Fiction logo

The FrostWing Chronicles

Chapter 9- The Calm before the Storm

By Robert GrossPublished 2 years ago 40 min read
Like

Chapter 9- The Calm Before the Storm

Drakon and Ereadus were in the Throne room getting their weapons ready for the trek back. Tyrara and Eyrokar walked in; she was cross about Eyrokar not loving on her as she wanted. “... As I told you, Tyrara. The last time I made love without worrying about something was the night I lost Kayla! I’m sorry that you did not get what you wanted. But I promise I will do you and Eyra for an entire week after I end this war. Don’t think that I can’t. Kayla and I mated for nearly a month until she passed out. But let me end this damn wat first.” Eyrokar growled. “Alright… I accept your apology. Long have the remnants of the FrostWing Empire lived here in the shadows of the Sky Guard Empire. I will send all my twisters and Soldiers to assist you in the coming battles. Shall we meet at SpireRock as we did when we have taken out Zarrious?” Tyrara asked. “Yes, and this time… I will not falter to remove those pests who stand in my way.” Eyrokar growled. “But who will take the throne? We frost dragons can,t. the flame quartz will kill us.” Tyrara stated. “I do not know. Perhaps… Sif! You are one of my newest wives. You do not have any Frost blood within you… Are you willing to be the final push to end the war?” Eyrokar asked. “Her? She is a Mortal!” Tyrara snapped. “She is the only one I trust, and all we need is someone to sit upon the Ruby throne to claim control over the Dragunity Empire than that is what we need to do.” Eyrokar sighed. “Eyrokar… I will do what I must to end the Dragon Mortal War. But please… stay with me.” Sif said softly. “I will do what I must to ensure the war ends… I can’t promise to survive. I will be the main target. But I am more than ready to sacrifice my life to do what is right.” Eyrokar said as he turned the Tyrara and Kissed her. “What of Devarius?” Tyrara asked, “He is not like Geriothar. Devarius is a God on the Council!” She proclaimed. “He is just another obstacle. Kayla and I have killed gods before… He is no different.” Eyrokar growled. “I, too, have killed a couple of gods. But none of them were as ruthless as Devarius. And his hate for you is already immense, being that you killed his son.” Tyrara sighed. “I know what I did; his death and my father were both in revenge for me and vengeance for you.” Eyrokar sighed. “You know I can read your mind… I know this little plan of yours. How can you be so certain it will go as you plan?” Tyrara asked. “Get out of my head! I have many plans. Plans for plans. Even if I must risk my life to end the war, it’s not like I have anything left to live for.” Eyrokar sighed. “You have me, Eyra, Sif, Winter, and Aris. Even your son and Daughter. How can you be so depressing?” Tyrara asked. “I am still nothing without Kayla. You all just sit in a void too large for you all to fill. Bah, Just ensure your forces are at Spirerock. We march upon Frostheim in one week.” Eyrokar growled as he walked out the door into the icy wind of Northwind. Ereadus stopped and turned to Tyrara. “I’m glad to have met you, Grand… I mean Tyrara. Come Drakon, and we have much to still.” Ereadus sighed. “Bye, Tyrara, Loriana, Loressa, stay here. I don’t want to worry about you two outside these walls.” Drakon said as he followed His brother and father with Sif.

Eyrokar walked through the snow towards the main gate. He pushed it open and glared out into the Twisted Lands. He looked back over his shoulder. “Something doesn’t feel right,” he said to himself. He cautiously walked outside the walls. The ground beneath his talons heated up, and a magma spike burst through the ground! He backflipped away from the spike and looked around. Then a Dragon swooped in and knocked him to the ground! He slid across the snow and leaped to his feet. He looked up at the demon, Farison! The Red skinned Draconian glared down at the runt Draconian. “At long last, I have finally got you out in the open. I see my Overseer Lord didn’t last against you. But I am no mortal, I am A Titan!” Farison yelled as he displayed his weapon, a massive flaming mace! Drakon, Ereadus, and Sif all ran to Eyroka’s side. Eyrokar while in his draconian form. He summoned his sword, Frostbite, to his claw. “It’s about time we fought. I am going to make you pay for killing my KAYLA!” Eyrokar growled. “After I slay you, I will have my way with your whore mother and Sister, and then I will kill both your sons and do the same to your damned Daughter.” Farison laughed as he stood tall before Eyrokar. “After all you have done to me? You continue to aggravate me! First, you hit my mother, then you raped me, and finally, you dare kill my wolves! I will enjoy gutting you!” Eyrokar growled as he charged toward Farison. “Heh heh, you do have a nice round buttock. Perhaps I will take my time with your body after I kill you.” Farison chuckled.

