Fiction logo

The Haunted Reflection

Falling into Darkness

By Dawn WarburtonPublished about a year ago 11 min read
Like
Consumed by the darkness

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. It was like looking at a different version of myself, one that was slightly twisted and distorted. I couldn't look away, despite the unease I felt in the pit of my stomach. I had bought the mirror from an old antique shop, attracted by its ornate design and the sense of history it seemed to possess. But now, I wondered if I had made a mistake.

Strange occurrences began happening around the mirror. Every time I walked past it, I felt like someone was watching me. Sometimes, I could hear faint whispers emanating from it as if voices were trapped inside. Other times, I swore I saw movement in the reflection, even when no one was there.

As the days went by, the occurrences became more frequent and terrifying. Objects would move independently, shadows would creep across the room, and I would wake up to find the mirror facing me as if it had turned itself during the night. I tried to ignore it, to rationalize away the strange happenings. But the sense of dread that hung over me like a cloud refused to dissipate. I knew something was wrong with the mirror: it held some dark energy seeping into my world.

I had to get rid of it. But no matter how hard I tried, I couldn't bring myself to do it. The ornate design that had once charmed me now seemed to hold me in its thrall, refusing to let me go. And so, I was trapped, a prisoner in my own home, at the mercy of the haunted mirror.

Superstition.

I've always been a little superstitious, but I never expected to find myself in the middle of a horror story. It all started when I bought an old, ornate mirror from an antique shop. I thought it would look perfect in my bedroom, adding a touch of elegance to the décor. But strange occurrences soon began around the mirror, and I couldn't shake the feeling that something was off.

At first, I thought it was just my imagination. But as time went on, the reflections in the mirror became more and more disturbing. I would catch glimpses of shadows or dark figures moving behind me and twisted shapes that shouldn't have been there. It was as if the mirror showed me an alternate reality just out of reach.

I couldn't help but feel uneasy around the mirror. It was as if it held some dark secret, something that was trying to escape. The more I looked into it, the more I felt like I was losing my grip on reality. The reflections seemed to be getting stronger and more vivid, and I couldn't shake the feeling that they were trying to communicate with me.

One night, I decided to confront the mirror. I stood before it, my heart racing with fear, and stared deep into its glass. And that's when I saw a figure standing behind me, watching me with empty eyes. I stumbled back, my mind reeling, and ran from the room.

From that moment on, I knew that something was terribly wrong. The mirror had opened a doorway to a world of darkness, and I was trapped in its grasp. I tried to get rid of it, to smash it into a million pieces, but it was always there, waiting for me, with its twisted reflections and endless horrors. I knew I had to find a way to escape before it was too late.

Twisted Reality.

At first, I thought it was just my imagination playing tricks on me. But as time passed, glimpses of an alternate reality in the mirror became increasingly frequent. At first, I only saw them from the corner of my eye, but then they became clearer and more defined.

It was as if the mirror was showing me a parallel world that was darker and more sinister than the one I knew. The skies were always overcast, and the streets were empty and desolate. The buildings were all ruins; the only sounds were the wind howling through the abandoned structures.

At first, I was intrigued by this alternate reality. It was like a window into a world I had never seen before. But the more I looked into it, the more I realized something terribly wrong. The people in this world looked like they were living in constant fear, always looking over their shoulders and hiding from something I couldn't see.

I tried to shake the feeling that the mirror was somehow connected to this alternate reality, but I couldn't. It was like a magnet, drawing me in and refusing to let go. The more I looked into it, the more the line between the real world and the alternate one began to blur. I knew that I had to find a way to break free from the mirror's hold on me. But every time I tried to look away, I was drawn back in, as if something in that alternate reality was calling out to me. And as the days went by, I began to fear that I would never escape its grip.

The glimpses of an alternate reality in the mirror have become more frequent, and with each passing day, the presence of that world becomes more menacing. The people in that world are no longer just living in fear; they seem to be actively pursuing me, reaching out from the mirror with hands that are twisted and distorted.

I can feel their eyes on me, even when I'm not looking in the mirror. They're watching me, waiting for the right moment to pull me into their world. I've tried to ignore them, but it's becoming increasingly difficult. The worst part is that the alternate reality seems to be taking over. The skies outside my window are perpetually overcast, and the streets are eerily silent. The darkness from an alternate reality is seeping into my world, slowly suffocating everything in its path.

My fear has reached a fever pitch, and I felt like I was losing my grip on reality. The mirror has become an all-consuming obsession, and I can't tear my eyes away. I know I must break free from its hold, but I don't know how. The presence of an alternate reality has become so menacing that I can no longer tell where one world ends, and the other begins. I feel trapped in a nightmare, and I don't know if I'll ever be able to wake up. All I can do is hold on tight and hope that somehow, someway, I'll be able to find a way out of this twisted reality.

