Fiction logo

The Great Cookie Capper

Humours story

By Pavithra SPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
The Great Cookie Capper
Photo by No Revisions on Unsplash

It was a hot summer day in the city, and I had just finished my shift at the bakery. As a young baker's assistant, I was used to spending my days mixing dough, baking bread, and whipping up pastries for the customers. But on this particular day, something strange was happening at the bakery.

As I walked through the back door, I could smell the sweet scent of freshly baked cookies. But there was something off about the aroma - it wasn't just the usual sugar and butter. There was a hint of something else in the air, something savory and pungent. I couldn't quite put my finger on it, but it made my stomach turn.

"Hey, what's going on?" I asked the head baker, who was busy pulling a tray of cookies out of the oven.

"Oh, just a little experiment," she said with a grin. "I decided to try adding some cheese to the cookie dough. What do you think?"

I took a deep breath and tentatively took a bite of the cookie. My taste buds were confused - the buttery sweetness of the cookie was there, but so was a sharp tang of cheddar cheese. It was an unusual flavor combination, to say the least.

"It's...interesting," I said diplomatically, trying to mask my distaste.

The head baker shrugged. "Well, I figured we could use something new to spice things up around here. We've been making the same old cookies for years."

Little did she know, her "little experiment" was about to turn into a full-blown cookie caper.

The next morning, when I arrived at the bakery, I noticed that something was off. There were a few trays of cookies missing from the display case, and the head baker seemed unusually flustered.

"Did you notice anything strange last night?" she asked me nervously.

I shook my head. "No, why?"

She hesitated for a moment, then leaned in close to whisper in my ear. "Someone stole a batch of cookies. And not just any cookies - the experimental cheese ones."

My eyes widened in surprise. "Are you serious? Who would do something like that?"

The head baker shook her head, looking genuinely perplexed. "I have no idea. But I'm worried. What if they try to sell them or something? We can't have our customers eating those - they're not even tested for safety!"

We spent the next few days on high alert, keeping an eye out for any suspicious activity. But as the days turned into weeks, nothing else happened. The missing cookies remained a mystery.

Until one day, when I was walking through the park on my lunch break, I spotted a familiar sight - a food truck with the same logo as our bakery. I couldn't believe it - someone had stolen our experimental cookies and was selling them on the street!

I quickly approached the truck, trying to keep my cool. "Excuse me, can I ask where you got those cookies?"

The man behind the counter looked up at me, clearly taken aback. "Uh, what cookies?"

I pointed to the tray of cheesy cookies on the counter. "Those. They look just like the ones we make at the bakery."

The man hesitated for a moment, then shrugged. "Oh, those. Yeah, I got them from some guy who said he was a baker. They're pretty good, actually."

I couldn't believe it - someone had not only stolen our experimental cookies, but was making a profit off of them! I knew I had to act fast to put an end tothis cookie caper.

I quickly bought a few cookies and rushed back to the bakery to show them to the head baker. She was horrified to see her experimental recipe being sold on the street, and we knew we had to take action.

We called the police, who took the matter seriously despite our initial doubts about their response to a cookie theft. They tracked down the food truck and the man who had sold them the cookies. It turned out that he was a thief who had been targeting small businesses in the area, stealing their recipes and selling them on the street.

Thanks to our efforts, the thief was caught and brought to justice. And while we never did recover the stolen cookies, we learned an important lesson about the power of experimentation and the importance of protecting our intellectual property.

As for the cheesy cookies, well, they never really caught on with our customers. But the head baker never stopped experimenting, and eventually she came up with a new recipe that did take the world by storm - a sweet and savory combination that featured bacon and maple syrup. It may not have been as bizarre as the cheese cookies, but it was a hit nonetheless.

Looking back on the great cookie caper, I can't help but laugh at the absurdity of it all. Who knew that a simple experiment in the bakery could lead to such a wild adventure? But that's the beauty of life - you never know what unexpected twists and turns await you, even in the seemingly mundane world of baking.

Humor
Like

About the Creator

Pavithra S

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.