“Please, give me more of a reason to make your last moments full of suffering!” Eyrokar growled as he swung Frostbite at Farison, who just punted Eyrokar back! The young Draconian landed in the snow and rolled to his talons. “For a prised gladiator, you seem to fail to counteract my simple attacks.” Farison laughed. Eyrokar flapped his wings, and took to the sky, and held his sword to the sky. A lightning bolt struck his sword, and he darted to the ground right in front of Farison, plunging his blade into the ground. The lightning-sparked others’ across the snow and seared the ground beneath it. As the snow melted, the arc glowed brightly, and several massive ice spikes blasted up from the ground. Farison leaped off the ground as he was cut on his right arm by one spike! He growled as he felt upon his arm. Seeing the blood on his claw, he summoned a barrage of fireballs! Eyrokar dodged most of them, but one hit him! Eyrokar threw his sword into the snow. Its point stabbed the ground, and several skeletal Dragons rose from the ground! “Calling in reinforcements? Have you lost your combat edge to that wolf?” Farison asked in a chuckle. “They’re not here to face you. I merely summoned them to siphon their souls to become an attack.” Eyrokar growled as he waved his left claws across the skeletal dragons. Their pale blue souls siphoned out of their ribs towards Eyrokar’s claws. The Skeletons collapse into a pile of bones, and Eyrokar raises his right claw towards the bones. As they twirled around him, the bones rattled and clacked together, becoming sharpened bone shards and splinters! The souls Eyrokar siphoned from the fallen dragon were then compressed into a powerful ball of Dark Fallen Energy that he cast at Farison, followed by a rain of sharp bone! The Soul bolts hit Farison immensely, weakening his soul, and the Razor-sharp bones pelted his Armor and scales, stripping him of most of his defense! As the bone blasted Farison, their speed kicked up a lot of Snow, blinding the Dragunity Imperial General! Out of the snow, Eyrokar lept with Frostbite in his claw. He sliced Faison’s wings off! Farison let out a roar and began to breathe fire upon Eyrokar in hopes of stopping the dark fallen Death Knight! Eyrokar then froze the flames to Farison’s mouth, who was forced to stop that attack and try something else! Farison then clashed his weapon upon Eyrokar’s! “You were born into that form. Surely you have better control of it than I do. But it matters not, unlike you. I don’t fight fair.” Farison hissed as he tail whipped Eyrokar back!

Eyrokar slid on the ice, still standing. Farison swung his mace, opening a Hell Portal! Out of the Hell Portal walked out Lord Devarius! “Ahh, The little Draconian Hero. I will enjoy crushing you just as my son did when you were first alive.” Devarius said as he summoned his weapons, a massive flaming scythe! Eyrokar took three steppes back in hesitation. “What’s wrong, Frost? Never fought a Demon god before?” Devarius coaxed. Ereadus, Drakon, and Sif ran to Eyrokar’s side. They each had their weapons out, ready to fight with him. Eyrokar then transformed into his Wolvar form. “No, but I could let myself have all fun in this fight,” Eyrokar said as he looked toward his family. “I see your Draconian counterparts have soiled themselves out of this battle. Pity… Their end will come after I deal with you and your meddlesome family.” Devarius laughed.

Tyrara and Eyra both landed behind the wolvar. “I haven’t fought before, but watching my brother kick Farison’s butt gave me a modicum of hope. And I will remain at his side!” Eyra growled. “By my title as Empress of the FrostWing Empire. I will banish you from my world, Demon!” Tyrara growled. “Cute, this will be over quicker than anticipated.” Devarius scoffed. A swirl of snow and darkness formed behind the family, and in that swirl glared two bright Blue piercing eyes! Eyrokar roared in pain, “What is that!?!” He yelled. Erya cowered to the ground. Tyrara felt a sharp chilling in her heart and turned towards the swirl. “F… Father… No… NO!” She cried.

The swirling snow faded away as the Dark figure moved towards the family. It moved through them as an aberration! “Angrathar… You survived.” Devarius growled. “My death was a ruse to all of the universe and the council. You dare threaten my daughter and my greatest Weapon? I will show you the power at my disposal and the true meaning of fear.” So said the figure; his voice was an ominous echo across the cold and darkness within the minds of everyone, even Devarius! “I will make you an example of what is to come,” Angrathar said as he raised his shadowy claws towards Farison, and a beam of purple energy blasted Farison! The Dragon roared in pain and screeched as his soul was ripped out of his body! Farison stood a husk of his former self. Then Angrathar’s beam of energy changed to a bright blue, and Farison’s bones were ripped out of his flesh in a bloody explosion! The flesh of Farison then was frozen, and as the beam faded away, Farison’s corpse shattered into a shadowy mist! “Tell the Council I come to take what I am owed, Starting with all you have taken from me!” Angrathar growled as his figure faded away!

