Fiction logo

The FrostWing Chronicles

Battle of Ice, and Blood, Chapter 3

By Robert GrossPublished 2 years ago 17 min read
Like

Chapter 3- Darkness Approaching when the sun goes down

Eyrokar walked into his Chambers and found Sif asleep. “She looks like Isarnia… Arghh… Perhaps I have remained too loyal. She was the same age as Kayla when we got married. Seeing her resting is making me weary. I need to kill something.” Eyrokar growled as he left the room. As the door closed, Sif sat up in alertness.

Eyrokar makes his way through the keep and finds Leoira standing on a balcony overlooking the Frozen Ocean. He walked out behind her, “Eyrokar.” Leoira said, remaining her gaze out to the calm sea. “How did you know it was me?” Eyrokar asked; his voice was more subdued than usual. “You give off a cold aura, a cold presence. Besides, you have the loudest armor in the city. I can hear you coming my way from the other side of the city.” Leoira sighed. “You sound… displeased with me,” Eyrokar said with his normal irritated voice. “I am… you have been skulking around here for nearly twenty years and complaining about how lonesome you are! I know you lost Kayla and Isarnia. But many more women, like me, have wanted to get with you for years. I am still a virgin in hopes of gaining your attention. I want you to notice me and all my faith in you.” Leoira sighed as she looked up at the Wolvar glowing eyes. His red pupils darted down to her. “I don’t find humans attractive. I realized Kayla would want me to move on or… “include more flesh,” as she called it. She tended to use her Draconic side to cheat the ways of marriage. Said she required more females in her life. Kayla was technically Lesbian. She only married me because we were similar, and I am not fully certain about something else. We were so alike. We were Undead, killed at a young age, shunned by our kinds. We became great friends, and soon more. My relationship with her was one of trust, loyalty, and endless love. She married Aris, and Aris married Isarnia and Winter. Before I knew it, I had three additional wives. For that I… Enjoyed. I do my best to resist my male urges. You have been several times, and quite a few other girls broke me. The problem with Frost Dragons… Females must mate with a Male Frost Dragon. But they tend to potentially change mates if their current mate is not entertaining them. Males, however, like I, believe in a mate for life. I married Kayla happily. She used her Frost Dragoness blood to marry others whom I adopted as wives. I have to stop a large problem with how I am: I am possibly the last Male Frost Dragon and several Females left. I have no choice but to break free of my stupor to ensure my kind lives on. I will have to mate with my Mother, My Sister, and any Female Frost Draconian in Northwind. Kayla would love that; she likes to… experience other women. Kayla has so many different sides to her love for me, she fulfills all my needs, and I fulfill all of hers. I enjoyed having more than one wife. Especially when we all slept together, arghhh, my point is, if you truly want to love me, and not just experience this body of mine, you should speak to Sif… she is getting close.” Eyrokar growled, breaking free of his rant. He turned to leave, and Leoria placed her hands on Eyrokar’s claws; he glanced back at her. “Please don’t let me die alone.” Leoira sighed. Eyrokar yanked his claws away from her. “Then treat me like you love me, other than lusting over me,” Eyrokar said as he left.

Just on the southern parts of SpireRock Valley, The Overseer Lord amassed a massive army reading up for an attack on the Howling fields and Howlsdall. The Overseer Lord glared intently at the Wolvar city near the Ocean and FrostWing gulf. Within his mind, flashbacks to his past occupied his attention. “...My Lord. What shall we attack?” Asked a Shadowmere Demon breaking the Overseer Lord’s trance. “Soon after, they have all fallen asleep. I want them not to know we are coming.” Said the Overseer Lord. “Is everything alright, My liege?” Asked the demon. “I have not set foot in Howlsdall since I was a pup. This is saddening how that once lively city befell this current state.” The overseer Lord sighed. “General Farison has informed me of that day. Were you close to the frost family back then?” asked the Demon. “Get your troops ready for the attack. We are not here to converse. Keep an eye out for this pendant. Frost’s Daughter, Sigrune, is here. I want her alive.” The Overseer lord growled as he held out a Frostite crystal on a chain like Eyrokar’s necklace! “Will do. We shall prepare for the attack and await your order to carry it out.” Said the Demon as he walked away. The Overseer Lord’s Yellow eyes behind the Draconian Skull helmet peered heavily upon the Pendant and Darted back to the large Wooden walls of Howlsdall.

