Fiction logo

The Game

By Rigved Vanga

By Rigved VangaPublished about a year ago 15 min read
1

Prologue

It all started on the evening of September 9, 2043. I was the new kid in town, and on days like this, I snuck into the arcade. But little did I know that this time it would change my life.

I examined the perimeter and saw that the coast was clear. I then snuck in. I noticed a new game that I had never seen before. So I began playing. After I started I felt that I couldn’t stop and eventually I made it to the final boss which was a 13-headed, 8-legged, wingless, red & black dragon. It was hard but I eventually beat the game. When the game said “Do you wish to continue,” I selected yes. I was then sucked into the game.

Chapter. 1: Entry To The Overworld

I landed flat on my face ( luckily there were clouds ). “ Thank you for saving the three realms !” a voice called. It was a rickety old man. I wanted to go to the overworld; I recognized the gate as it was for the skyworld. I knew that I was in the game by now. So when the old man asked me “Where to?” I replied “The overworld”. The old man took me there and left me on my own.

I decided to go to the closest village that I could find. I climbed up a tree and at the top, I found a small device in the shape of a plate. It had a small touch screen and instructions. I soon discovered that I could scan items with them to add them to my inventory. I also had a blank map that I could fill by scanning the land around, and also I could type some notes and make the current location I'm in a point of travel at any time I want to. I also had a health and stamina bar shown in my vision ( I had 15 stamina and 7 hearts ). There were more features that I didn’t quite understand yet

I felt that I was in part 2 of the game I played earlier at the arcade. I scanned a fallen tree branch and equipped it. I spotted a closeby village and headed there. On the way, I got into a battle with an inoblick ( small goblin-like creature ). I emerged from the battle victorious. I collected the monster parts ( ino horn, ino tooth, etc. ). I also took the monster`s weapon with me ( a traveler’s sword with 9 damage and the tree branch only did 2 damage ). I went on and soon made it to the village

Chapter. 2: Tilo Village

Upon entry to the village, I learned how to get more hearts and stamina.

I have to complete the trials across the land to reach the end and meditate at the knees of the dragon statue, then I will have more hearts or more stamina depending on which trial I complete. I traded in the monster parts for 57 OverCoins ( currency used in the overworld ). I proceeded through the village until I reached the elder`s hut. I was allowed inside the hut and asked the elder about the plate

“This is an ancient device used by the zino, they are the ancient people of the land, '' the elder told me. “ The rune feature is used to gain runes from around the land, just place your plate in the pedestal and collect the data,” “The best areas to gather data for the map are the buildings, from the top you can scan a lot of land without much effort, there is one quite near to our village if you want to try it,” “ That is all I know of the plate,” the elder said. I thanked the elder and stayed at the inn for the night at the cost of 20 OverCoins.

I woke up in the morning and used the rest of my OverCoins on flint & steel and some bundles of wood for campfires and left for the building.

Chapter. 3: The First building

I first made the village a travel point then headed for a high point to spot the building. And he did it was far north to me. I began sprinting for a while but I ran out of stamina so I stuck to walking. I then got into a fight with a rephorn ( A large carnivorous lizard-like creature ). It took a while and after I won my sword broke so I took the rephorn`s sword and parts ( 8 - strike blade 17 damage an improvement indeed ). I equipped the sword and continued. On my way there I saw an injured traveler. When I asked the traveler what happened the traveler pointed to the building and whimpered “ B-B-B-Bolus,”. I gave the traveler an apple and went on. When I reached the building the ground began shaking. Suddenly a golem of stone lept out.

Suddenly in my vision, it said “Guardian of Edgeland building Bolus” Bolus` health bar was massive. Bolus threw his massive arm at me which led to a game-over. I respawned at the traveler. This time I took him to the village to have him healed. When I turned to leave the traveler gave me something: 500 OverCoins, a wooden bow, and 3 fury arrows ( fury arrows are extremely effective against stone creatures ).

I headed back to Bolus and began a battle. I shot a fury arrow then another and it eradicated Bolus. I picked up Bolus` remains 1 ruby, 3 opals, and 7 ambers. I then scaled the building and reached the top. There I found an elaborate chest and inside were 1200 OverCoins. I then saw an atlas with a slot in the shape of a plate. I inserted the plate and the atlas started spinning. On the screen of the plate, a crooked shape appeared and inside the data of the land, there was filled. I returned to the village and shared with the elder what had happened. The elder was pleased and gave me the village`s treasure the Lenguin armor set

( total defense is 12 set bonus is low-level resist against all elements).