Devarius threw his hands around, “Arghh! This is not over, Frost! You may have his support, but when next we meet. I will kill you!” Devarius yelled as he opened a Hell Portal and teleported away. Eyrokar dropped to his knees in the snow. He was breathing heavily, “What was that, Mother?” Eyrokar asked. “A terrible Darkness… It would seem my father has returned. His control over the Dark Fallen is ever more of a threat than Devarius. I must return to my studies on how to reverse this… Eyrokar, go forth and end the Dragon, Mortal War. We have much to do, and the list keeps growing. Come Eyra, your connection to Eyrokar will help me in my studies without harming either of you.” Tyrara said as she and Eyra teleported away. Eyrokar brushed off the snow from his fur. “Come on; we have much to consider now that Farison has been removed from the fight. His death is a major blow to the Dragunity Empire.” Eyrokar sighed as he turned south. “Can we please address whatever that Shadow thing was!?!” Ereadus asked. “It would seem That was Angrathar. Tyrara’s Dark Fallen Father and Lord of Darkness. I had no idea, but now I fear something. When comes the time to end the war, let us do it quickly. I don’t want to fight something of that power.” Eyrokar said as he just kept walking. “Are you telling me, Our fearless Father finally fears something?” Drakon asked. “It would seem that way. I don’t blame him; something that merely created his dark powers? I can only imagine what powers Angrathar has.” Ereadus sighed. “Farison’s screams were… terrifying,” Sif said sadly as she rushed to Eyrokar’s side. “Even Devarius was afraid. There are things worse than death within our family… And our Father is one of them.” Ereadus gulped. “I don’t fear him; I am just scared of what power has had over my will,” Eyrokar called back from a distance. The Wolvar all ran towards him to rejoin their trek back to Sharmsorn.

Within the Stone walls of Frostheim, Verix sat slumped on his throne. “It’s been two hours since Farison left. Where is that fool!” He growled. A Draconian walked up to him, “Lord Verix. General Farison was slain.” said the draconian. “Hmm? So Frost has finally killed that relic?” Verix asked. “They were in combat when I arrived. Something I assume Frost summoned had killed him and scared Lord Devarius back to Hell.” said the Draconian. “Something? If Eyrokar has reached his full potential, this war is as good as over and not in my favor. Jarliran, I need you to forth and act as my mole within The FrostWing ranks. The stakes are too high for any mistakes now.” Verix said to the Draconian. He bowed and walked out of the dark keep. Verix looked up at the stained glass window over the door. “I will not fail as my father did.

Verix growled.

Eyrokar and his family reached the base of the Dragon spine mountains. Sif was shivering violently in the howling snowstorm of the Twisted Lands. Eyrokar transformed into his Draconian form, and placed his arm on her shoulder, and wrapped his wing around her, covering her from the winds. The dark clouds didn’t let much light through. The Northern reaches of the Karsara Lands were harsh to mortal life. Eyrokar knew it would be best if they waited out the storm with the snow up to their knees. “We can wait out the storm within the Frostite Caverns. It won’t be much warmer, but it's out of the wind.” Eyrokar said as he pointed towards a dark cave near them. “Will it be safe?” Ereadus asked, shielding his eyes from the whipping winds. “The Twisted elementals of the lands will try to kill us, but I’m sure you all would much rather fight an elemental than fight this storm,” Eyrokar said as he guided Sif towards the cave. “Elementals? Dammit.” Ereadus sighed as he followed his father towards the cave. “Luckily, you have dark scales, Dad. We would have lost you in the haze.” Drakon said as the snow blindness was taking its effect on him.

They quickly walked into the cave, getting out of the wind. Sif brushed off the snow from her robes. Ereadus rubbed his face free of any snow. Eyrokar glared around the cave. “Let us venture deeper into the cavern. I’m sure with Farison’s death, Verix will send out a search party. I do not want to get caught off guard.” Eyrokar sighed as he walked into the darkness. “How the Hell are you seeing in here?” Ereadus asked. “My eyes don’t actually see; I can only see the energy of the world around me. Like you three, I can’t truly see your facial or body features. Your souls, however, give your looks. That is all I can see. I can see the outlining of the cave walls and ceiling. I can easily pick them out of the shadows if predators or enemies exist. In a sense, I can others’ intent. It’s a side effect of the Souls’ Torment. The only time I ever saw reality was with those I love.” Eyrokar said as he looked around as they entered an open chamber. He cast a small orb of light, illuminating the entire chamber. Eyrokar’s words hurt Sif’s feelings. “So you don’t love me?” She asked, looking up into his eyes. “We have not been together long enough… Besides, I take Kayla over you. Just because she agreed to it does not mean I am forced to love you. But you still have a chance to change that.” Eyrokar growled as he walked towards the chamber's center, where his light orb floated. He unsheathed his sword and placed the tip at his taloned paws. A small crack formed in ice, and it grew around him. He sheathed his weapon and stepped back from the cracks. They then began to glow orange, and a soothing heat was emitted from the cracks. “There, magic always made life easier for you mortals. Enjoy the heat… I will be on the watch for the rest of the night.” Eyrokar sighed as he turned to the cave entrance. Sif pulled on his tail to get his attention. “What?” Eyrokar asked; his tone seemed more depressed than normal. “I want to talk to you, In private. Away from Ereadus and Drakon.” Sif said quickly. “Just so we are clear, you will not be able to talk me into sleeping with you. I have gone over twenty years without having sex; I will continue until the war is over!” Eyrokar growled. “That’s not what I want to talk to about. Unlike Kayla, my mind is not constantly on sex!” Sif growled. “Fine… I don’t trust you, though. You make any advances, and I will bring you back here!” Eyrokar growled. "Dad, you never went into detail about how mom died. Can you tell us that before you go off and waste time?" Ereadus asked. Eyrokar sighed heavily, "Fine… Drakon, Ereadus, get close. I will tell you of how Kayla and Isarnia died…

