Fiction logo

The Golden Locket

A dystopian love story

By Lucifer DivinitasPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 9 min read
2
Scavenger's Home

THE BALLOON

A land strider billowing steam like angry dragons comes to a halt in front of a small three-story Victorian home. Scavenger, a young man the age of twelve, jumps out, grabs some items from the strider, and runs into the house. As he enters, his grandma yells “Shoes”. “Have you seen Granda Gran?” Scavenger asks, “He’s out back playing around with that balloon of his”, says Gran. Scavenger begins to head to the back door but is stopped dead in his tracks by Gran’s evil eye. “Oi, not with those boots on you won’t.”, says Gran. Scavenger looks down at his dirty boot, turns, and runs back out the front. As Scavenger rounds the corner he sees his granda working on the basket of an air balloon half-filled with hot air. “Granda!” yells Scavenger. Granda turns toward Scavenger “Aye, there you are boy. Did you have a successful hunt?” Scavenger proudly shows off his treasure. “Aye, a welding torch and propane tank. Well done boy.”, says Granda. “Are you taking her up today?”, asks Scavenger, “Aye I believe I will. I’m just finishing some tuning on the engine.”

“Did you find any other treasures out there?”, asks Granda. “Aye, I found a corset for Miss Woods and some tools for Mister Fields.”, says Scavenger. “Aye those are some fine gifts.”, says Granda. “Why don’t you pay them a visit and by the time you get back the old girl should be ready for a float about.” Scavenger nods and rushes back toward the strider.

MISS WOOD

As Scavenger pulls up, he sees Miss Wood painting her plants with a paintbrush in her atrium. She notices Scavenger’s arrival and comes out to greet him. “Oh Scavenger my boy”, says Miss wood. ”What a pleasant surprise.” Scavenger jumps out of the strider. “Hello, Miss Wood. I hope I wasn’t interrupting.”, says Scavenger. “Non-sense, I was just pollinating the girls. Since the honey bees all died off it’s become quite the bother. I never thought I’d miss those little buggers. So what brings you by to visit with this old thespian?” Scavenger pulls out a black and red corset. Miss Wood’s face lights up. “Oh, that’s a beautiful thing you have there.” Miss Wood takes the corset and holds it up to herself. “What a beautiful gift lad. My others are getting a little long in the tooth just like me. This one seems to be in great shape.” Miss Wood throws open her arms and gives Scavenger a big bear hug. “You have to come inside for tea and biscuits. My plums turned out quite nice this year and I made some excellent jam.” Scavenger smiles “Of course Miss Wood”.

Go ahead and clear those books off that table and I’ll put the kettle on.” As Scavenger clears off the table the hearts shaped locket falls from his pocket. He picks it up and sits down. Opening it up he reads the inscription. “I can see Heaven through your eyes.” Miss Wood comes back from putting on the kettle. “What do have there Scavenger?”, asks Miss Wood. “A locket I found. Do you know this woman?”, says Scavenger handing her the found treasure. Miss Wood pulls out her glasses and examines the locket. “Hmm can’t say I do.”, says Miss Wood “Where did you say you found this?” Scavenger points east “Eastward. About ten Kilometer.” Miss Wood hands the locket back to Scavenger. “I think Mr. Fields might know. Perhaps you can pay him a visit. Now want sort of tea would you like? I have mint or black.” Scavenger takes the locket back. “Black tea please.”, says Scavenger. “Black teas it is.”, says Miss Woods as she heads back to the kitchen.

As Miss Wood prepares the tea. She hears Scavenger’s question from the tea room. “The inscription says I can see Heaven in your eyes. Do you think I’ll ever see heaven in someone’s eyes?” A dark sadness comes over Miss Wood. So much so she has to brace herself against the counter. “That’s...”, she has to stop herself from talking through tears. “That’s something you should ask your granda boy. I’m an old maid. What would I know about such things?” Miss Woods enters with a tray filled with tea and biscuits. “Do you think this woman is still alive?”, asks Scavenger. “Hard to say.”, says Miss Wood “I would say you shouldn’t hold out much hope for it. Now put that away and try some of my plum jam.

MRS. FIELDS

As Scavenger pulls up to Mr. Field’s house he can hear him cursing his latest creation. Scavenger stands at the opening of Mr. Field’s workshop and yells in. “Mr. Field it’s Scavenger!” A wild-haired old man wearing a pair of coke bottled goggles pops his head out. “Scavenger my boy. What the bloody hell are you doing here son?” Scavenger holds up A toolbox for him to examine. “I found something for you out in the bush.” Mr. Field takes the box and opens it examining the contents. “Aye boy, you are well named. This is a true treasure indeed. I thank ye.” Scavenger smile “My pleasure Mr. Fields.”, say Scavenger. “Is there anything you need from me?”, asks Mr. Fields. Scavenger pulls out the locket and shows Mr. Fields the picture inside. “Have you ever seen this woman?”, says Scavenger. Mr. Fields takes the locket and examines the picture closer. “Aye lad, that’s Mary Moore. I haven’t seen her in ages.”, says Mr. Fields. “Do you think she’s dead?”, asks Scavenger. “I don’t rightly know.”, says Mr. Fields. “The last I heard she was living in that town south of here.” Scavenger smiles as he takes the locket back. “Why do you want to know boy?”, asks Mr. Fields. “I just thought she might like the locket back.”, says Scavenger. “You're a fine lad.”, says Mr. Fields. “Can I do anything else for you?” Scavenger ponders “Do You have any more fuel?”, says Scavenger. “Sorry boy you’re catching me at a bad time for that.”, says Mr. Fields. “I’ll have some ready in a few days. Well, I have to get back to cursing this Bloody machine. Stay safe boy.” Mr. Fields walks back to his shop. Placing the locket back in his pocket, Scavenger jumps back in his strider and heads back home.

