Fiction logo

The Goddess And The Saint

The mirror without a soul

By Mariann CarrollPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 8 min read
Top Story - March 2023
47
The Goddess And The Saint
Photo by Jovis Aloor on Unsplash

The mirror showed reflection that wasn’t my own.

Lucy was walking in the forest when a reflection of the sun on the ground caught her eye. “ What is that shiny thing on the ground?”, Lucy spoke out loud.

Lucy noticed it was a mirror on the grass. She thought that was strange.

She exam the mirror to her surprised the mirror spoke, “ Hello , there beautiful.” Lucy started to run from being frightened by the voice in the mirror.

“ Wait young lady , come back I need your help!” The beautiful voice in the mirror shouted.

Lucy stop in her track, she did not get far from her run. She was very curious about the mirror. What can a mirror do to me in the middle of the forest. Lucy walked back to the mirror.

“ I am glad you came back. What’s your name little girl?” the voice in the mirror said.

“ I am not a little girl, you know? I am 5’8” and I am twenty years old.” Lucy answered.

“ What’s your name ? Would you like to come visit me here in the mirror? I really need your help.” The voice in the mirror pleaded.

“ Why should I help you? I have a bad feeling about this. Why don’t you show yourself?” Lucy asked the mirror.

A beautiful goddess appear in the mirror. She had the deepest blue eyes, her hair was golden red with beautiful curls. She had pink lips, very full. She smile with beautiful white teeth. The lady beauty radiant in the mirror.

“What shall I call you?” Lucy asked the lady in the mirror

“ Call me Sun Goddess.” The lady in the mirror answered.

“Why do you need my help?” She asked the lady in the mirror

“I cannot tell you unless you come visit me in this mirror.” She told Lucy.

“I cannot stay long, I have to get home for dinner. My mother is waiting for me.” She told the lady.

“ It won’t take long, Lucy. Just jump on the mirror.” The goddess tried to get Lucy to come to her.

“Why should I help you?” Lucy asked

“ You asked a lot of questions!” The goddess seem to be getting impatient with Lucy. She remember she have to be nice to get Lucy to come to her.

“Please Lucy, I need your help before it’s too late.” The goddess change tone of voice into a needy innocent voice.

This made Lucy feel sorry for the goddess in the mirror.

“ I can come back tomorrow and help you.” Lucy reply.

Lucy know it was going to be dark soon. Her mom would be worried if she did not get back home soon before dark. Her mom warn her not to stay to late in the forest which is a half a mile from her mother’s cottage. Lucy was home for her college spring break.

The goddess knew that if she push Lucy she might get spooked. She will have to wait for tomorrow.

“Ok, Lucy don’t forget to come back here tomorrow morning. I really need your help.” The goddess told Lucy patiently.

“ See you tomorrow .” Lucy promise the goddess.

Lucy went home. Lucy’s mom was seating on the porch of their cottage waiting for Lucy to come home. Cathy, Lucy mom stood up with relief . She was glad to see her daughter coming out of the forest safely.

Cathy was not sure if she should tell her daughter about the mirror in the forest.

Lucy saw her mom standing waiting for her on their porch. Lucy wave to her mom. Lucy was wondering if she should tell her mom about the mirror in the forest .

*****

Cathy was sixteen very gullible and very nice. Her family own the cottage that was near the forest. Her parents had told her never to go in the forest. She asked them why but told her it’s a family secret.

Cathy was seating on her porch reading a book. What else can a lone country girl do?

“Help me, Help me!!!!” a loud female scream came from the forest.

Cathy was concern about the terror sound of the female voice coming from the forest near by. She wonder if she should go and help? No one was home, both of her parents was at work. She was home for the summer.

The scream became louder and louder. Cathy put down her book and stop swinging from the porch swing . She put on her flip flops and head for the forest cautiously.

“ Where are you?!”, Cathy asked out loud to the screaming female voice in the forest.

“ I am stuck over here .” The voice responded.

Cathy fallow the sound of where the voice would be, it lead her to a tree with a mirror on it. A plain simple mirror. She wonder why a mirror would be in a forest?

Cathy gotten closer to the Mirror on the tree, she saw a very beautiful lady stirring back at her.

“ Who are you? Why are you in a mirror?” Cathy asked the beautiful lady in the Mirror.