Almost twenty-five years ago, back during our time within Howlsdall, a time that made more sense to me. We could finally be at peace. Your mothers and I returned home from a quest given to us by King Habron. We were ready for a break, and Drakon and Sigrune were happy that we had come home. I had planned for us to go into town and spoil the young ones for a hard week's work. After we got comfortable and situated, we discussed the plan of going into the market the following day. I played a few games with Drakon, and Sigrune, showing them how much they mean to me and how much I love them. After dinner that night, we ate a deer Drakon took down by himself. I took Sigrune and Drakon to bed there; I tucked them in and got them all snuggled up for bed. Shortly after I had made it to my room, Kayla wanted me to give her some extra love, but we agreed to wait until tomorrow night. Curled up with Isarnia and Kayla, we fell asleep thinking the war would never find us.

About midnight, the moon was high and full. The Dragunity Empire attacked Howlsdall in hopes of flushing us out. During the first few minutes of the Attack, a fireball hit our home. Engulfed in flames, Kayla, Isarnia, and I rushed to get dressed and our children to safety. We nearly lost Sigrune that night; the flames now scar her. We barely made it out. We turned towards the city, and we were shocked to see the horrors that followed us home. We made our way into the city there; we asked Habron to take Drakon and Sigrune with the peasants while we stopped the Demons. He took them, and Kayla, Isarnia, and I worked with the guard and the army to fight the fires and save as many lives as possible. Your mothers wanted to lead a more direct approach, so they worked with the soldiers to stand firm. I was going to join them, but a child begged me to her their family trapped within their burning home. I help rescue about fifteen families and several helpless parents. As I was helping one last family, I felt something wasn't right, and I rushed through the burning buildings and blistering flames to check up on your mothers. I was worried and didn't care for my own life. I caught a glimpse of them facing Farison alone, and I knew he was ruthless and had no Draconic honor. I had to fight the pain of the fire to reach them. Once I got to them, it was already too late. He requested that I give up and submit myself for execution for their lives. I threw my sword to the side and quickly surrendered. Several demons surrounded me; I demanded that Farison let them go,… he said that I should never submit to his deception, and he… slit their throats. He laughed maniacally as Kayla and Isarnia both dropped to the ground. I wanted to kill him, but I couldn't think. I struggled to wrap my mind around what had just happened. I held Kayla and Isarnia in my arms as they slowly, painfully slipped away into death. Farison chuckled and said his work was done, and the entire attack ended. I had never cried like that before; I had lost all who could keep me sane. With Kayla's dying strength, she laid her hand on my chest, and I never washed her blood off. Sigrune came to my side, and I held her tightly, covering her eyes. Habron told me that he lost Drakon, and I killed him out of my rage and loss. That caused Sigrune and I to be exiled from Howlsdall. The people threw rocks at us and spat on us. I couldn't believe what had happened. I was lost and had nothing more to do with them.

"Losing Kayla and Isarnia was painful, especially when I could feel their pain; their last moments… will haunt me forever. Even now, I will stop at nothing to stop Verix and end this Damm war." Eyrokar sighed sadly, reflecting on all that had happened in the past. Drakon and Ereadus looked down sadly as Eyrokar and Sif walked out of the main chamber; Ereadus and Drakon sat beside each other. “So, Drakon… How have you been? Oh wait, you were under a spell! Heh heh, Idiot.” Ereadus laughed. “Well, At least I didn’t run off like a complete moron! Living like a Pirate? Really?” Drakon asked. “Please, at least I still was a member of the FrostWing Empire. I was more of an Assassin than a Pirate. Mother Winter and Aris had me do many tasks that benefitted the Empire. Fighting the Overseer Lord was one of those tasks, but you escaped my final blow.” Ereadus growled. “I had no control over my actions, Ereadus,” Drakon growled. “Even the action of you mating with Loriana?” Ereadus asked. “What? I don’t understand what you mean by that.” Drakon said, confused. “Oh right, you have no prior memory of anything you have done in the last thirty years. All those we called allies, you slain. You nearly killed Winter and me. You maimed Sigrune. On top of all the juicy atrocities, you committed against our Empire, you knocking up Aris's sister, Loriana, is the best of all.” Ereadus laughed. “What does that mean?” Drakon asked, yet confused. “Brother… you impregnated her. That little Draconian who followed you around is your Daughter! How stupid can you be?”Ereadus asked. “I… Really?” Drakon asked. “Yes! Let's just talk about me. At least I remember all I had done… well, that parts where I was not drunk.” Ereadus chuckled.

