Fiction logo

The Green Mist

Green lights

By Jana MorinPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

The Green Mist

Green Light

We lived in Winnipeg, Manitoba, that is where I was born in 1971. I remember things that a baby would not normally know. I knew about the hospital where I was born, before I was born. The Misrecordia Hospital, my mom took a bus to go for a doctor appointment as she was pregnant with me, I was still in her belly, but I remember the sights, the sounds of the humming of the bus. I could smell the smoke from a man waiting at the bus stop, at the hospital as my mom got off for her appointment. I could smell the sanitation of the hospital. I heard the voice of her doctor as he spoke to her, I don’t remember what he said before he examined her. He was an older doctor with a soft, gentle voice.

This is where it began. As a child, I remembered where we lived in Winnipeg. We lived in an older brown house. We had a cat names scruffy, he liked to chew electrical cords. One Christmas, he chewed the light cord of the Christmas tree and chewed through the cord and gave himself quite a shock! He flew 3 feet in the air behind the couch. My mom and dad were startled but laughed afterwards. The cat was ok. He didn’t chew on the electrical cords anymore. I remember the next summer where my mom and dad bought me a pool. They set it in the back yard. In the back yard, mom had flowers growing everywhere. It was my job to help her water her flowers. I remember watering the flowers and looking at the end of the sprayer on the end of the hose, it was green and flat and had alot of holes. My dad worked with the bank, so he was gone during the days as mom stayed home with me. I was 1 when we lived in our brown house.

I was a child that did not speak, only make sounds. My mom took me to the doctor at the Misrecordia Hospital to see why I couldn’t speak. The doctor checks me over and says he knows what the problem is. I was tongue tied. An appointment was made for me to have a small surgery done so I could speak. I was two and a half years old. We had moved to St. Bonivista area of Winnipeg. I remember the houses. They were 2 story houses on each side of the road. At the end of the road, there was an old school. We lived on the top of one of the houses, above an older lady. We got another cat. I don’t remember what its name was. I used to have an old baby carriage, the one with the big wheels and you could pull the top over to protect the child from the elements. I would put my cat in the carriage and watch it go down the stairs, bouncing in the carriage, meowing. I was a curious, child. One night, my mom and dad were arguing, I was upset and trying to sleep in my little bed, I still couldn’t speak. I wanted to tell them to be quiet so that I could sleep. I went into the closet, grabbed a coat hanger and ripped out the skin inbetween my tongue and the bottom of my mouth. Then with blood down my face, I kindly asked my mom and dad to be quiet, as I was trying to sleep and their yelling was keeping me awake. They were so shocked to see me speaking perfect English and with a little blood running down my face, they stopped their argument. My mom came rushing into my room and stared at me for awhile. I was fine, she took me to the doctor the next day, the doctor asked me how I felt? I said, I felt fine doctor and he gave me a clean bill of health. He was happy that I didn’t hurt myself and was also happy that I could speak. I was 3 years old.

About a month later, something strange happened. It was something I didn’t understand or know what happened. I still can’t explain it today, I can only speculate that it was a dream, a very vivid dream. I went to sleep in my bed as usual, at my usual time. Mom and dad were watching tv or something. Everything was quiet, until it happened. I had a unicorn rocking horse in my room that my uncle Bill had made. I also had a creepy clown sitting on a chair in the corner of my room (I always hated that clown, it creeped me out!). I was sleeping, then all of a sudden, my window opened and there was a green mist that shrouded everything in my room. The green mist had spots of light dancing through it. It was transparent and could see through it. The green lights didn’t scare me it was calming and made me feel safe, not afraid. The creepy clown came to life and stood up and looked at me. As I thought, this is a dream it isn’t real as I rubbed my sleepy eyes. The clown spoke to me, he asked me if I would like to take a ride on my unicorn. I said to him, that the horse wasn’t real. He said really? Well look, the unicorn got off of his rocker and turned and looked at me and asked me if I wanted to get on his back. All the while, there was a green mist in my room enveloping the unicorn, my clown doll and my other little dollies. I asked “Where will you take me?”. They said that they wanted to show me something special. If I got on my unicorn, they would take me to a special place. I asked “Where?”. They said, you will see. So I did, I got on the unicorn and with the clown, we went out my window. I remember looking down on the streets and lights of Winnipeg. The green lights and mist seemed to envelope me as I rode my unicorn through the sky. The clown says to me, rest now as I hugged the neck of my unicorn and drifted off. I woke up in the morning again, in my bed. The window was still open! I was three and half years old. It’s funny how I can remember so long ago. Was it real, or was it a dream, or was it something else? I do have uncanny abilities to be able to do things that no other human can. I have powers, I have telekinesis, telepathy, and I am really strong. I can read people’s minds and have skills that no one can match. Anything I do in my life, I excel greatly. It will be a mystery that can never be understood. Maybe the only way to understand what happened to me at 3.5 years old is to undergo transgressional hypnotherapy. Maybe then my questions about that night may be answered.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Jana Morin

My first passion has been to write. The second passion is to travel. I wonder if I would be able to join those two together and make a new career change in my life? My family is important to me...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.