Fiction logo

The FrostWing Chronicles

Battle of Ice and Blood, Chapter 6

By Robert GrossPublished 2 years ago 16 min read
Like

Chapter 6- The Dark Howls of Darkness

Eyrokar stood waiting for Sif to join him outside; as she walked out to him, “Took you long enough. Each minute is precious, and we can’t waste any more time. “Sorry, I had a hard time choosing what to wear for an audience with the Frost Empress. It wasn’t easy sleeping in the same building as my father died in.” Sif growled. “At least you didn’t kill yours.” Eyrokar signed. Ereadus walked up to his father and raised his hands to Sif, “Well, she seems to be walking alright. It seems you didn’t blow her back out.” Ereadus laughed. Eyrokar punched Ereadus in the face knocking him to the ground! “Mind your tongue!” Eyrokar hissed. “Arghh… forgot what's it’s like to get hit. I didn’t know you hissed.” Ereadus growled as he rubbed his face as he stood up. “Consider that, Fatherly love, I could have killed you!” Eyrokar growled. “Ereadus, we didn’t even sleep together. He stood out here all night!” Sif said, defending herself. “Okay, okay, I got; Damn. I dealt with my Mother’s moaning; I don’t want to deal with it anymore!” Ereadus sighed as he crossed his arms. “Yes, your mother was quite loud… only because I knew how to rock her world. … You did not hear that!” Eyrokar growled. “Sure, I heard nothing.” Ereadus chuckled. “Argh, let's just get going!” Eyrokar growled as he quickly walked towards the gate.