I tried everything to destroy the mirror, but nothing worked. It was as if the mirror had a life of its own and was determined to keep me trapped in this nightmare. So I started researching online and found an old legend about a cursed mirror that could transport people to alternate realities. It was said that the only way to break the curse was to see the original owner and destroy the mirror together.

By Dalton Smith on Unsplash

The Ritual.

I searched for weeks and finally found the original owner's family. They told me their ancestor was a powerful sorcerer who cursed the mirror for trapping his enemies in alternate realities. They also told me that performing a specific ritual was the only way to break the curse. Initially, I was hesitant, but I knew I had to do something to stop an alternate reality from taking over completely. So, I performed the ritual and recited the incantation. Then, suddenly, the mirror began to crack and shatter into a million pieces.

I could feel my heart pounding as I watched the others gather around the altar, chanting in a language I couldn't understand. The flickering candlelight cast eerie shadows on their faces, making them look almost inhuman. I couldn't shake the feeling that I was witnessing something forbidden that shouldn't be done. But I couldn't tear my eyes away. As the ritual continued, I could feel the air around me growing colder and heavier. I wanted to leave, but something kept me rooted to the spot, unable to move. The thought of what might happen next sent chills down my spine.

I felt a growing sense of unease as I performed the ritual. The candles flickered, and the room grew colder. Despite my efforts to follow every step perfectly, something felt off. I pushed my doubts aside and continued with the incantation, hoping it would be enough to break the curse. But as the ritual climaxed, I realized too late that I had made a grave mistake. The darkness I was trying to banish seemed to grow stronger, consuming everything in its path. The candles went out, and the room was plunged into complete darkness. I could hear whispers all around me, and the hairs on my neck stood on end.

I tried to run, but I was paralyzed by fear. I felt the darkness pulling me in, suffocating me. No matter how hard I tried, I couldn't escape its grasp. The more I struggled, the more it consumed me.

As I succumbed to the darkness, I realized that I had been foolish to think I could control it. The curse was too powerful, and I had only made it more robust by attempting to break it. The darkness consumed me, and nothing was left of me but a memory. I tried everything to destroy the mirror, but it's indestructible. The glass wouldn't shatter, the frame wouldn't break, and the antique dealer I bought it from is nowhere to be found. So whenever I try to cover or move it away, it always finds its way back into my sight.

I started losing hope. The presence of an alternate reality has become more menacing with each passing day. I can feel it watching me, taunting me, waiting for the moment to strike. My fear has made way for the darkness which has consumed me, and I'm now part of an alternate reality. But, as I stare at my reflection, I can see the darkness in my eyes and know there's no turning back.

The End.

I feel the sharp wind blowing through my hair while I stare at the darkness of my reflection. My face is distorted, with every line enhanced like I'd aged years in just the blink of an eye.

  • Why had the ritual now worked?
  • Had I followed the direction meticulously?
  • Was the alternative reality my life forever? How did I get to this place?

The wind continued to pummel me until I felt my spine snap. It started at my tailbone, a jolt that was my spine snapping in two. I felt every vertebra splitting. But suddenly, my eyes were open, and I was surrounded by bright blue light. I was falling quickly, but when I looked up at the sky, I saw a parachute, the safety chute, billowing above me. It had opened just in time to save my life.

I couldn't believe what had happened as I drifted toward the ground. It was like something out of a movie. But as I looked around, I realized no film crew or special effects existed. This was a bona fide experience. This was a brush with death that I wasn't sure I could come back from. Then, as I landed on the ground, my legs shaking and my heart pounding, I knew that my life would never be the same.

For days afterward, I couldn't stop thinking about what had happened. I had always read that during a near-death experience, people's lives flashed before their eyes. But instead, I had been consumed by darkness, maybe an underworld. I wanted to know what did it all mean? My experience with the haunted mirror felt real and terrifying. I could feel the whispers, hear the shadows moving, and could not shake the internal dread whenever I thought about what I remembered. As the days passed, I convinced myself that the dark energy was seeping into my world. I tried to get rid of it, but I was trapped, and the mirror had a hold on me that I couldn't shake off. The glimpses of an alternate reality became more menacing, and I could feel the presence, watching and waiting for the right moment to pull me into their world. I knew I had to find a way to break free and end the hold on me before it was too late. The experience left me shaken and superstitious, and I will never forget the terror brought into my life.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Dawn Warburton

Hi! I'm Dawn, a consumer and disability advocate currently pursuing a doctorate in Organizational Leadership. I advocate to empower parents and consumers to make informed decisions by sharing current research and leading practices.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.