Eyrokar and Sif arrived in a chamber near the cave entrance. They sat upon a rock. “What did you want to talk to me about?” He asked crossly. “What can I do even to come close to matching Kayla? What does she have that I don’t?” Sif asked. “Well, for a first, Kayla was not easily offended. She was rather stoic. Also, she was not a prissy little princess like you. She chose the warrior’s path over that life. She fought many battles against her father’s wishes to keep Howlsdall free and in good ties with the already weakened FrostWing Empire. She managed to get me, a lifeless husk, to feel something other than pain for the first time. She cared about me, not the muscles, not my place as King of the empire! I felt a real connection with her. You're just another woman who wants me inside her!” Eyrokar growled. “But I am not like that! I don’t see you as a thing to breed with! I see you as… a Draconian who is… I don’t know why I like you.” Sif sighed sadly. “You like me for the same reason Winter, Aris, Isarnia, and Kayla did. You feel safe around me. I have been through things that I will forever protect you from. Things I can’t bear to think of happening to you. You like me because I am not trying to sleep with you. You like me because I am myself; I am not just some male that would take advantage of you. I know what danger the world holds. I would not dare to leave you to fend for yourself within it alone.” Eyrokar sighed. “I… I feel that. Why couldn’t I think of that?” Sif asked. “Probably because you are in the mood for mating. I can tell you have wanted it and waiting patiently for me to give in. Even poor Tyrara wanted it… she never had the chance to feel real love. And last night, I knocked her and Eyra out and remained alone in the throne room. I chose not to let myself come prey to my lust. I will continue to wait until I am reunited with Kayla.” Eyrokar growled. “So you are willing to marry other women and never give them the love they deserve? Also, you are the last of your kind; If you are reunited with Kayla, you are going to die. There is no bringing her back!” Sif growled. Eyrokar roared, “Do NOT speak of that. I can bring her back. Resurrection is not easy, but not impossible!” Eyrokar growled. “We all know a soul can only be returned to a body twice! Once by birth and once by magical resurrection. She has been dead for twenty-five years! It’s time you moved on!” Sif growled. Eyrokar snarled and grabbed her by her neck; His rage then died down at her; he saw the fear in her eyes, “I’m sorry… I don’t feel myself without her. I don’t know how to move on.” He sighed sadly as he dropped her claw from Sif’s throat. Sif hugged him, “I know it has been hard for you. Being dark fallen, a slave… I have no idea the pain you live with. Kayla was something special to you; she helped soothe your pain. She made you feel safe. I know I can never add up to all she has done for you. But Kayla has entrusted me to love you for her in her absence. So please, let me love you that I feel is right.” Sif said softly. Eyrokar’s red pupils were staring forward, then darted to her head. He wrapped his arms around her, “Even I can’t deny you what you gained. It is not in my power to force you to suffer. You want me… I want you. We are about to embark on a… impossible battle. I don’t want our stress and tensions weighing us down in the moment of truth. Once we get back to Sharmsorn… I will give in. but understand Aris and Winter will be part of it. As I married them before you, they hold more space within my heart than you do… Temporarily. I learned not to give much love to any one person, as if they foolishly betray me; it will not hold me down.” Eyrokar sighed as he slid her off him. “Who betrayed you?” Sif asked. “No one, yet,” Eyrokar grumbled. Sif yawned, “I should go get some sleep. I suppose you will remain on watch again.” Sif said as he started walking back into the cave. Eyrokar stood up, “That storm has yet to pass… I will join you. How can we be married for over five days and not cuddle? That is heresy!” Eyrokar growled. Sif giggled, “Come on, you stupid lizard.” Eyrokar stopped mid-step, “I grew to like you more after this conversation. I will allow you to call me a stupid lizard. But do know, I am NOT a lizard.” Eyrokar said as he reached for her hand and held her hand as they walked back into the main chamber. Sif looked up at her tall Draconian husband and felt like she had finally made progress through to him. A large smile formed on her face as she looked at the icy walls of the cave seeing her reflection beside Eyrokar.

They returned to the main chamber. Ereadus and Drakon both had already fallen asleep. Sif chose a spot not far from the magical warmth, Eyrokar had created and was cool enough for Eyrokar not to melt. Eyrokar laid Frostbite on the ground. He laid down and unfolded his wings. Sif curled up in his arms, and he covered her with his wings. “Good night, Eyrokar,” Sif said happily. Eyrokar licked her forehead, “Good night, my little Timber Wolf.” Eyrokar sighed as he closed his eyes, and his pain slowly faded. He relaxedly sighed, and Sif could tell she was helping him. “Eyrokar?” She asked. “Yes?” He responded. “By loving you, and sleeping with you while I am still alive, does our relationship make me a Necrophiliac?” She asked, “Do I look like a corpse? I breathe; I have blood; I just don’t have a beating heart. So no, I don’t think this counts towards that. Why did you ask such an odd question while we were trying to sleep?” Eyrokar growled. “Sorry, it started to bother me.” Sif laughed uneasily. “I have two sons across the chamber with us, and you’re calling me a corpse. Yes, I died, but I am undead, so that shouldn’t apply.” Eyrokar scoffed. “Sorry, I guess it is a touchy subject.” Sif sighed. “No, it’s not a touchy subject! Saying that is like I approve of Beastiality! I don’t! Just because I can reproduce with literally any living thing does not mean I will!” Eyrokar growled. “For the love of the council, Shut up!” Ereadus growled. “Watch your tone with me! Screw it, everyone shut up, and go to sleep!” Eyrokar growled as they all quickly went to sleep.

