Fiction logo

The Gift of Hell’s Survivor

A King of Evil Story

By Adam StanbridgePublished about a year ago 8 min read
2

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn’t my own. It looked like me but was free of the constraints that bound me to your world. He smiled at me from beyond the bathroom mirror.

“What I wouldn’t give to smile so freely,” I thought, remembering the horrors I had just witnessed in my bedroom.

The kami trapped in a mirror world was only smiling a moment before he ran away, pursued by demons that wanted us. Your demons! You wouldn’t be the first to say you wouldn’t do those things but I know better after having spent so much time in a living hell. If you really think about it allowing for Infinite Universe theory, there is always a version of ourselves that we are disgusted by. Usually quite a few. I just happen to be one of those versions.

So let's get the introduction out of the way. According to my Signature Library, I am known by many names and titles. Names such as Loki, Prometheus and The Arch Angel Raphael. Sadly the titles are equally grandiose. Titles such as The Creator, The OmniKing, The Hand of God and Perception Champion. But on Earth, I am known as Tobias Jones, The Failure.

I still don’t understand why my concept was “Necessary” I’m guessing it’s because what else could predate God. Whatever. I’m not exactly in a good mood as I write this in a dark, dank cave as far away from them as I could get. I digress.

The kami, dubbed “Samurai-14” haunted me for a long time. Every time I saw my reflection there was a chance he would appear. For so long the kami would synchronise to plead. It mattered not where, when or in what. Whether I was shaving in the morning, heading to the shop to get milk, or on a date to get my family off my back; if there was a reflection I might catch a glimpse of what was happening in Hell. For that reason I was not without empathy, after all, it needed its message to be heard.

“Help me or kill me” It would mouth before being dragged back into its world.

I knew there were many like him, versions of me who were less prepared. I could feel them in the multitude of realities; past, present and future; parallel and linear. I felt their pain but not just as they were tortured, no, they were in the most pain as their loved ones were tortured. In that way, we were the same. As the only one on earth who knew the hyper-dimensional war that was raging while you worked your nine-to-five, I understood the pain of those who faced the Sadow Nation.

I was well aware of the problem. There were too many universes, and to make matters worse I existed in one. In quantum warfare across infinite universes, when theology meets science, soldier meets weapon smith and perception champion meets failure; all are doomed. It weighs on me just how many I failed but not being able to clear my mind and heart during temporal convergence.

But why did I end up here? Trapped in Hell for who knows how long. How have I survived so long? How will I get out? The simple answer to all three questions, because I’m me.

As I said I was visited by the Hell Samurai many a time. Each time his clothes were tattered and his cuts and bruises constantly changing. Lacerations across his face were as disturbing as his silent screams. I was powerless to offer any lasting help in the early days but that didn’t last long. For when The Weaponsmith of The Gods takes pity on you gifts are sure to follow. So I sent him my sword, my wand and my paradox drive. The driving force behind magic is always a paradox drive or a multispell, the former being superior and mine more than any. This helped him for a while. I even saw him smile once again though this time it was filled with pain and sorrow.

OmniWar went on for years. Occasionally I would find myself caught in temporal convergence fields where my powers to alter reality grew. Perhaps not on earth as my perception lock kept things from going through any real change but I was able to alter many other realities. However, The God of Hell was too powerful and jammed the quantum fluctuations.

Eventually, it grew sick of me trying to destroy it and used all its power to pull me in as I brushed my teeth on morning. As the mirror cracked so did the world around me and everything went black as it shattered. Though five years of quantum warfare had made me sharp as my katana, the body I landed in was worn. Samurai-14 had become malnourished and withered. I realised he was relying on me to rest him when he synchronised with my reflection and he had been away for months. I burped and the foulest taste washed across my tongue. All this was a part of The God of Hell’s plan.

The first time I faced off against a Demon I was grossly unprepared. Of course, it was an archdemon sent to greet me as lesser demons watched. The battle was short as I wasn’t used to fighting face-to-face. No, I was like a magic sniper, firing spells into distant realities. So when it teleported behind me and punched me in the liver, I doubled over. Looking up past its bulking body at its snarling face I felt despair I had not known since the death of my children. After all, it was holding one of their decapitated head by the hair. It tossed Scarlet's head to me, I caught her head and held her close as I screamed.

The demons cheered as the archdemon warped behind me and plunged its sword downward. However, as I screamed as my aura released and my wings unfurled. The air pressure produced by my aura shielded me as the dark cracks in reality spread from my back and began bleeding multi-coloured fire. Everything went blank the moment after I took its head.

When I regained my senses I was standing before a field of freshly dug graves. Scarlet's name on the headstones directly in front of me. I knew then I had failed worse than I thought previously. My children and allies hadn’t just died, their souls had been trapped here. Bodies had been manifested for them to suffer. My empath systems told me it was even worse than when they had been caught in The Higher Dimensional Arcade. The multiverse that was at the centre of OmniWar.

The sun was rising when I took a deep breath and collected myself after sitting by that grave for what seemed like hours. Several weaker demons were watching from the tree lines. My eyes narrowed and the hunt began.

I had bagged close to one thousand demon heads when another archdemon found me. But I had already applied The Combat Supremacy Spell. It was a spell of my creation, it gave me increased strength, speed and skill proportional to the experience I gained. So when I defeated that archdemon my mind and body were ready for anything.

Or so I thought…

In time The God of Hell manifested. The Demon King, known by his conceptof “Doom” stood meters away. I hadn’t been so impressed by an enemy since meeting Evil Himself and stealing “The King of Evil” title from him. He glared at me hungry for human flesh.

“How did you all get here? I know demons were banished to another hyperverse eons ago.” I spat.

“You think you're the only one caught in temporal convergence?” Doom sneered.

“Touche,” I said as I readied myself, preparing to take on his immense aura as he released it.

The battle was short, I only just escaped with my life because I teleported sixteen times in quick succession. When I reached this cave I took a moment to catch my breath and heal my broken arm.

So I write this in hope that it helps whatever human finds it. I’m enchanting it with several OmniWishes so it will find you and give you all I can in the hope you can escape this world If I can’t. Rest assured if I do you will be saved and this place destroyed…

I’ve given it some thought and just escaping this place isn’t enough even if I destroy it. I’ll use two of my remaining OmniWishes to go where ever I have to in order to win OmniWar and the other to seal this hyperverse until I’m ready. I’ll try to freeze time here but I can’t promise it’ll work for long. So I leave you this, letter “The gift of Hell’s survivor”.

Fair well, I pray no one reads this.

Toby.

***

That was the last thing I did before I woke up on that pile of hay” Toby says to his allies, their eyes bulging.

“So what now?” Asked Mark.

“Obviously I’m going to find The Pheonix,” Toby replied, unsure how to refer to her now.

***

To be continued in The King Of Evil.

***

Thank you for reading a ThisIsOmniWar.com story

Series
2

About the Creator

Adam Stanbridge

All my stories are linked and are part of the same "Universe" I'm actively forging. I can also be found on OpenScreenplay, Facebook, thisisomniwar.com and of course am a member of the AWG.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    I feel like I just played a video game or something. Twists and plots abound. Really great writing.

  • Whoaaa! Kami. Samurai 14. Samurai from Hell. This story is just so creative and gripping! I loved this fantastic story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.