Fiction logo

The Haunted

Not all ghost are bad

By Kaenne depuente Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I could see and hear things no one else could for as long as I can remember. My granny told me at a young age that I was sensitive just like her, at the time I couldn’t understand exactly what she was referring to but as time went on I would certainly find out. Unfortunately granny passed away and I later found myself very alone in these experiences with so many unanswered questions. I’ll never forget The first time I saw a ghost I had to be between seven or eight years old. I will never forget it because it was my great grandfather whom had just passed away. I hadn’t ever gotten to know him he was an Army veteran who suffered terrible ptsd. Grandpa mostly stayed in his room and I don’t recall seeing him well really ever. That summer I was visiting my granny and helping in the orchard when the phone rang, my granny promptly requested I answere the phone as not to wake grandpa. I did what she requested and to my surprise he had already answered the phone and when I picked up he scolded me and I remember I felt so hurt by his words. I immediately burst into tears and ran out to my granny to tell her what happened. I will never forget what I said to her. The hate filled words rolled right off my tongue;” he’s so mean! I wish he would just die” now mind you even with little to no relationship with my grandfather I did love him and didn’t mean what I said I was just a stupid young girl. We stayed for two more days and left back home. The very next evening my mother got a call I overheard enough to know something had upset her. She explains my Grandpa had died, when I heard the news I gasped I could feel my heartbreak. had I actually killed my grandfather! I cried for days, sure that my awful words had somehow caused his death, at his funeral I will never forget the way his daughter cried for him she was filled with so much pain. My grandmother was inconsolable, I remember wondering what kind of relationship they had with him, this broken man I never got to know hadn’t always been that way. He must have been a wonderful father a wonderful husband and a great loss to the family. I sat alone and cried as I begged for forgiveness and every cry of pain I heard from his grieving family invoked a guilt inside of me that seemed to consume my whole body. When I got home that night I went strait to my room and cried and cried I couldn’t stop apologizing to my grandfather and saying to myself “ why would you die?, I didn’t mean it.” I fell asleep after a while I was awakened by an odd feeling that I was being watched. Terrified to open my eyes I pulled my blanket up to my chest and grasped it tight in my hands while I worked up the nerve. To open my eyes the very first thing I noticed was odd green light almost a glow emanating from my closet and filling my room. I feel my bed compress near my feel and to my suprise I feel a hand gently lay across my calf. Startled I look to the foot of the bed and that’s when I see him. My grandfather, transparent and silent he just sat and looked at me and I looked closely back. The longer we look at each other I realize something is very different about him. His features look soft and and full of compassion a far cry from the stern and indifferent features that were compiled in my memory. This was him, he was filled with peace no longer tormented by his memories of war. I regretted that I never got to know him. He tapped my leg three times with his hand and smiled, just then the green glowing light began to recede into the closet I watched as my room filled with the familiar darkness, I looked back to the foot of the bed and as the light disappeared as quickly as It came so did my grandfather. I was filled with a sense of peace as well. I believe to this day That My grandfather came to comfort me and let me know that his death was not my fault. And without speaking a word, he did just that.

In loving memory of grandpa Bob.

family
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.