The following morning Eyrokar alone, the pain that built up during the night shot through him like a million arrows. “Argghhh!... Uhh… I should have told you not to leave me until I wake… Gods, that hurt!” Eyrokar growled. “I’m sorry, I didn’t know. You snore like a Wolvar pup.” Sif giggled. “Oh, haha… You better give me a reason not to rip your spine out.” Eyrokar hissed. “I got one,” Sif said as he kissed his crystal. Eyrokar’s lips lower from his snarl. “Okay, I will let you live for now. You know I am not actually threatening you, right?” Eyrokar asked. “Well, no, because I know you can. But I trust that you won’t hurt me.” Sif laughed. Eyrokar stood up, “By marrying me, I swore to protect, love, and cherish you, your life, and far after. I never harmed Kayla, and I will never harm you. I know what some males put their women through. Another reason why I hate males so much.” Eyrokar sighed as he reached for Frostbite. He grabbed his sword and sheathed his blade on his belt. “You know, It just occurred to me. Why do you wear leg armor with a belt? Isn’t all of your… genitals covered by scales?” Sif asked. “Well, yes, but how else will I keep Frostbite near me? Summoning her takes a second. And I have worn this armor for years… I guess if I take it off, it will increase my mobility. Here.” Eyrokar said as he ripped off his Armored plate legging with countless scratches on the steel. His tail whipped off the last plates and straps. “Wow… I forgot how comfortable it is being… well… Naked.” Eyrokar sighed as he enjoyed the breeze of the wind through the cave on his bare legs. Ereadus sat up as the metal armor hit the ground and awakened him. “Why is my father naked?” He asked angrily. “Unlike you mammals, all my sexual organs are hidden. Unless you are a Female Draconian, they have to wear clothing… Because the twisting reformation from dragon to draconian made them more into mammals than reptiles. This is why all female Draconians have breasts. They developed mammaries. And yes, their breast does secrete milk… that has a slight vanilla flavor.” Eyrokar sighed. “Did you have to explain the taste!?! Gods, I can never enjoy the taste of vanilla again!” Ereadus growled. “For your information, my mother tried to nurse me like a mammal. It had no effect.” Eyrokar growled. “What’s next? Are you going to claim you tasted Kayla’s milk too?” Ereadus scoffed. “Well, I have, but that is beside the point! Stop making me answer your stupid personal questions! And DO NOT say your mother’s name!” Eyrokar growled. “Hey, I like that you showed Kayla and Tyrara the same tender love, but can we stop talking about boobs?” Sif asked. Eyrokar looked at her bluntly, “No one is talking about that. Gather your things; we leave in ten minutes.” Eyrokar growled as he walked to the cave entrance to see outside if the storm had passed.

