Fiction logo

The Frozen Romance

This another short fiction story of Lyle as a narrator about Mio, himself, Liam(his best friend), and some of Mio’s sisters are at the ice skate rink in the long thaw icy pond.

By Meghan LeVaughn Published 3 years ago 5 min read
2

It was so cold. It was as cold as ice but beautiful. When I say beautiful, I mean it's just like I watched a lot of Christmas films and even “Disney’s Frozen”, at least a few times. It was also one of my mother's favorites. Today, It was very icy at that moment. I couldn't tell how cold it was. I'd just found out that there was an ice skating rink at the biggest icy pond. This pond has had the longest thaw since late November. It was near the national park. Unfortunately, it's only during winter. I thought I could ask Mio, my lover, to go ice skating for a date. I saw her reading about the classic fairy tale by Hans Christian Anderson called “The Snow Queen.” I wonder if she and her sisters ever watched “Frozen”, one and two? “Hey, Mio?” I asked. “ Have you ever seen a movie called Frozen?” I was just curious. Mio looked assuming. “I don't think so, why?” I thought about it in my mind. Dang, it! I knew it! “Oh. I didn't know that” I was ashamed of the silly questions I asked. “What's wrong, Lyle?” Mio was concerned. “Oh nothing, ” I chuckled a bit. “Would you like to see it with me? I'll make some popcorn.” “Ok, ” Mio smiles delightfully. I smiled too. “Yes!” I whispered cheerfully. I hope she likes it, but I was looking forward to it.

Now it's about 6 pm this evening, it was just me and Mio for a while. My mom was still working at the bakery until 9 pm. I had started to make some popcorn. Then, I glazed with the avocado oil instead of that guilty savory, melting butter from the theaters. I see Mio snuggled with a soft blanket, very comfortable. She looked at me with her sweet smile, “you're coming, Lyle?” “Yeah, I got the popcorn ready, ” I responded. We are now snuggling with each other, munched some popcorn; and then, we began to watch “Frozen” part one. While the movie was still going on, I saw Mio’s tears on her cheek, between happy and sad. I can tell how sisters mean a lot to her. I think it's so important to her and even her eight sisters as well. That's what my mind, my heart, and my gut were telling me. “Can we see part two after the first one?” Mio asked. I smiled at her, “Sure.” While we’re watching Frozen 2, I looked at her delightful expression. She loved it. She also enjoyed the songs both one and two, including “Let it Go” and “Into the Unknown.” I tried to get used to this song(”Let it go” of course). But, it’s worth it. I was beginning to ask her about the ice skating rank this week. “Hey, Mio- there's an ice skate rink from the festival going on at the national park next week. Would you like to go with me?” I blushed. “Sure! That would be wonderful!” Mio sounded enthusiastic. I felt delighted and excited. So, it was all settled.

About a week later, it was 9:30 am. I was about to call Liam, my best friend, to make sure if he's getting ready. While I was talking to him on the phone, Liam was getting his puffer coat on. It was on speaker. “Liam, can you hear me?” I asked. “ Oh, hey Lyle- sorry I was getting my coat on and getting some supplies in case we need some,” Liam answered. I was about to get ready and grab some supplies as well-tissues, money, extra scarves, beeswax lip balm, & blankets. I know that the ice rink has a few hot cocoa booths and some warm pastry booths. Liam said that he's about to leave and head on to the ice rink and meet me, Mio, and her sisters there. Speaking of Mio and her sisters, they accomplished some ice skating skills a long time ago. The doorbell rang. “Ding Dong!” I hear my mom’s voice, “Honey! Could you get the door for me, please?” She was making some waffles, hash brown patties, and berries. “Ok!” I ran to the door. It was Mio and five of her sisters, Ayame, Izumi, Ume, Ran, and Yuriko. I heard the other three are taking care of something from the school. “Hi, Lyle,'' Mio smiled. We all smell my mom’s cooking. “Oh, it smells delicious, ” said Ayame. “Oh, have you guys eaten?”I asked them. “ We’re in a hurry because we're so excited,” Izumi said. We all sat down for a moment and ate some breakfast. Then, it's now 10:30ish, so we took a restroom before we left. Finally, we hit the road.

Twenty minutes later, we're finally here. We had just seen Liam at the parking area, waving at us. We see all of the people in the ice rink on the long thawed pond. We had just rented our ice skaters, got ourselves warmed up, and ready to skate. I noticed all the sisters had already skated, laughing with excitement. Liam was skating with Ayame. I can tell he really liked her, and so it's Ayame. They were smiling and having a good time so far. Mio reached by to see me, catching her breath, “Hey, Lyle. Are you coming in?” “Yeah,” I nodded. She grabbed my hand so I didn't want to fall. We held our hands and began to skate. The air was so cold. It's like the ice was through my face and my lungs. As we skate, we’re like we’re in the scene from “Xanadu” or Don Bluth’s a version of “Thumbelina”. It was beautiful as I expected. I wish it was night already because The garland lights were so lovely at night. We both laughed and skated with each other like we were almost playing tag and then another dancing. It's like we’ll be the next ice skating couple competition.

Two and a half hours later, we’re out of breath from the ice-cold breeze. We thought that we needed to settle down a bit. “Are you having a good time?” I asked Mio. “Yeah” she giggled “that was so much fun. I'm glad I came here with you.” “Me too.” I can't stop looking at Mio’s smile. I always love that she's having a good time with her gorgeous spirit. Then, I just felt my stomach rumbling. I chuckled. I think the more fun I have, I always get hungry. I had just looked at the pastry booths. “Hey, you wanna get something to eat?” “Yeah, I'm a bit hungry, ” Mio replied. We went to the booth and saw those cherry/cream cheese danish, bear claws, snickerdoodles, chocolate turnovers, and cinnamon rolls. There are so many choices. I picked that warm elegant Bear Claw and Mio wanted the warm cinnamon roll along with two hot green teas. We enjoyed warm delicious pastries. “It's so delicious! Thank you, Lyle,” said Mio, smiling cheerfully. “You're welcome, Mio”. We just sat there for a bit before we went back to the ice rink. We both smiled and giggled together. Mio and I have had a nice frozen romance so far. It was a good time.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Meghan LeVaughn

I'm Meghan. I’m 36. I always love to be creative and using my imagination since I was a little girl. I like stories & love to share my inspirations, journeys, etc.

www.twitter.com/MegsDreamDesign

www.instagram.com/meghansdreamdesigns

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.