Fiction logo

The Green Side

(screenplay)

By Jonathan L. RutanPublished 2 years ago 14 min read
Like

The Green Side

Scene 01:

Int. Apartment of Jade, James, and Kevin

(A soft hint of yellow pours through a window of a tiny apartment. It is a sparse place. Only a ragged couch sits in front of a small television. Upon that couch is James, a man whose age could be late twenties, or early thirties. He is playing a video game; a controller is in his hands as he hits buttons and stares at the TV. There is no passion on his face. Across from him is the only other piece of furniture that we can see, a recliner. Jade—a girl we can at least say looks younger than James—sits upon it with a book in her hands. She is reading with as much passion as James has for his game.)

James:

(Sighing)

Dead

Jade:

(Not bothering to look up from her book)

What?

James:

I died…I’m dead. Game over.

(Jade finally turns to stare at the TV)

Jade:

So, you going to keep playing…start over…what?

James:

I don’t know. Kevin said I should play and…and I’m glad I did, but…should I start over?

Jade:

(Looking back at the book in her hands)

Sounds good…if that is what you want…

James:

But this menu screen is nice too. I could just watch it.

(Jade stares again at the TV, the sound of a door opening, and closing, fills the room as a man dressed in all yellow steps into view. Jade nods at the TV.)

Jade:

That is nice. And it has good music. I think I like music. And…and this screen lets you start over if you want, but it also gives you the chance to do nothing without turning the whole thing off. You never want to choose anything too definite. Always better to leave your options open, right?

(The man in yellow keeps staring at them. He is behind the couch that James is on, but neither Jade nor James seems either bothered by his presence, or comforted. The man is Kevin, their roommate, and they keep ignoring him until finally he can stand it no longer.)

Kevin:

It’s College Day! You’ve missed almost all of it!

(Both Jade and James turn. They stare at Kevin with blank expressions. James does though let the controller he has been holding fall to his chest.)

James:

What?

Kevin:

College Day…one of the oldest traditions on campus…in the country. We split campus into two sides, and then those sides compete to declare a winner…ringing any bells?

Jade:

What campus?

Kevin:

What campus? We’ve been going to Noel University for almost five years…Noel University…sound familiar?

Jade:

Oh, Noel. It’s College Day…today…are you sure?

Kevin:

(Throwing out his arms in exasperation)

Same day every year! You cannot have forgotten…I don’t believe you could have forgotten! Are you high?

(Jade and James turn to each other. They shrug their shoulders as if not understanding the question. They even shake their heads before turning back to Kevin.)

Jade:

We don’t do drugs.

Kevin:

Sometimes I wonder.

James:

(Raising his hand to get everyone’s attention)

I thought about it. Couldn’t decide which drug to take though…too many choices…ended up not doing anything.

Kevin:

What a shock.

James:

(Dropping his hand back down)

What’s that supposed to mean?

Kevin:

What’s that…seriously…when do you make a choice?

James:

I…this morning…for breakfast…

Kevin:

You had cereal—no waffles, no pancakes, not even a bit of toast, just the same cereal you’ve had since I started living with you.

James:

I like cereal.

Kevin:

But why don’t you switch it up…get a piece of bread, put butter on it, go crazy.

James:

I could, but…but what kind of butter, and…and what kind of bread? There’s wheat…white…wheat and white…I hear they’re putting raisins on some slices and…how could you ever pick what’s the best? What if I…

Kevin:

Are you…are you still playing the game I told you to play?

James:

(Looking down at the controller)

I…it’s a fun game.

Kevin:

But you could have done something else, anything else! Just choose…anything at all…and if you’re wrong that’s okay! It’s what happens! We choose…we make mistakes…we’re able to change our minds!

James:

I don’t like mistakes…mistake’s lead to hurt and...

Kevin:

Dear lord! We learn from our mistakes…it helps us to be better at making a choice the next time! At the very minimum…

Jade:

(Closing her book with a heavy thud)

Lay off. If he wants to keep his options open I say…

Kevin:

(Pointing at Jade)

And you…are you still reading the same novel I’ve seen in your hands for the past two years?

Jade:

(Nervously looking down at what is closed in her lap)

I like this.

Kevin:

(Dropping his arm)

I know. I gave it to you. You didn’t choose to read it, I told you to read it, and now you never stop looking at it.

Jade:

I…I don’t want to stop reading.

Kevin:

But it’s the first in a trilogy…the first. Pick up the second, or skip to the third. They’re even making movies of them now…go out and see them.

Jade:

The sequels might suck, and…and the movies…I’d have to choose a day…a time…I don’t think…

Kevin:

Whatever, how about another book? Just pick something that looks interesting and…

Jade:

(Looking at Kevin)

If you could pick it out for me…

Kevin:

Forget it! Just forget it! So, are either of you coming? There is one bit of competition left, the Bronze and Violet Teams are about to put on their plays. Some support for my Bronze side would be nice and…

James:

What’s the Bronze side?

Kevin:

(Throwing out his arms again. This time to present the yellow clothes he is wearing)

The frats, sororities, the artists and the science geeks…I told you we split the campus into two sides, well, those sides are the Bronze side—my side—and the Violet side, they’re the enemies.