The bright, fresh snow reflected much light blinding the draconian. He poked his head outside and looked around for any signs of enemies. He walked back into the main chamber. “It’s clear; let's get moving before I speak too soon,” Eyrokar growled. “Dad, if you are so powerfully attuned to magic, why can’t you just, Teleport us back?” Drakon asked. “I can’t create a portal like most twisters. I can only teleport myself. Unless you all can teleport, or any of you can create a portal, stop complaining, and let's get a move on!” Eyrokar growled. “Fine.” Ereadus sighed as he gathered his weapons and made his way outside. Sif walked up to Eyrokar, “I bet you were a great father to them when they were younger.” Sif said with a warming smile. “I still am. I just wish I was part of their life more beyond what little time was shared in the past. I know that look, Sif. Wait until the war is over, please.” Eyrokar sighed as he walked outside. Ereadus stood in the snow as the dim sunlight was enough to see for miles. “Why are Frostheim and Northwind so far north?” Ereadus asked. “I don’t know; I wasn’t around when the Dragons and Draconians came to this world. Ask my mother.” Eyrokar sighed. “Doesn’t this cold bother you?... Well, other normal Draconians?” Ereadus asked. “Not really. The cold of Northwind is far harsher than Frostheim. I have seen Dragon die from the cold of Northwind. It was a sort of defense strategy Tyrara had discovered.” Eyrokar said as he looked towards the towering walls of Northwind. “Alright, I am ready to go; how far do you think we will make it today?” Sif asked. “Last time, we scaled the Tyrara Mountains and the Twisted lands to get here. We are going to cut travel time in half as we cut through the Shadow Pass of the Tyrara Mountains towards Spire Rock. We should reach Spire Rock by sundown. We will remain there for the night, and tomorrow we should get near Sharmsorn enough to make it after sundown. So all of you, try to keep your history questions to a minimum. A lot has transpired at SpireRock, and I will explain the importance of it as we arrive.” Eyrokar sighed. Sif glared at the draconian, “Only if you knew how many lives could have been saved have you taken up the charge after the battle of SpireRock.” Scoffed Ereadus. “Unlike many, I don’t want the title of king. I just want a simple life. Your mother and I were going to claim the throne, but Verix usurped the throne from me. After I killed Zarrious, victory was within grasp. But I wanted to see Kayla and her sisters safe. It was then that Verix took up the mantle and allied with the Thawsor empire to counter my entitlement to the throne. Verix took my runeblade, Icerune, and tried to kill me. He is not of my blood, so he can’t wield the blade to its full potential. Which has been a flaw in his ability to both lead and successfully thwart my plans.” Eyrokar sighed as he stepped first into the Shadow pass. “What makes this place called Shadow Pass?” Drakon asked. “If I remember correctly, Tyrara used her powers to counter the effects of a Decimator here. She stopped it, but something took the place of the flames and molten rock. Keep your eyes, and focus sharply on anything within the darkness.” Eyrokar growled as he felt a surge of Dark Fallen Energy. “So, What are we exactly looking for within the shadows?” Sif asked, concerned. “My Grandfather’s power emanates through all darkness. Such does create these small shadow fiends that are similar to demons but can’t be reasoned with. They only serve him. Come, we have wasted enough time.” Eyrokar sighed as he continued walking through the pass. “Father, How do you know about this so much?” Drakon asked. “You idiot, he’s is Dark Fallen!” Ereadus growled. “Ereadus, ease off your brother. But he is right, Drakon. I am Dark Fallen. There are Dark things within the universe that even Devarius doesn’t understand. Now stop stalling; Dark, Fallen energy amasses around us as we speak. Keep moving.” Eyrokar growled as he sped up his walking. “So, Eyrokar, after you and Kayla escaped Frostheim. The battle of spire Rock, what happened there?” Sif asked. Eyrokar grumbled, “After we escaped Verix’s attack. We had to go over the towering walls of Frostheim. A cannon in my back blasted me, and we fell just outside the city. We then noticed all mortals had amassed an army to fight for their freedom. I didn’t have a chance to heal myself, and I was determined to get Kayla and her sisters to safety. My wings were greatly damaged… I haven’t used them since. Shortly after we discovered why the mortals had amassed such an army, Verix followed us with his army.” Eyrokar sighed. “Why did the mortals all stand together against unwinnable odds?” Drakon asked. “They follow me… They all thought I was to take the throne. Why else do you think everyone calls me their king? Something I had not wanted.” Eyrokar sighed. “But you just said you tried to take the throne.” Ereadus said, confused. “Yes, because I am the only way this mindless war can end.” Eyrokar sighed. A Shadowy claw grabbed onto Sif, and she shrieked in fear. Eyrokar grabbed her and pulled her to his side. “I told you to speed up.” He growled.