HOME IS WHERE THE HEART IS

Scavenger ponders his fate as he enters the house. Granda notices his sour demeanor. “What’s got you in such a state boy?”, asks Granda. “Do you think I will ever find love Granda?”, asks Scavenger “Of course we love you boy.”, says Granda. “I mean romantic love.”, says Scavenger. Granda appears shaken by the question. He looks over a Gran. She turns away trying to hide her tears. “Well boy. The bugs. They don’t let us have young ones anymore. Breeders, like your mum and dad, tend to die. You were the last young one born. There haven’t been any newborns in over a decade.”, says Granda. “Do you think I’ll die?”, asks Scavenger. Granda becomes uneasy appearing unsure of himself.“ Well....No..No you’re strong. You would have shown signs of the disease by now.”, says Granda.

Seeing that he’s not being very convincing, Granda walks over a puts his arm around Scavenger. “Romantic love isn’t all it’s made out to be boy. Your Gran farts in her sleep.”, Gran retorts from the other room. “Oi, you old goat! Don’t be telling the boy that!”, Scavenger smiles. Granda lowers his voice. “She woke the dog up out of a dead sleep one night.”, says Granda. “I heard that!”, says Gran. “You’re seventy-one women. When are you going to go deaf so I can talk behind your back proper?” Gran responds. “I’ll always hear that loud mouth of yours, James Magee. Even if I’m deaf as a rock!” Granda smile and winks at Scavenger. “Come on now boy we’ll go for a nice fly tomorrow to cheer ye up.”, says Granda. “We would have done it today, but the balloon is taking longer than expected to fill. Let's get some supper now”. Scavenger nods in agreement.

That night Scavenger barely sleeps pondering the locket over and over in his mind. He tosses and turns until he can’t take anymore.

THE FLIGHT

Exiting the house, Scavenger puts on his boots and lights up the strider’s torch to heat the water. The torch soon goes out. Checking the fuel gauge Strider discovers the tank is empty. He sits frustrated until he sees a large balloon towering over the house. He quickly jumps up, runs over, and lights the balloon engine’s torch. Checking the gauge he sees the fuel tank is full. He begins to prepare the airship. After about twenty minutes the airship begins to take off.

Erik the crow flies onto the deck and squawks. “I’ll be back before they even...” before Scavenger can finish his sentence Gran burst from the house in a rage. Now there are only two times in his life that Gran was angry enough to use his birth names and never has he heard her use all three of his names together. “Thomas Edward O’Neal, get you little bum back here RIGHT this minute!!”, screams Gran. Scavenger’s heart drops into his stomach. “I’m sorry Gran! I have to!”, says Scavenger. “I will call in Saint Peter himself to come back from the dead to beat that behind if you don’t get back here right now!”, screams Gran as the balloon slowly drifts away. “I’m sorry Gran I can’t! I’ll be back soon!” Erik squawks at the lighting storm in the distance gaining strength. “I see it.”, says Scavenger. “Well make it.”

As the winds become stronger the balloon begins to toss and turn. Scavenger attempts to keep it on course by turning the steam engine to full power. With each Kilometer traveled the storm gets closer. The lightning strikes come so rapidly that they light up the early morning sky like fireworks. Erik squawks. “I can’t turn back now!”, yells Scavenger. “I don’t even know where we are!”

The winds begin to blow the basket from side to side. The sky becomes dark. As Scavenger straps himself to the deck there is a thunderous boom so powerful it nearly knocks him off his feet. Rain begins to pour down so hard he can’t even see the bow of the airship. Another thunderous boom takes the air out of Scavenger’s lungs. Lightning strikes dance around the airship like a predator stalking its next victim. Scavenger yells out “ERIK!” Five lightning strikes hit the airship one behind the other. The last one hitting the engine which explodes knocking Scavenger off his feet. Squawking can be heard as everything goes black.

A sweet voice pierces through the timeless murky black. “Are you alive?”, asks the voice. Scavenger can feel a soft touch brush his hair away as he opens his eye. Brightness assaults his senses. “How are you feeling?”, asks the voice. As Scavenger’s eyes adjust he sees the most beautiful vision he’s ever seen. A blond girl his age stares back at him with sky blue eyes. “Are you an angel?”, asks Scavenger. The girl smiles slightly. “No. Why do you ask?”, says the girl. “Because I can see Heaven in your eyes.”.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.