“ I am the Goddess of this Mirror and I got cursed to be stuck in here unless someone comes along and help me out.” She answered.

“How can I help you out?” Cathy asked the goddess.

“Take this mirror off the tree and but it in a grassy area and jump on it three times and I will be free.” The goddess told Cathy.

Cathy always like to help and did not hesitate. She fallowed what the goddess told her to do. She ended up in the mirror in front of a man instead of the goddess.

“Who are you? Where is the beautiful goddess?” She asked the strange looking man that look like Rumpelstiltskin from the children book she read when she was a child.

“ I promise you if you help me out of here, I will grant you three wishes. My name is Old Man Robert at your service or should I say, you are at my service pretty little girl.”

“ I am not a little girl any more, sir, I am 16 years old. Just tell me what I have to do to help you. I don’t need any wishes. I am very happy as I am.” She reply.

“ First, you have to get me water from the well over there. Second, pick as many berries as you can for me. Third, I will tell you when you have fetched me those two things. Now hurry and run along.” Old Man Roberts commanded while pointing to the direction of the well.

The direction he was pointing at was dark and spooky. There were a lot of ivy covering the well and it was very foggy.

Cathy went on her way and scratched her head, where will I put the water and berries in?

She got to the well and a beautiful voice called out from the well, “Don’t stay here, you must leave immediately!”

“ I must helped the old man as I promise. I don’t know how to leave this mirror anyway.” she reply.

“If you stay in this mirror for three days you will be stuck here forever!” The voice shouted back with anger.

The well started to bleed blood instead of water. Cathy ran but she remembered she had to get berries. She was walking through the creepy forest and she finally found the berries, they look so delicious.

She tried one of the berries, she started getting dizzy and throw up blood.

Her body started to decay.

The well blood turn back to water and the water gushing out of the well. It finally reach where Cathy was lying paralyzed. The water from the well surrounded and healed her.

“You better go before Old man Robert eat you alive, jump into the well and you will be back home again.” The beautiful voice said from the water of the well.

Cathy did not question the voice but did as it said.

*****

“Lucy, I have to show you something.” Cathy told her daughter as they sat down on the porch’s swing.

Cathy took off her socks and shoe. Cathy left foot was missing three toes, the three middle toes. Lucy never saw her mother’s feet . This was the first time and she was shocked.

“Are you ok mom? What happen to your toes?” Lucy asked.

“That’s what’s going to happen to you if you go in the mirror in the forest.” Cathy told her daughter what happen to her when she was in the mirror.

“Mom, why had you never told me this?” Lucy asked.

“ I did not want you to grow up being afraid.” She told her daughter

“Mom, I will not go near that mirror again.” Lucy promise her mother

They went in and ate their supper that was already on the table.

Adventure
47

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    I am so behind on reading. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    A fantastic tale Mariann. Congratulations on your top story.

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Nice job, friend! I love this concept, what a unique take on both challenges!

  • Great work! I love the "echo" at the end of the first section...and how it transitions between the two stories :) I also sense a bit of an "echo" at the end, that ties it all togther. LOVE IT!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Charlotte Floresabout a year ago

    A simple and entertaining story. Although it didn't have much excitement, it was well described. I think it could have been written in more detail. The story ended in a hurry.

  • Mariann Carroll (Author)about a year ago

    Thank you for the hearts ,comments and enjoying my story . ❤️🌹

  • Oooo, this was such a mysterious story. Who is Old Man Robert that looks like Rumplestiltskin and disguises himself as the Sun Goddess? I'm guessing an evil entity as the Well said that Old Man Robert will eat her alive. And poor Cathy lost 3 toes. Scary. I enjoyed this story so much! Very suspenseful. And congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Dylan about a year ago

    There are a few grammatical errors in this story, however aside from that, the story itself is very intriguing and creative! Fantastic story telling!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story! 🥇Yay!!

  • Incredible piece ✨❤️😉Well Deserved Top Story❗❗❗Congratulations Mariann🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    A really interesting read. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    congratulations

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the Top Story. Well done.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story Mariann!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Wonderful top story, Mariann!

  • Karthick Rajaabout a year ago

    Nice .

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Sharing always helps a situation. Lucky young lady. Great story.

  • Excellent story and great challenge entry

  • Great story❤️✨

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Impressive & creative story!!! Loving it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.