Fiction logo

The Getaway

Finding our love again

By EmilyPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1

We drove up the snowy, winding road toward the cozy A-frame cabin. As I Stare out the window Watching the snow-covered pine trees pass us by, the GPS informs us that we will arrive in 15 minutes; my heart is beating with excitement, and my stomach fills with butterflies in anticipation. It's our 1st getaway as a couple since we had our baby girl. We haven't had a date night together in 2 years, but grandma's in town and said she could watch her so we could have some time together.

We were lucky that this place was available typically; You have to book a registration like this a year in advance, but they had a last-minute cancelation and squeezed us in.

As I glance over at the GPS, it's only two miles left when I hear a loud pop. Then all of a sudden, we are swerving all over the road and sliding into the snow-filled bank. The whole front of the car is buried under snow.

Tim screams mary are you ok

yeah, I think so, I say as I check myself over.

Hey Tim, how are we going to get out?

Let's check the doors and see if we can open them and crawl out that way.

As we both push, nothing is happening

We're going to have to crawl out the window. I say yeah, I thought the same thing says, Tim.

It was then I realized that not only was it 35 degrees out, but I was also not dressed for crawling out windows or hiking two miles in the snow. I have dressed for sexy love-making away in a cabin kind of time.

O Lord, I mumble as I hurl my body out the window and dive face first into the snow. Ugh, I say as I wipe the snow off, I did not pack for this as I look at tim like a sad, wet puppy.

O honey, it's ok. I packed your boots and heavy coat just in case

You did! I'll give you 100 kisses when we get to the cabin; thank you for looking out for me.

No problem, darling. Here's your suite case. Are you ready?

Yup, as I had just finished tying up my boots and zipping up my jacket, I reached for Tim's hand, and we were off on our snowy winter hike.

After a few minutes, I say, this would almost be romantic if we didn't have to drag out suitcases through the snow as I give my bag a big tug. Are we almost there?

No, we've only walked half a mile. And just then, they hear a car slowing down behind them.

Hey, you two belong to the car in the ditch about a half mile back?

Yes, says Tim; we rented a cabin a little over a mile down the road, so we planned to hike there.

Nonsense, say the gentleman. Here hope in, and ill drop you off. Is it the tall A-frame on the right?

Yeah, how did you know?

I've been driving this stretch of road for almost 40 years. Sarah and peter built that house about ten years ago. They live close to the rental. I can call them up and let them know about your car. Peter has a mechanic shop in town and can fix your vehicle.

Oh wow, that would be so amazing. What a blessing we ran into you.

Oh, by the way, my name is Gary.

Nice to meet you, Gary, in Mary, and this is my Husband, Tim.

A pleasure to meet you two. Here, ill help you with your bags.

Thank you, I say as I hand it off and get into the back seat of his white Toyota 4-runner.

Tim was right behind me, and we were off to the cabin.

This has been quite a day. Thank you again for picking us up.

No problem says Gary as he slows down and pulls into the driveway.

Here you go. I hope you have a great rest of your weekend, and I'll reach out to Sarah and Peter for you. Do they have your number?

Yes, says Tim, the phone number was included in the registration

Ok, says Gary. Have a good rest of the night, and here are your bags.

Thank you again as we grab our bags, wave to Gary, and head inside.

Wow, what a crazy adventure to be alone with you, I say, and I drop my bag and jump into Tim's arms.

He drops his bag, grabs me mid-jump, and swings me around, giving me a long passionate kiss.

Let's take this upstairs says Tim looking so loving in the eyes

He scoops me up and carries me upstairs, slowly undressing me, and, as he takes off each piece of clothing, kisses my body. He then flings me onto the soft cloud-like bed and pounces on me. Where we roll in the sheets making love till there are no more sheets left on the bed.

Exhausted and happy, I crawl into Tim's arms and listen to the fire crackle as I fall asleep to the beat of his heart.

Love
1

About the Creator

Emily

Hello, I am new to writing for fun, but I am having a great time pushing myself to do the challenges to improve my creative writing with each story I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.