I then left to explore the land.

Chapter. 4: Gliders Abound

I noticed that on the plate it showed me a yellow dot that directed me where to go, it also showed me my accomplishments and quests.

I also noticed a small group of horses and a stable ( A stable is lodging where you can eat, rest, and register and edit your horse ). I decided to get myself a horse. I snuck up on one of the horses and mounted it. It started acting out so I tried and succeeded to soothe it. I then took it to the stable, registered it, and named it Koko after the plain I found it. I found out that to teleport my horse to me all I needed to do was a whistle, and most importantly for a safe descent all I needed was a glider but they are really rare.

The stable owner told me that on this very plain there was a glider owned by a merchant and the merchant dropped a piece of jade that was half green and half purple. Whoever brought the piece of jade back would get the glider as payment. I thanked the stable owner and paid him for a good night's sleep. In the morning I bought armor for my horse and gave it food to level it up to make it faster, have more spurs ( spurs are how many times your horse can gallop ), and be stronger. I set out to find the gem. I discovered a scope mode on the plate that lets you zoom in on things and used it to find the gem in the hands of an inoblick plus several others. I followed them to a monster camp with spikes surrounding it. They placed the gem in a chest that only unlocked when the entire camp was defeated. They had four lookouts each armed with bows and arrows but most of them were blowing up wood with bombs.

I shot my last fury arrow at one of the bombs that caused a chain reaction that blew up everything but three lookouts ( one lookout thought the explosions were a help signal and jumped down to his demise ). The bow of that lookout plopped into my arms and three zap arrows ( the bow was a lenguin bow 12 damage 2 arrows for the price of one, zap arrows do more damage and summon a bolt of thunder to attack the enemy ). I shot every zap arrow to eliminate the rest of the camp. I took the piece of jade and headed for the merchant who turned out to be at the stable.

I gave the merchant the gem in exchange for the glider and sold the monster parts and wood from the camp. I then hopped onto Koko and left.

Chapter. 5: Home Sweet Home

I rode on until I reached quite a massive village.

Riduno village

I read from the sign.

When I arrived I saw a house that I wanted being torn down.

I rushed over and asked if I could purchase the house. The manager said I could get it for 500,000 Overcoins. I didn’t have that much but still, I agreed. The manager was shocked and said he’d lower the price to 3,000 OverCoins but at the price of 10 bundles of wood, he said if I give him 40 bundles he’ll lower the price to 0 OverCoins. He gave me an axe and waited for me in the yard. I exited the village and began chopping wood. It took about a day but finally, I got the 40 bundles of wood and gave it to the manager. He gave me ownership of the house and left but not before giving me a bed, bookshelf, books, and item racks. I set up the mailbox and went to bed.

The following day I bought a shed and hay bales for Koko and set it up in my yard. I bought a saddle and put it on Koko and left to take a stroll through the village. I bought the essentials and purchased a dual-sided spear ( 22 damage ) and kept it equipped.

I headed to the local weapon training center and trained for a couple of hours. By the end of the day, I made my house a travel point and ate a nice meal before bed.

Chapter. 6: The Arena Of Bravery

The next day when I woke up I got onto Koko and left Riduno village.

In the distance, I saw a glowing red light and started to head for it. When I reached it I found a glowing red orb, when I touched it a side quest appeared on the plate reading:

Side quest; The Arena of Bravery

Rewards: Cored protection lv.1

Difficulty: Medium

I wondered what cored protection was so I followed the red dot on my map.

I eventually reached the arena, at the gate, there was a pedestal with a hole in the shape of an orb. I took a look in my inventory and pulled out a quest orb that I don’t remember having but I placed it on the pedestal and suddenly the gate opened. I entered the arena and on the other side, there was a dragon statue with a gate blocking it. Suddenly a furen jumped out at me ( furens are very powerful enemies, they are centaurs but with the head of a dragon, and their horn color depends on their strength ). This furen had orange horns which meant a medium level of strength but they were still formidable enemies. It swooped down at a high speed nearly a game over for me. I noticed a metal shield and equipped it to defend myself. Soon I lowered it to half hp but then it let loose a high-pitched shriek and in its hands, there were two scythes. But right then words appeared in my vision saying: Perfect guard.

I knew how to perform a perfect guard; you block an enemy’s attack at the perfect time to deal massive damage to the enemy.