Sigrune slept restlessly in her bed, thrashing around in her sleep. Then, A loud crash awoke her. A bright light was flashing through her window! She got up and looked outside at the city under siege! “No, No, NO! Not again. Fenrir should have listened!” Sigrune growled as she rushed to get dressed and grabbed her Staff. The Legendary FrostSpire, Staff of Queen Tyrara. He ran outside her chambers and quickly to the keep. Upon arriving, she found Fenrir cowering behind the throne. “No,w do you believe me? The Thawsor can’t be trusted. I had nothing to do with this, and you can not blame me!” Sigrune growled as a fireball crashed into the keep ceiling! As the wooden ceiling began to catch ablaze, Sigrune used her powers to freeze the fire, saving Fenrir’s life! The Half Demon Wolvar stared at her in amazement. “Don’t just stand there… Deploy your forces!” Sigrune growled. She then ran out of the keep onto the main road leading to the main gate that was on fire!

The Overseer lord walked through the flames at the burning, crumbling the main gate into the City! “So, the rumors are true… Lady Sigrune still lives. Where is your father?” Ask The Overseer Lord.

Sigrune was startled by his visage but remained ready. “He is someone you don’t want to mess with. You harm me, and he will destroy everything in his path to get to you.” Sigrune growled. “I was expecting to scour the entirety of the city to find you… Instead, you walked right into my hands, little Wolf.” The Overseer lord laughed. “I am no Wolf and a Draconian, Wolvar hybrid!” Sigrune growled as she cast three Razor Ice shards at the Demon Lord! The Overseer Lord quickly acted and shot three magical bolts destroying the Shards from his legendary Bow, Shadow’s Aim! “Even after all these years, you still rely upon Frost’s magic? You are no Twister, Awoo.” The Overseer Lord laughed.

“DON’T CALL ME AN AWOO!” Sigrune snarled as she created an icy storm that rained many ice spikes around them! “I see you have learned one of your Father’s powers… a pity he isn’t here to see it himself.” The Overseer Lord growled as he grabbed the middle of the bow with both hands and pulled it apart into two twin swords! Sigrune growled, “The Weapon is not yours to wield!” She said as she grabbed the staff's top and pulled out a blade of her own! “You can best me in magic; what makes you think you can best me in dueling?” The Overseer Lord asked. “I will not let you destroy Howlsdall; this is all the home I have left. I will defend it to the very end!” Sigrune growled as she was getting worried about where the Ordinary Wolvar soldiers were. “Fenrir is not going to back you up, Sigrune. He expects you to die here. Besides… I could have killed you before the fight even started. Are you sure you want to face me in Sword combat?” The Overseer lord asked. “I will defeat you, and then I will kill him,” Sigrune growled. “It’s not in your heart to kill a Worthless life. I have heard all about you. You fail to harm the weak. Which makes you just as weak.”The Overseer Lord growled.

Sigrune roared in a Draconic manner and charged at the Demon Lord! The Overseer lord chuckled, held his swords out to his side, and clashed the blades upon Sigrune’s Sword! A Dark shockwave resonated across the ground, and Her powers instantly extinguished all nearby fires! The Overseer lord then kicked Sigrune in her stomach, causing her to stumble backward. “You have no combat training, you idiot.” The Overseer Lord laughed. “My strength is in my power, not with a Sword!” Sigrune growled as she dropped the Sword and clenched his fists, causing Shadowy chains to restrain the Overseer lord. He was not expecting her to wield Dark Fallen Powers. Instead, he had a startled look in his eyes! Sigrune pushed her fist together, and the Overseer Lord began to feel the chains constrict him, crushing his body! Sigrune’s light grey fur fizzled in and out, turning pitch black! The Overseer Lord managed to break his arm free of the chains and slash Sigrune’s Face! This made her hold of the dark chains fade! She looked up at the Overseer Lord, who readied his Bow to deliver the final blow. Sigrune was dazed from her power and teleported away! The Overseer Lord lowered his weapon. “Far more powerful than I thought… even more so than any Draconian I have fought. Ran as much as you like, Wolf. You are in my World… I will find you and Eyrokar soon enough.” The Overseer Lord growled as he fixed his eyes upon the ablaze Keep. He swung the bow over his shoulder and made way for the Keep.

