Fiction logo

The Grand Era: Beginning of the End

Chapter 1: The Camp

By James StacksPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Grand Era: Beginning of the End
Photo by Joel Gaff on Unsplash

It was early morning, the birds were starting to wake up. We were crouching in the forest’s vegetation, and approaching the camp entrance, careful not to alert the goblins guarding the entrance. The border fences were crood but lined with stolen pots and pans, crossing them would raise alarm; we wanted to get in and out with as little combat as possible. What’s more, the stench of their waste heaps made my nose burn. I tried to spot Elander to my left, but he was nowhere in sight. What they say about the stealth abilities of wood elves is true. We had been in the same training group for the last 3 years, and this was our last mission before we were accepted into the order.

We were sent here to exterminate a pack of rogue goblins that have been attacking caravans and travelers. A team of five composed of Elander the wood elf, Shethi the lizardman, Dis the Winged-folk, Zanna and me, Alwyn, two humans. Shethi, a paladin, a melee class blessed with holy ability, and I, a warrior, a melee class that possesses more weapon training than any other, handled the close combat for the group. Our job was to keep the enemy from reaching the rear lines. Dis was our radia mage, specializing in scouting and support magics to help us hold the line. Zanna was an elemental mage, her specialty was fire magic, and Elander was our ranger; their job was to attack the enemy at range. Together we cover each other's weaknesses and benefit from each others’ strengths. We have gone through many trials, and worked hard to become a synchronised force. We were ready.

Shethi was the appointed leader, and we moved once he gave his signal. A bird call pierced the silent air; a bird that isn’t native to this region. We moved in. We’d watched this place for the last few days; they were getting ready for a guard change, those out front would be tired. Two were in sight: one leaning on a post, and the other sitting on a small stump. An arrow flew from Elander’s position, pierced the neck and pinned him to the post he was leaning on. From Shethi a javelin the other guard in the chest. They died quickly and quietly. Elander, Shethi and I emerged from the tree line and approached the camp. I looked back and saw Zanna follow, with Dis hanging back. Dis had cast the spell Soul Sense, a spell used to, as the name implies, detect the life force of anything in an area of focus, and counted 9 individuals. Two down, seven to go.

“You ready for this, Smooth skin?” Shithi whispered over.

“More than you, Scaly,” I called back. These sorts of nicknames are pretty common in parties and groups of adventurers and warriors. We all make jokes about each other, just part of the fun; except for Zanna, she hates it when we give her nicknames, which just makes it all the more fun.

“Dis,” I called, “Are the numbers the same.”

“No, there’s one more,” she replied, “Could be a prisoner.”

“Maybe, but these are goblins,” Shithi stated, “whatever it is, we’ll handle it.”

I believed him. He had good instincts and he’s led us through all our training missions. What’s another goblin when we already killed two? The goblins should be going to sleep by now; they’re a nocturnal race and dawn has arrived. The closer we got the worse the smell became, and as we crossed the threshold it was near unbearable. There was only one target visible. His back was to us and he was minding the dying campfire. By the time I looked over to him, Shethi had already thrown his javelin he retrieved from the guard. It pierced the goblin between the shoulders and he fell forward into the embers, causing glowing sparks to fly up. The smell of burnt flesh and the sound of sizzling fat filled the air. Three down, six to go; plus the newcomer.

From there we split up, one to each tent aside from the largest at the other end of the camp. The tent I entered was the closest to the left of the camp entrance. When I entered there were two goblins, both asleep on animal skins on the floor. I drew my hunting knife, a keepsake from my childhood in the woodlands on the borders of the Ice Realm. I thrust it down into their foreheads, one after the other. Upon closer inspection, the pelts were from gray wolves and in good condition, so I decided to take them and sell them once we got back into town. When I exited the tent Shithi and Elander were already out.

Shithi approached the dying fire and retrieved the javelin from the burning corpse, the blade head coated in scorched blood and tissue. He looked down at it despondently, knowing that it would require a thorough cleaning. He looked over at me and smirked, saying

“What are you going to do with those?” gesturing at the wolf pelts with the javelin.

“I can probably get a silver coin for the both of them, more if you don’t claim the ones from your tent.”

“Those are a bit messier than yours,” he replied, resting his palm on the pommel of the long sword, sheathed at his hip.

I clicked my tongue, “Wasted opportunity. What about yours?” I asked, now looking to Elander.

“I would rather use them myself. Make leather,” he responded.

“You know, once we finish this mission, we’ll be in the guard. You won’t have to make your own clothes or equipment,” I told him in a slightly mocking tone.

“I’m aware,” he replied, “I like to hold to the customs of my people. I notice you still carry that crood hunting knife,” he said, mirroring my tone.

“Fair enough,” I said.

“Are you quite done?”

We looked to the entrance and saw Zanna and Dis standing at the entrance. Zanna always thought it her place to act like the older sister of the group; telling the rest of us off when we bickered or made a mistake. Deep down though, you could always tell she cared.

“We are,” answered Shithi. “Let’s finish what we started.”

In tandem, we moved toward the last tent; towards the last obstacle before we joined the Platinum Guard.

FantasyAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.