James:

(Propping himself up on the couch to get a better look at Kevin)

You look yellow…or gold…you should call your side the gold—

Kevin:

(Looking at what he is wearing)

This is Bronze…Bronze! Or…okay, maybe a few too many washings took out the darker aspects, but I’m Bronze and I’m telling you to come outside. You can support my team, or the other, but come outside. You can’t sit here and do…

James:

We pick sides?

Kevin:

Its two choices…one or the other…it’s not a lot of work.

James:

Just two…are you sure? I don’t like to be surprised.

Kevin:

Okay, there is a third side, the Green side, but that’s the side that doesn’t care about whether the Bronze, or the Violet, win anything. They don’t put on a show, they don’t compete in any other event, they just sit back and…and…you know what…you are the Green side. Come out, be Green, don’t choose Bronze, or Violet, just come out. Watch as Bronze wins again.

Jade:

(Her book is back open as she is again reading without any interest)

Wins what?

Kevin:

(Shaking his head in disgust)

Never mind! Just…just never mind! Don’t be Green…don’t pull for me or my team! How about I make another choice for you Jade, for you too James, stay here, the both of you! Don’t do anything! I don’t want either of you to spoil my night as my team wins the College Cup!

(Kevin storms out of the apartment. A door is heard as it opens and shuts rather loudly. James collapses back into the couch and looks once more at the TV.)

James:

What do you think?

Jade:

About what,

James:

Starting over, but this menu screen does look nice. I just…

Jade:

Don’t jump into anything you’ll regret. It is always better to keep your options open.

End

Scene 02:

Int. Apartment of Jade, James, and Kevin.

(It is now late at night. Many hours have passed since Kevin took off, but not much has changed. James still is lying on the couch. Jade still sits across from him with a book in her lap. However, every now and again she does turn as we hear noise that must be coming from somewhere outside—through that one apartment window. But Jade hardly pays it any mind as we notice that there is one major change from when we last saw her and James. James is asleep. But the TV remains on. Its screen is filled with the same menu as before.)

James:

(Yawning, stretching, and opening his eyes)

What…how long was I out?

Jade:

(Her head low and deep into her novel)

Don’t know…three hours, maybe four? I thought about looking at a clock, but I couldn’t decide whether to use the one in my room, or the one in the kitchen. It’s been a while.

(A loud yell, a harsh bark of “You stole it…I’ll kill you,” flies out into the night. James doesn’t turn his head. Neither does Jade. James is back to looking at the TV. Jade flips another page of her novel.)

James:

What was that?

Jade:

Started a while ago…it was all excitement, and songs, but then it turned into this.

James:

What songs?

Jade:

Songs…well…I think it was…

(Music rises from somewhere in the apartment. It is a familiar melody. James nods along as if music coming from the heavens is completely normal. Jade, however, seems on the verge of rising out of her chair, her book now closed and a light is in her eyes. But, suddenly, she shakes her head. The music abruptly stops.)

Jade:

No, that wasn’t it. Maybe it was…

(Again, music rises in the apartment. It is once more something familiar, and James keeps nodding. Jade too is about to rise back up, her book still closed, that light returning to her eyes. But, suddenly, she shakes her head again. The music stops.)

James:

(Turning to her)

What are you doing?

Jade:

The music, I was going to sing what they were singing. I think it was...or it could have been…

James:

You can sing?

Jade:

(Her novel is back open and she is once more buried behind it)

I don’t…well maybe…I mean I could. You think Kevin would want me to sing?

James:

But what would you sing?

Jade:

I don’t know. Outside they were singing about love and acceptance…or was it being accepting of love…or maybe it was just about how people should accept one another lovingly…it was all so different. But they were singing and maybe…

(We hear noise from off stage. But it isn’t any song. It’s horrible shouting.)

James:

(Turning back to the TV)

Sounds like yelling.

Jade:

That started a while ago. I’m not sure…

(Another noise, this time a door opening and closing, can be heard as Kevin once more appears. He looks terrible, his yellow clothes torn and shredded. Half of one pant leg is gone, his shirt is barely clinging to him by the merest of threads. He is covered in blood, and there is a weird malevolent gleam on his face. James and Jade again barely pay him any mind, but, now, he doesn’t seem bothered. He walks out from behind the couch and stands before Jade.)

Kevin:

They tried to steal it. We had the better play…it was obvious…but they must have paid the judges. They stole…took what was ours and…these hands…I’ve done so much with these hands.

(Jade finally stares at Kevin.)

Jade:

Oh, my god! I’ m so glad you’re here. Do you know what they were singing a while ago? James was asleep and…

(Kevin looks down at his hands before he stares back at Jade.)

Kevin:

Did you hear me…these hands have…the Violet side…get up! Get up now!

(Kevin points at Jade and at James. They both look at each other and shrug. They slowly get to their feet.)

Kevin:

Come to the window…come on!

(Kevin leads them to the side of the apartment where their one window is. They all stand in front of it as Kevin points out before him. We cannot see what he is pointing at)

Jade:

(She looks intently outside)

What are all those people doing with swords? And why are they dressed in purple?