Quickly the group was at the Shimming Canyon. “Odd, I was expecting demons to have attacked by now. The Shimmering Canyon has the largest vein of Flame Quartz crystals in all of the Karsara Lands. Something is not right.” Eyrokar snarled. A roar came from the sky, and a Dragon landed before them, “I thought I knew that scent. Frost, how the hell are you?” Asked the Dragon. “Rogin… I was wondering when I would kill you at last. Please tell me you have brought troops.” Eyrokar growled. “Please spare me the bravado. Lord Verix has promised me your daughter as a pet. And you should know first hand what that implies.” Chuckled Rogin. “You can test me and speak ill of me all day. BUT SPEAK AS SUCH ABOUT MY DAUGHTER OR ANYONE IN MY FAMILY, AND I WILL MAKE SURE YOUR DEATH IS A LONG AND AGONIZING PAINFUL ONE!” Eyrokar roared as he unsheathed his sword and pointed the tip at Rogin, and the blade began to glow a bright blue as Eyrokar used his power to rip the Dragon’s soul out of his body, and they shredded the soul into many shards like glass, and scattered them across the canyon! Rogin silently collapses to the ground, lifeless. Eyrokar then used another power and froze the blood of the dragon, exploding Rogin’s body into a red mist! Ereadus and Sif both stared speechlessly and then slowly looked up at Eyrokar, “What was that!?!” Ereadus asked in fear. “Dark Fallen magic?” Sif asked. “Not quite. It’s more of just simple frost magic with a touch of Dark Fallen magic… so much more deadly.” Eyrokar said as if he’s used to such power. “He just… exploded!” Ereadus said worriedly. “The worst time of my life… Feeling all pain in the world. I felt that it sure was… mind-numbing.” Eyrokar said as he rubbed his head. “Mind-Numbing!?! You call something like that mind-numbing!?!” Ereadus growled. “Possibly the most painful thing I have experienced yet. Mind-numbing was not the best word, but close enough. Come, we have got much land to cover.” Eyrokar sighed as he continued. “Dad, can we please address the fact you just obliterated a Dragon without moving but once?” Ereadus asked. “Ereadus, there are things about my power even I don’t dare replicate. Do you think I enjoy living off of the pain of others? Do you think My middle name is DarkClaws for nothing? I killed three Dragunity guards with my claws the day I hatched. I was called this because I am incredibly adept at killing. I was born a Weapon. Not at first… due to my Dark rebirth. You can thank my mother for that once we see her. She cast me away because I was too dangerous.” Eyrokar sighed sadly. “Great; next, you’re going to tell me I was conceived in a blood pool.” Ereadus scoffed. “No. Your mother was what calmed me. You were conceived just as your siblings were, In bed.” Eyrokar said. “Well, good to know I am not… bleh.” Ereadus sighed. “Don’t worry, Ereadus. Unlike me, who kills with sheer power, your mother liked to beat things to death. She once had the skull of a Demon lord she killed with her bare hands and used it as a cup for years. It is still in the ruin of our home. I think you used it once as a child.” Eyrokar chuckled. “What!?!” Ereadus asked nervously. “I’m kidding you. Your mother kept you and your siblings in a well-kept home, but she did rip the skull out of a demon. I ripped heads off many times… I have a taste for Dragon… I should have kept Rogin’s leg; it would have made a good snack for later.” Eyrokar grumbled. “Uhh, Dad… you’re a Dragon too,” Ereadus said nervously. “Yeah, and? I’m a monster, Son. Be glad you are not an enemy of mine. Mmm, Wolvar tastes pretty good too.” Eyrokar chuckled. Both Ereadus and Sif gulped. “I only ate a wolvar once. I wanted to try it, and I didn’t care for it. Eating is not something I care about. I only eat when I want something to chew on. I don’t need to eat or drink… I’m undead.” Eyrokar sighed. “So my father is an animal?” Ereadus sighed. “Not by action. Your mother said I am in bed, whatever that means.” Eyrokar said as he shrugged. Sif blushed heavily at the comment. Ereadus slapped his hand into his face, “She said you are great at mating.” Ereadus sighed. “What does that mean? No wonder there are always so many female friends of mine who always… blushed.” Eyrokar sighed as he glanced at Sif. “So you are not denying it?” Sif asked, curling her hair. “Well, I… Uhh… Umm. I know how to blow my wife’s mind… if that is what you want to hear. Ereadus doesn't listen to me.” Eyrokar said embarrassedly. Sif ran her hand across the back of her head, “Well, now I can see why they stayed with you all these years.” She said softly. “ I can assure you that how good I am at sexual intercourse has nothing to do with them loving me… well, mostly… I hope so. What do you want from me?” Eyrokar asked. “DAD, please focus on ending the war as you planned before you start knocking up every female we encounter!” Ereadus growled. “I have no intention of such preposterous actions! I wanted children. Your mother saw to that. I opened my eyes to many things I had no idea about. Allow me to put it in words; your feeble mind would understand. I am a monster who knew I had no chance of being happy or loved. You Mother saw me as an easy thing to comfort and realized my intense muscular composition could provide her with an intimate partner that could fulfill her needs and desires in my virgin state. Let me dumb it a little further, Kayla Aesir Howleron was shunned by her kind because they saw her as a monster, the same as I. IN our similarities, we fell in love. I had an idea of how to mate but was not sure of how to do it. She guided me to mate with her, and I knew of just what she liked. Any female I have sex with will reach their orgasm before I even get comfortable. Is that stupidly put enough for your weak mortal brain to comprehend?” Eyrokar growled. “You are getting rather… defensive of this.” Ereadus sighed. “Your beautiful mother managed to get me comfortable enough to breed with her. I will not even think of mating with another female without her here to guide me. And I know how to mate well now. I must first love the woman it is part of first. Sorry for being too much of a gentleman!” Eyrokar growled. “So, if a fine female Draconian were to throw herself upon you, you wouldn’t take advantage of her lust? I know many females dream of mating with you.” Ereadus sighed. “No… I can resist my urges. Hell, I can resist your mother too. She gets… mean, though.” Eyrokar sighed. “So, mom… rapes you?” Ereadus asked. “No… Well, I don’t think so. I don’t want to think about that. Can we please talk about something else?” Eyrokar asked as they walked from grass to a thin layer of permafrost. “Yes, let's, please talk about something else. I am getting too hot.” Sif sighed. “So, what did you do since mom died?” Ereadus asked. “Sigrune and I went to Neelam and spoke to Ahmenset the Felinor queen to gain her support to end the war; then I sent Sigrune back to Howlsdall while I went to Sharmsorn to gain the help of the humans… There I became a royal guard captain in remembrance of your mother and fell into a deep depression. Up to the events of now. I know it sounds pathetic.” Eyrokar sighed. “Not really. You were extremely close to mom. It sounds like she saved you from a terrible fate.” Ereadus said with a smile. Eyrokar glanced back to his son, “Possibly the smartest thing you said since we got reunited. Why don’t you tell me about your life, one of you?” Eyrokar asked. “Well, my life is pretty basic. I was born a princess and taught by Sigrune to use magic. Not much has happened.” Sif sighed. “I doubt having my Daughter teach you; I feel there are some things you chose not to tell me. Which is fine. I know your father treated her terribly; Sigrune was more of a slave than a princess’ mentor. She told me of how she was treated.” Eyrokar sighed. “My father hated you, and he thought he could harm you through harming her. I’m sorry for the lashings she received.” Sif sighed sadly. “I much rather have her beaten than raped.” Eyrokar grumbled.