The furen went to attack me with its dual scythes. But at the right moment, I performed a perfect guard to defeat it. The gate to the statue opened, and I took the scythes and equipped them ( Dual Furen Scythes 33 damage ). I walked up to the statue and meditated. Later I found myself with 9 hearts beyond 7. I pulled out my shield for practice but then I was surrounded by blue light that had to be cored protection. The arena was marked as a travel destination, and I took Koko and headed home to Riduno village.

Chapter. 7: The Divine Instrument

I soon began to hear rumors of a harp that can calm the fury of any divine mount ( divine mounts are mounts with special powers that can be registered at a stable including a dragon, griffin, lightwing furen, etc. ). It was told to be near the village but very well guarded by 11 mazes each requiring a special item to pass through. But one day someone found the mazes that were said to be in a temple that was said to appear before you when you shoot the moon with only one chance per each full moon. There was said to be something called the bow of moonlight hidden within the spirit forest on Mt. Sanuki ( the bow of moonlight deals 1,558 damage as a melee weapon and fires straight forever piercing through and dealing 1 hit K.O.s to all monsters and bosses with up to 3,000 health but the bow has extremely low durability ). I was immediately tempted to go but I knew the journey would have many difficulties where one wrong move could end it all.

The journey to Mt. Sanuki wasn’t hard but when I stepped foot on the mountain it instantly became a full moon and I lost everything that I previously had ( bows, armor, weapons, key items e.t.c. ). At the base, there was a chest which I opened and I got a weapon called the single-blow broadsword ( It destroys everything in one hit as the name implies). On the way up there was a horde of 40 rephorns but the single blow broadsword destroyed them all in one hit, after more hordes of enemies I finally reached the spirit forest and saw the bow.

When I was about to pick it up it was surrounded by dark light which transformed into a bull-like dragon composed of dark energy. In my vision, it said Moonveil Illusourn: scavenger of the dark moons. The moon overhead was a menacing black, dark moon. But there was no time to be awestruck because Moonveil Illusourn was attacking relentlessly and dodging the single-blow broadsword. I then noticed that the bow of moonlight was ripe for the picking, when I picked it up Moonveil Illusourn duplicated. But I still shot for the moon, the arrow defeated all the Illusourn and kept on going straight until it pierced the moon. All my gear and items came back without the single-strike broadsword with the bow of moonlight. All of a sudden a temple rose from underground. Sanuki divine temple was marked as the name and as a travel destination. I decided to return to Tilo Village to tell the elder about Illusourn.

I wound up at the village later to find the elder who was as usual in his hut. I told the elder all about my journey since the last time I was in the village. The elder was silent for a minute and then gave me a scroll on the legend of Illusourn which read :

Long ago in the time of the zino, there was only one village where every man, beast, and soul cooperated to make everyone’s lives better except one. That one outcast was named Illousourn; he was named by his sorcerer's parents who perished soon after his birth in a large and inevitable attack from the monsters. He made a vow one day to destroy everything even if it costs him everything. Blinded by his rage he failed to realize all he needed to destroy was the monsters. That one mistake was the reason he was defeated. For one day a brave hero rose alongside allies and carried the most sacred treasure of the zino. Their power: fury of the zino, a power so unmatchable that it provides even a slim chance of defeating Illusourn. Illusourn was defeated but only time tells when he will rise once again …

“ I know what the name of the hero is Zinor, you are Zinor!” the elder said. A huge wave of shock came over me “ I can’t be Zinor, the hero is someone else you’ve got the wrong person!” I replied. “ Only a true zino can hold that plate without burning, and no one else but Zinor can hold the plate that way!” the elder told me and by his tone, I could tell he was serious about this. But now I knew I was a zino and that I’m Zinor, but there was no reason to argue with that I knew that it was true. I suddenly remembered about the temple that holds the harp and headed straight there.

When I entered the temple I heard a voice say bow of moonlight. I didn’t understand what that meant but when I reached the end of the first maze there was a gate with a slot in the shape of the bow of moonlight. I inserted the bow in the slot and the gate opened to reveal the second maze. I took the bow back and then I heard a voice say greatlight arrow ( greatlight arrows summon a blaze of light in the direction of the target for a one-hit K.O. )

END OF PART. 1

SeriesAdventure
1

About the Creator

Rigved Vanga

Well I write about things?

That I'm interested in

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.