He pushed open the large, heavy doors, and four Wolvar guards charged at him! The Overseer Lord stiffed his claws and plunged them into the chest of two of the guards while his wing spikes impaled the other two! As the guards dropped dead to the floor, he walked towards Fenrir, still trying to hide. “Fenrir.” The Overseer Lord said. “My Lord, your presence is most unexpected. Yet it brings me great honor.” Fenrir said, still quivering. “You have failed me for the last time. Your Daughter has conspired with Frost, and now his Daughter has escaped my grasp. The plans Lord Devarius has set in motion crumble to your audacity.” The Overseer Lord growled. “Her words were never spoken; Sigrune is a powerful Twister; she nearly defeated you!” Fenrir growled. “It would be wise for you to watch your tone with me. Sigrune is no Twister. His powers radiate from that of the Dark Fallen, and this news will be most dire for our Lord to heed. If Eyrokar managed to teach her how to harness the Darkness, she would be far too powerful in the future in her Light and Dark power format. Perhaps she could surpass the power of the council.” The Overseer lord sighed. “I have never seen her use her powers for combat. She has been a healer ever since her slut mothers were killed.” Fenrir scoffed. The Overseer Lord clenched his fist and kicked Fenrir to the ground! “You speak of Princess Kayla and Isarnia Howleron as if they made your life a living hell. You best respect them… I know what you did that fateful night. You think I am deaf and blind?” The Overseer Lord snarled. “What are you getting at?” Fenrir asked nervously on the floor. “You unleashed a weapon upon the world that night. Eyrokar is a vicious creature who is not phased by pain. Kayla, Isarnia, Winter, and Aris were all he had to soothe his undead rage. You delivered the final blow to him that night, removing his beloved Wolvar. He killed your stepfather, Habron, due to his failure to protect his late son, Drakon. He spared you that night because of his love for Sigrune, whom you treated lesser than a slave, lesser than the dirt under your paws. He has felt her suffering. He would destroy you, but he dares not return here… not yet.” The Overseer Lord said as he glared past the flames to the dark starry sky. His yellow eyes shifted to Fenrir; “There are Dark places in the world, much as the universe. I have waited for this long enough. Consider this Howleron’s Revenge.” The Overseer Lord growled as he blasted Fenrir with a fireball burning the Wolvar/Demon alive, his screams echoed across Howlsdall, and his Dying pain was reflected upon Eyrokar!

The Overseer Lord found a small dusty tome below the Throne. Kayla Aesir Howleron wrote it. He turned to the exit and left a smoldering pile of ash behind him. As the Demon lord left the Wolvar city, all the demons left with him, and much of the city was unscathed. Mostly all those who flew a FrostWing Imperial banner survived.

Sigrune arrived just outside Sharmsorn City. A sharp pain clouded her thinking ability, and she found a deep gash on her left side. The sound of a scurrying fast approached her in the cloak of darkness! She turned to face what was coming at her and saw a Death Scale! The Only predator of Dragons! Her Draconian blood attracted the beast! She was in no condition to fight the predator! She limped towards the gates of Sharmsorn, hoping her injured state would attract the guards' attention to help her escape the Demonic spider.

