say? I'm afraid. It turned out it was the same person I chat online since the horrific lockdown over a year ago. He's also a fan of my paintings which I was doing for years to keep me coping with my pain and trauma. My heart pounding hard. I could hardly breathe. “Hi, there!” He saw me directly--he truly recognized me. “I can't believe it's you!” he's talking to me! I smiled at him. He smiled at me. We chat about many things we like and things we shared about our journeys. It took about thirty minutes before a break is over. He has to get back to the autograph session. Another hour and two days later, he had another break and then we had another long chat. We laughed. We cried. I took off my mask gently. He looked at me. He smiles. “Your smile is beautiful.’ My heart beats! I was shocked. Nobody ever told me that I was beautiful, like seriously. I hope it wasn't a joke. Was it a joke? Then, I replied to him, ‘thank you.’ I smiled. I felt like I'm already alive. I thought cheek. I know should be asked. His alarm went off! He had a flight to catch, we gave him a pure bug hug. It was the warmest hug I've ever felt. His scent was so sweet like clean mint. We waved to each other and give a lot of vibes for a safe trip home.

The witch came up to me was that he will not see me again because I'm nothing but an ugly monster. She also reminds me how my family and friends left me for this reason. “If there's nothing left–and if there's no more love for you…you know what's next..’

I have to stay alert if she's right.

After that, I texted him as much as I can. It turns out that he's very busy as I thought. So, I have to be latent as much as I can. What's next? I don't know.

A couple of weeks later, I was looking forward to seeing him again. Minutes later, I saw him finally. Then, out of nowhere, there was the most beautiful girl who was dating him. It hurts! I felt shocked painfully through my body. My heart breaks. I have nothing to say. I ran away for good. It turned out that there is no love for a monster like me. I went home crying. I just remember what the witch told me–’ if your love never comes true, you will have to end your life.’ So, she was right. I have no choice. I don't care what others think about me. Everyone is much better off without me. I break every mirror as much as I can. I tore my clothes into million pieces. I grabbed my pills and overdosed as many as I can until my eyes are shut & my heart began to stop beating. Before that, I memorize that I send an image to him before I have to end my life. It was just a black image with white fonts–’ goodbye, I'm free.’

The candles were light on. The music turns dark. I sleep peacefully. The reality was true, the world is much better if I wasn't around in the first place. If I was beautiful I can be more loved.

So, it's all a lie…

Goodbye….

……………

I can sleep now….

And be free……

Forever……

.………

Then…

“Beep..beep..’

I woke up.

Where am I? Am I in Hell?

Hospital?

What?

Who's holding my hand?

Is that? My acting coach? I always talked to her every day but every two weeks from her online class. Then, it's him?! He looks sad. Was he worried about me?

Wait? Is he coming closer to me? Kiss on my forehead?

I don't know what love is…

I looked at the mirror of myself last time…then it was just me–no more flaws! No more ugliness around my body! It turned normal. He hugged me… So I can get myself a rest from the hellish nightmare I went through.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Meghan LeVaughn

I'm Meghan. I’m almost 36. I always love to be creative and using my imagination since I was a little girl. I like stories & love to share my inspirations, journeys, etc.

www.twitter.com/MegsDreamDesign

www.instagram.com/meghansdreamdesigns

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Madison Newtonabout a year ago

    Thrilling!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.