The group continued into the snowy stone lands of the Twisted Lands. The wind howled sharply and ripped violently at their clothing. Eyrokar’s white fur waved, bashing in the frosty winds as if he belonged in this extreme environment. Sif and Ereadus struggled to keep warm as the chilling air was unforgiving. Eyrokar’s Dark blue cape whipped violently behind him, the tears and rips in his cape giving off an unsettling feeling to the two yet alive Wolvar. Ereadus glanced down at his father’s sword; the runes upon the blade glowed ever brighter than normal. Something about this place connected to his father. “Dad, what transpired here? Why is it called the Twisted Lands?” Ereadus asked through the heavy snowfall. “It happened before I hatched. My mother claimed she and her sister Pyrexia unleashed their devastating Dark Fallen powers upon this land to keep the Dragunity Empire and Thawsor at bay. Although my mother is not Dark Fallen, the magic that reformed these once pleasant snowy hills yet remain. I can hear the call of the Dark Fallen magic… It is… difficult to resist such incredible power. Being Dark Fallen, I am attuned to these lands. Don’t worry; I have resisted the call of the Darkness for years; I assure you I am strong enough to remain.” Eyrokar said as he brushed the snow from his eyes. “This call of the Darkness, what is it?” Sif asked. “My Grandfather… Angrathar. He is the one responsible for the Dark Fallen curse. I do not know why, nor what he was planning for such power, but I do know living off the pain of all living things is not what I would call great.” Eyrokar growled. “So Angrathar is the reason for you being a monster… well, besides your mother. So if this Dark Fallen magic is so powerful, and he is the core of it all, would that make him the most powerful Draconian?” Ereadus asked. “His power was too much for him to control. Killed him in the process. Tyrara spoke that his connection to the Dark Fallen power was so grand that he is a culmination of pure Dark Fallen Energy. In other words, he is still out there somewhere. Plotting his return, his final plan is to take over the universe and deliver it to a new age of strife. He has the power to destroy the universe ten times over.” Eyrokar sighed. “What exactly do his plans for the universe entail?” Sif asked. “I do not know, but I heard Tyrara say Angrathar holds Dragon kind above all else. So my reputation with you or any of my Wolvar family would place me in his way. I do not want to fight someone who controls my existence.” Eyrokar sighed. “Can we go to that cave to escape the biting wind until this storm passes?” Ereadus asked. “I can’t tell the time of day through all the snow. The stones have runes emblazoned upon them. Their glow signifies it is the afternoon. I see a cave on the side of the Tyrara Mountains.” Eyrokar said as they rushed to get out of the snowstorm. In the cave, Ereadus rubbed his eyes and shook off the snow. “Can’t you just teleport us?” Sif asked. “Where is the fun in that?” Eyrokar snapped. “We won’t be at the mercy of the elements!” Sif growled. “Even if I Teleported us there because you two are not Draconians, you would be stuck in the worst part of the Twisted Lands, just outside of Northwind!” Eyrokar sighed. “We will be in Northwind already!” Sif growled. Ereadus was concerned about Sif getting mad at his father. “Calm down, the storm will pass, and the Twisted Lands will be quite the sight. Now I will summon forth some food for you two, and… can you make a fire or something. I would melt if I tried.” Eyrokar said disappointedly. “Melt?” Ereadus asked. “What made you think my fur and skin were natural? I am mostly animated Ice on a Reanimated skeleton of Bone dust, with basic muscles and sinew. I am more of an ice elemental with frozen flesh stuck to it.” Eyrokar sighed. “How the hell did you and mom make me?” Ereadus asked, thinking about how his father is mostly ice. “Long story short, not everything is ice. But your mother loves popsicles.” Eyrokar chuckled. “Gah… I wish I never asked.” Ereadus sighed. After Eyrokar summoned some food, and Sif made a fire. Eyrokar sat near the entrance of the cave. The howling wind whispered to him. A Dark, ominous voice was made within the howling, “The end is upon you; give in to oblivion.” said the voice upon the