The Guards noticed her, then saw the terrifying beast chasing her. They ignored Sigrune and went to close the gate! Eyrokar lept out from behind the gate as it closed behind him! He looked at the massive Spider chasing his Daughter, “Something to kill… finally.” Eyrokar growled as he unsheathed his sword from underneath his cape from his back. The Blade was named Frostbite, and it is a Gemini blade, a twin of Icerune, a blade Verix stole from Eyrokar years ago. Eyrokar dashed past Sigrune, and plunged his blade into the Death scale’s head between the fangs, and ripped it in half! Eyrokar pulled his blade free from the Dead spider’s husk and walked toward Sigrune. “Sigrune? Besides the blood and your obvious pain, you have grown remarkably well… look so much like your mother. Here, Let me heal you.” Eyrokar said as he grabbed her hand and transferred her wounds to him. “Father… I missed you so much!” Sigrune cried as she hugged him. As her arms wrapped around him, he dropped Frostbite and tightly hugged Sigrune back. “You're warm… A heartbeat. I forgot what love felt like.” Eyrokar sighed. “You Overgrown Lizard. Mother would be very proud of all you have done.” Sigrune sighed tiredly. “I am proud of you, However. I can tell you are exhausted. Whatever caused you your pain can wait. Let us get you some rest.” Eyrokar sighed as he let go of his young adult Daughter. “Father, that can’t wait. Howlsdall was just attacked; this Demon called the Overseer Lord; was using Shadow’s Aim! He also wore Drakon’s Necklace as a trophy!” Sigrune growled. “Calm yourself. We can worry about this after you regain your strength and rest for a bit. Come with me; you can use my bed. Sif should already be asleep.” Eyrokar sighed. “Sif found you? I knew I could count on her! I trained her well. The Demonic Attack was most unexpected. I had…” Sigrune’s words were interrupted by her battle-worn father. “Again, you are overthinking. I have a plan, a very… stupid plan, but a plan nonetheless. After you have had something to eat and rest.” Eyrokar said as he glared outwards to the south through the Dark Forest, then to the North towards the Glacial fields. He then leads Sigrune towards the Gilded keep of Sharmsorn. “I do not like the Humans much. But they remain loyal as long as fear drives them. Although weak, Human ingenuity is quite impressive. They lack remaining stalwarts. They get complacent, just like the Wolvar did when things are going well. They get offended rather easily.” Eyrokar sighed. “You have been living here all these years? How do you stand the smell of this place?” Sigrune asked. “I tend to remain in my chambers, out of sight, out of mind,” Eyrokar growled. “So while I was enslaved, Tortured, and Beaten, you hid in a tower!?!” Sigrune growled. “Not quite; I have been building influence over the city. I am the Royal Guard Captain and have been building Sharmsorn’s army. This city is under constant Thawsorian, Dragunity watch! With all your power, you still frolic about!?! You are a Frost; being a Warrior is in your blood!” Eyrokar growled. “I do not kill mindlessly. I am not a weapon as you and Momma Kayla were.” Sigrune growled back. “I only kill those who dare threaten my family. I killed Geriothar Thawsor and four other gods before I was a teenager! I did not choose my life, but I am glad to have you, your brothers, and your mothers in it. I could not want a different life… Well, perhaps one where I died, and not your mothers. Kayla and I had a chance to take the Throne the day I killed Zarrious. We could have avoided this war getting to where it is now.” Eyrokar sighed as he covered his eyes in regret. “ I wanted to remain like everyone else; I did not see myself as a King. Yet everyone still wants me to be so. Your eldest Brother Korak may have survived his birth. Ereadus, Aris, and Winter would not have runoff!" Eyrokar sighed Crossley. “They did not leave you, Father. Ereadus took Momma Aris and Momma Winter to find you and Momma Kayla a Birthday present since your HatchDay is near her birthday. I promised Ereadus I would not tell, but twenty-eight years is a long time to go present shopping. I believe they’re dead.” Sigrune sighed. Eyrokar looked dead into her eyes. “I have not felt them die yet. I regret to believe they’re gone. Enough of this; he has larger problems to worry about now. Verix and this Overseer lord I have heard so much about are gearing up to begin a Draconian and Wolvar Hunt. My spy network has informed me of this as I was heading out to save your life.” Eyrokar sighed. “Father… I know you don’t want to. But could you sleep with me tonight? I have been too nervous even to close my eyes for the past twenty years. I need your protective hold once more.” Sigrune sighed sadly. “I can do that. I haven’t slept since I left you anyway. I could see your mother’s side of you to help me. It can reduce my stress.” Eyrokar said hopefully. “I would like that.” Sigrune said as she reached for Eyrokar’s claws and grabbed his claw into her hand. “See, not so bad.” Sigrune giggled. “You taking advantage of this, aren’t you?” Eyrokar asked. “I am half Frost Dragon, Half Wolvar. I find you attractive. But let's see if I can resist my wants long enough.” Sigrune laughed. “Please don’t grow up on me… I want my little girl still.” Eyrokar sighed. “I’m sorry… Being alone all my teenage to adult life was hard. Being a girl especially.” Sigrune sighed. “I have been doing all I can to bring peace to the world. You are my reason to keep going.” Eyrokar said as he held her hand as they walked to the Cold Chamber. Eyrokar pushed open the door and found Sif was sound asleep. Sigrune stretched and quickly laid in bed and coaxed Eyrokar to join her. “Aren't you going to get comfortable first?” Eyrokar asked. Sigrune threw off her robes, displaying her undergarments. Eyrokar sighed as he dropped his armor onto the floor. Sigrune looked at his bare chest, heavily scarred, and his heart was visible between a scar. He climbed in bed with Sigrune doing his best not to wake Sif from her sleep. With the soothing sound of the torches burning on the walls and the protective hold of her father, Sigrune felt safe to sleep soundly. Feeling her blood coursing within her veins, with each beat of her heart, and her light body warmth helped Eyrokar feel alive just as Kayla’s body once did. Sigrune snuggled her face into Eyrokar’s white furry chest, and he curled up against her and fell asleep.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Robert Gross

I started working on the FrostWing series back in high school. My teachers were so impressed by them that they allowed me to work on them instead of the class work. The FrostWing series is still in progress. Comments and feedback is welcome

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.