Kevin:

That’s Violet.

Jade:

Looks purple…and you still look yellow…and those people also look like they’re in yellow and…and why do they have axes?

Kevin:

Its Bronze…I’m in Bronze, and they’re in Violet, and we have weapons because we’ve made a choice. We’ve chosen sides, and the day has come…as I knew it would.

James:

You knew this day would come?

Kevin:

Yes, the day of reckoning when all those who picked Bronze or Violet would have to fight in order to truly claim a victor. No longer any plays—any other event—we always knew there had to be blood.

James:

Actually…um…I’m not so sure I ever thought there would be blood. In fact, I’m not…we’re still on Noel campus right? When did Noel get so violent?

(Jade is still looking out the window. Suddenly she shrieks, and points towards things we still cannot see.)

Jade:

Oh god…oh god…they’re fighting!

James:

Yeah…wow…I did not know a head could pop off like that.

Kevin:

It can, and more heads will roll. Stay here.

(Kevin stomps away, into other rooms we also cannot see, as James and Jade continue to watch the festivities. Kevin returns soon carrying a sword and two axes. He gets Jade and James’ attention. Reluctantly they turn from the window as he hands the axes to them.)

James:

You were prepared.

Kevin:

Always, since the day I first chose Bronze. When the honor of being a part of that side was placed upon my shoulders I knew that to the death…

James:

(He shakes his head, and turns to look back outside)

You know, suddenly, keeping my options open is starting to sound like the better plan.

Jade:

I’m with James. We’re definitely on that third side…that blue thing you mentioned…

Kevin:

The Green side, you’re still a Green side? There is no Green side today my friends! Today destiny holds us to her bosom as we walk hand and hand into a future that has always been…

(James points out the window.)

James:

Holy…that girl just pulled out a yellow shirted guys’ throat with her teeth…her teeth! You’ve got to see this!

(Jade turns to look more closely out the window, but Kevin huffs in exasperation.)

Kevin:

Guys, I was making a point.

Jade:

I know…we heard. Something about a girl named Destiny, and her breasts…I’m not sure what that has to do with…

Kevin:

Not breasts…bosom…the bosom of…

James:

Kevin, stop with your obsession with boobs! Your yellow side is getting tore up!

(Kevin finally turns as well, his face going wide with shock and outrage.)

Kevin:

It’s Bronze…I’m the Bronze side! And you must choose, you can’t just be Green, not anymore! I’m going outside to victory! Victory! We had the better play, we won more events, but they cheated…they did…and now is the time for them to die! Choose my friends! Choose before glory is taken only by those who are Bronze!

(Kevin runs off stage, towards where the apartment door must be, his sword held high as he screams a battle cry of rage. Jade and James continue to stare out the window.)

James:

You catch that?

Jade:

Something about a play…maybe a girl named Gloria…I don’t know.

James:

Yeah, you think he’s lonely? Since when did Kevin become so fixated on dating?

Jade:

I don’t know…and who were all those chicks any…

James:

Wait…wait…maybe he was talking about us? That whole Bronze, Violet, maybe Green thing…you think that was it?

Jade:

Maybe…makes more sense…what do you…

(James points out the window.)

James:

Well, there’s Kevin. We can yell down and ask him to clari…oh, oh well no…now he’s dead. Man, that girl really does like to rip out throats with her teeth. Tough little thing isn’t…and there goes her head. Everyone is dying out there.

Jade:

Actually, I think everyone is dead out there.

(James brings up a hand. It is clear he is slowly counting.)

James:

Dead body…dead body…wait…wait, the one that got the throat ripper, he is still moving…he’s…no…no, she gutted him right before he got her with his axe. Yeah, he’s gone. They’re all dead.

Jade:

So, all the gold…

James:

Yellow…

Jade:

Okay yellow…

James:

Or was it Bronze?

Jade:

Okay, Bronze! All the Bronze and purple…

James:

That was Violet…

Jade:

Whatever…they’re dead is the point! Kevin’s side…the other side…everyone is dead…maybe everyone on campus is dead. What do we do now?

(James scratches his head, realizing as he does that he still holds the axe that Kevin gave him.)

James:

(Dropping the axe to the floor)

Kevin was telling us to pick something…I’m sure of it. He wanted us to choose a side, right?

Jade:

(Seeing what James has done and dropping her axe as well)

Yeah, pick the Bronze, or the Violet, or the…or the blue…

James:

I think it was Green.

Jade:

Okay, the Green side. He wanted us to choose.

James:

But the Bronze and Violet are all dead so…hey, this is easy! We are the Green side! We’ve chosen something!

Jade:

We have? That wasn’t so bad! We’re Green! Now that everyone else is dead it just makes sense! We’re Green!

James:

I guess we are.

Jade:

Great! Well…well what do you want to do now?

James:

I don’t know? We could stay here, or go sit back down?

Jade:

It is better to keep your options open.

James:

I know, but…but what do you want to do?

Jade:

Don’t know…I wish Kevin was here.

(We keep staring at Jade and James as they look only out the window.)

End

Script
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.