wind. Eyrokar stood up; his ears rotated outwards to hear better. “The life you never knew was the end of all life; give in to my will.” Said the voice. Eyrokar covered his ears, and out of fear of losing his sanity, he ran back inside to the others. He tripped over a rock and slid beside Ereadus. “You alright, Dad?” Ereadus asked. Eyrokar uncovered his ears. “I’m fine. I just… wanted to cuddle my favorite son.” Eyrokar said with an uneasy smile. “No one is as perfect as Drakon!” Ereadus scoffed. “Watch your language! Drakon is not perfect, and neither are you. I am nothing close to perfect… the most perfect out of you three would have to be Sigrune.” Eyrokar sighed as he stood up. “Why? Because you can mate with her?” Ereadus asked. “What? I would not do something like that… unless she wanted. That’s beside the point, Do not talk about your sister like that!”Eyrokar growled. “You know, dad, you’re weak for a steadfast male. Ahh, I finally got it. Mom made you her bitch!” Ereadus laughed. Eyrokar looked at his claws resisting his urge to rip his son in half. “Well… you are not wrong… At least I have women wanting to breed with me. Are you mad that many females want me? Is that it?” Eyrokar asked. “Finally, you figured it out. And you’re supposed to be more intelligent than me? Even oversea’s women want you inside them. I knocked up some half-elven, half-human chick because she knew our last name! Did she think, oh, a Frost, Are you by any way related to the Legendary Frost Dragon Eyrokar? In short, she was disappointed.” Ereadus sighed. “So you failed to please a woman; how is this my fault?” Eyrokar growled. “My multitude of mothers widespread their sexual experiences with you, and it seemed to have crossed the world. You are a celebrity across Novotora! The Legendary Breeder they call you.” Ereadus growled. “I hate it. I never wanted that, nor did I want any part of whatever sick plan your mother had for me. Listen, I am going to lay down some words about your mother and me that you may not like. Your mother is a Nymphomaniac, Not as much as Isarnia. But Kayla Aesir Howleron uses my cold body to help soothe her rage and hot blood. The best way for us to do this is through sexual intercourse. Look at me; Your mother is taller than I am! I can’t feel much. Sex was boring most of the time. Only through love can I feel alive. Anyway, Your mother, Kayla… liked making other girls jealous. Once they got jealous enough, she would invite them to experience time with me, which is somewhat how I married Isarnia, Winter, and Aris. I was happy with just her; she was more than enough for me. And I have little need for anything other than someone to cuddle and love. Sex… I don’t care about it! I am Undead! Stop comparing yourself with me. I know I am a great lover and an amazing mate! I learned of all this because of your mother; not stop getting so offended, you old Mortal, and treat me with the respect I deserve as your father!” Eyrokar growled. “SHUT UP! You two bicker like children!” Sif growled. “You try being at peace knowing your children have outgrown you and aged far past your own. I can’t believe my son is an adult… and my youngest is too. Time is not easy when you live two lives, and everything keeps going on. Being immortal is not easy… I enjoyed my life raising you and your siblings. If only I could live during that time forever… As if you care, but… I tried killing myself. I can’t, no matter how I try.” Eyrokar growled as he ripped his head off! He placed his head back on his neck and froze it into place. “And yes, that hurt a lot. Becoming your father was the greatest part of my life, the only part that made sense. The Dark, Fallen magic that keeps me alive scares me. One of the only things I fear. We talked long enough… get some rest. We should arrive at Northwind by sundown tomorrow.” Eyrokar sighed as he walked back to the cave entrance. Ereadus stared at his father, feeling sort of sad for getting onto him.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Robert Gross

I started working on the FrostWing series back in high school. My teachers were so impressed by them that they allowed me to work on them instead of the class work. The FrostWing series is still in progress. Comments and feedback is welcome

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.