They exited from the shadow pass and stood before the towering black stone spire, SpireRock! A dark splotch of dead grass was seen around a massive scythe. “What's that scythe?” Ereadus asked. “That once belonged to Death. I killed him during the battle of Spirerock.” Eyrokar said, not phased by what he just said. “You killed death? How?” Sif asked. “There is not a single god that can’t be killed. The Death now… she has developed a lust for Kayla and me.” Eyrokar sighed. “Death wants to sleep with you? that’s great.” Ereadus scoffed. “Not my doing. She is not the first god that made sexual advances towards me.” Eyrokar sighed in disbelief. “Uhh, I don’t want to compete against a goddess,” Sif said nervously. “Don’t worry, none of them can ever get to me,” Eyrokar said as he continued towards the spire. Ereadus gazed in amazement at the scythe of death as he passed it. “You can tell this was once a battlefield… Swords, bones, armor. Do you remember the casualty count?” Drakon asked. “No… Nor did I care during the fight. My only concern was getting your mother and aunts to safety.” Eyrokar growled as something tugged at his soul. “Father, are you okay?” Ereadus asked. “There are powerful magical energies here… all of which are siphoned from Eyra and me. Tyrara created Spirerock to be a pylon for redirecting demonic portals off-world. Nothing is strong enough to counter such a barrage of Thawsor movements; therefore, she used her two most powerful things in Eyra and me. Our souls are constantly bombarded by their movements, and thus causing our souls to become weaker and weaker by the day.” Eyrokar growled as they got closer to the spire. “So… It has something to do with the souls’ torment?” Sif asked Eyrokar glared down at her. “Not exactly, but close… It uses my life force as a power source, causing the Souls’ Torment to torment me harshly.” Eyrokar said as he gazed up at the black rock tower. “Dad, I don’t mean to speak explicitly about you, but how did you function through the pain to reproduce? Are you one of those odd people who like pain?” Ereadus asked. “No… There is something about your mother, about those I love, that can… pause the torment.” Eyrokar said as he grabbed Sif and held her close, “Holding, or even merely touching those I love, seem to pause my pain. Right now, I don’t feel the torment at all. Until I let go, the torment builds up for every second it isn’t hurting, and when I let go or stop touching her. All that pain rushes into me. It is… rather numbing and annoying.” Eyrokar said as he let go of Sif. “Then why don’t you hold onto one of us forever?” Sif asked, wanting to be held more. “It’s hard to protect you when I’m hugging you. Besides, the torment does build up to levels it starts to affect Eyra, and I do not want that.” Eyrokar sighed, rubbing his head. “There has to be a way to stop the torment. It angers to know you have been dealing with this all my life and further before.” Drakon growled. “It’s what keeps me alive, Drakon. Tyrara’s powers that resurrected me forced my soul into this Icy Prison of a body. There was a time there was no pain before she gave me to Tyrannus as a peace offering, only to have me mutilated. I have died before, I apologize for wanting to die again, but it’s the only release I will get. Until then, I will continue to save those I love and bring peace and balance to the world. I don’t care about my well-being; I never have. Since the day I hatched, all I wanted was to make my mother happy. Seeing others who were not as happy, I worked to make them happy. Only to be thrown in the dirt and stomped on by someone I foolishly thought was my friend. Geriothar killed me, an innocent Draconian child, without care or fear. Killing a hopeful child is one thing, but killing this child by lying to him, making him feel at fault for the world he had not known, bred hatred and anger even the council fears. There are dark things within Draconians that Angrathar had found and unleashed. I am merely on the brink of falling into the same murderous rage he is in. Enough about me; let's keep going. I can feel my mental status fade as we linger here.” Eyrokar growled. “That would explain mom’s unnaturally hot body temperature.” Drakon sighed. “What are you talking about?” Ereadus asked. “Dad is ice cold, and Mom is nearly burning. Together they are normal temperatures. That would explain how we were not burned alive inside mom while she was pregnant with us. Also, Father is mostly ice; Mom’s heat must have thawed his flesh enough to reproduce. There is a reason they’re together.” Drakon said, pondering his parent’s undead state. “You realize Father is mostly ice… imagine how wet the bed must have gotten.” Ereadus laughed. “Can you not bring up that…” Drakon growled. “I will have you two know; I don’t melt like that. I more shrivel up and die… Like a plant. But I am still flesh, bound together by ice. Dark Fallen magical ice. I know what you are thinking, Ereadus; no, it doesn’t get smaller.” Eyrokar scoffed. “Dad, please don’t read my mind.” Ereadus growled. “I didn’t… I could tell by the face you made. Stop trying to figure out how you were made, and accept the fact that you were born to the undead.” Eyrokar sighed. “That’s not what I am confused about, But wouldn’t it be uncomfortable to be melting while your cold touch was on mom?” Ereadus asked. “Ask her. Unlike I, she lies gloating about her… private life.” Eyrokar sighed as he was tired of talking about his personal information. “I mean… shoving an icicle up there can’t be too enjoyable.” Ereadus said, confused. “Can we please talk about something other than our mom marring a snowman? Or that our father likes pain?” Drakon asked. Eyrokar growled, “I am not a snowman, nor do I like pain… Just… be quiet for the rest of the journey, and only speak when you need to!” Eyrokar growled. “Jokes of you, Father, We are all adults here; you don’t have control over us anymore,” Ereadus laughed. Eyrokar sighed deeply as he continued ignoring his son’s words.

Within the towering walls of Frostheim, Verix paced impatiently, “Farison has failed to report in. Frost must have slain him. I have nearly one million troops at my disposal, and not a single fool has spotted Frost!?!” Verix growled. “The best soldier at my disposal, and he goes missing. The Overseer Lord will have my head once he discovers my inability to lead.” Verix growled. A bright portal opened beside Verix, and Devarius entered the room. “Farison is dead, he was slain by Angrathar, and the Overseer Lord too has fallen. Eyrokar was reunited with his son, Drakon. I had pinpointed them to Northwind. But I failed to silence the wyrm due to Angrthar’s return. In Hindsight, Angrthar’s is still not powerful enough to prove a major problem. I want Eyrokar! You may begin with my final orders. Slaughter anyone who dares house a FrostWing Imperial. Burn the entire city if you must… Wreak havoc upon all mortals if you must flush him out. Eyrokar is a born hero who won’t remain hidden for long once you start harming his friends. Sharmsorn… The humans shall be your first target, Lord Verix. To save others, he will give in, or we will kill them all.” Devarius growled. “My lord… we can’t just start slaying all the mortal races; the council will….” “Let me worry about the council, and your duty is to have captured Eyrokar in my absence. If I return and he has not yet been captured… I shall find another Dragon who will carry out my orders. Use any method you see fit to do as I ask of you. You want control, and all the women… then fulfill your side of our deal.” Devarius said as he left through the portal he had created. Verix walked back and plopped onto the Throne. “Begin the Orders we were given. Signal the Demons to march upon Sharmsorn. Then have our forces join them in the fray. I want Eyrokar no later than tomorrow night! I will have one of your children executed for each hour that passes! Starting now.” Verix growled as he grabbed a Draconian child and choked it to death. The Guards and soldiers rushed out to do as their king commanded them.

FantasySci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Robert Gross

I started working on the FrostWing series back in high school. My teachers were so impressed by them that they allowed me to work on them instead of the class work. The FrostWing series is still in progress. Comments and feedback is welcome

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.