Fiction logo

The Fly, The Dragon And The Unstoppable Magic Of Love

Love's Transformation

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 12 min read
Top Story - November 2022
49
The Fly, The Dragon And The Unstoppable Magic Of Love
Photo by Dustin Humes on Unsplash

“What I’d give to be a fly on that wall, to be an unnoticed observer of a particular situation.”

If I had a pile of dung for every time, I’ve heard that, I’d be a happy fly. Wanting to know the ins and outs of someone else’s private life, seems to be the wishes of many- but let me tell you- being an actual fly on some of these walls is not for the faint of heart.

That’s what got me in to this situation to begin with. Sometimes, ignorance really is bliss, sometimes knowing what you shouldn’t, well, let me catch you up.

~~~~~~

She was beauty in motion. There wasn’t anyone that looked at her that didn’t wonder what it would be like to have her affections. But she had no desire to belong to someone. She did what she wanted when she wanted and with whomever she wanted. Freedom was her lover, the wind and midnight sky her companions. She wanted for nothing.

Except the joy of her child.

~~~~~~

She had loved once, as a human, and it nearly killed her. She loved so intensely that it burned a scar onto her heart – so deep, that she feared she would never love again. He betrayed her. The worst kind of betrayal, offered her everything, delivered it and then took the very thing that made her human.

He arrived at the village that day, beaten and bruised, on his horse, dragging the child’s carrier behind, on the ground. Everyone stopped what they were doing and gathered to get the answers to the story he was about to present to her. She collapsed in the doorway when she saw the empty demolished and dismantled carrier. As he collected her and closed the door behind him, the entire town began to whisper. Varied scenarios and explanations. Torrid and heart wrenching, alike. There were no limits to the reasons they came up with for what they had just witnessed.

Except the truth, but they never would have been able to make this sort of horror up.

I had been eating in the stable next to the tavern when I heard the commotion. So, I decided to get a closer look. I flew in through the open window, resting on the table. He was getting her a damp cloth for her head as he began to tell her what had happened. While the cloth was on her face, I noticed him fold a piece of paper cramming it into his vest pocket, before returning to her side.

When she seemed calmer he began to speak. I flew to the bedpost for a better position.

“Ella, it all happened so fast,” his voice cracked - elevated slightly. “I know I shouldn’t have taken her there with me. It was a huge mistake. After I lost all the money playing cards, we ran. We were coming through the covered bridge when they jumped us, oh Ella, they took her. They knocked me off my horse and beat me until I blacked out, and when I awoke, Tia was gone.” He sobbed into her chest. She must have been in shock, she just held his head and stared straight ahead. “Ella, talk to me, please forgive me. I will do whatever it takes to get her back.” She never spoke a word, she simply got up, put a few things into a bag and told him not to come back without Tia.

He wiped his face, got on his horse and was never seen again.

~~~~~

Enter, the fly.

I hesitated to make her aware of me. Most people think to swat first when they encounter a fly, I was risking my life to reach out, but I knew I needed to help her.

I sat for a moment on the bedpost, grooming myself, I wanted to make a good first impression. I decided I would just be forthright and skip the formal introductions. So, I flew to the table, where she was now sitting, and I landed on the paper just in front of her. Before I could speak, however, I noticed that the paper was part of the paper he had hidden in his pocket. I turned around to get a better look…

” Pay us, or we kill the child” was all that was left, what?! I wondered, why would he do such an awful thing, to someone he loved. I felt a waft of air as she waved me away from the paper. She put her head down on the table, so I landed just beside her elbow.

I cleared my throat and said, “umm, excuse me miss.” She bolted up so fast her chair fell backwards; I lifted just a bit above the table to see if there was anything I could do to pause the commotion.

“Who’s there?” she asked, panicked.

I buzzed in front of her to get her attention, she kept thrashing her arms, swatting at me. So, I said in the clearest, calmest voice I could muster. "PARDON ME, if you could stop swatting for a moment and let me explain, I’m sure we could have a nice chat.” She paused for a moment, with the most confused look on her face and squinted, leaning in, cross eyed, practically nose to nose with me.

“Did you just talk?” she asked dumbfounded.

Nervous now, I adjusted my stance. “Well, yes – I did,” I continued. “I can appreciate how strange this must be - our kind don’t usually communicate with yours, well - verbally.” She sat down in the chair; her eyebrows furrowed. resting her elbows on the table and her chin in her palms, mouth gaping. I had never seen her look like this, so I moved slightly to the right, causing her to adjust.

By Егор Камелев on Unsplash

She sat up crying, “I'm losing my mind, “she sobbed.

“No Ella,” I assured her, “you are most definitely not losing your mind. Allow me to introduce myself, my name is Carl.”

After she regained consciousness, I was able to tell her my story, and exactly how I thought I could help her.

“I know talking to a fly must be strange, but I wasn’t always a fly. I was once a magnificent dragon, not just any dragon - a magical dragon. Until I met Hilga.” I sighed; sure, she felt my pain. I was embarrassed, but at least I had her attention.

“I didn’t know at the time, but Hilga was a very powerful witch. Though we were different, we fell in love. Well, I actually fell into a love spell. Hilga only wanted me for my magical scales, before I realized what was happening, she had destroyed my armor. I was helpless to defend myself, I tried to warn my nest - but she cast a spell on me. Now, I’m a fly, not even a majestic dragonfly, just a shit eating, ordinary stable fly. But I believe that you and I can help one another.”

She sat for quite a while, mouth wide open, staring, trying to make sense of it all.

Her next response was laced with sarcasm, understandably – “so, what exactly can a cursed, shit eating fly, possibly do to help my situation? My daughter is gone, my lover is gone, and I am talking with a fly, with no means to change any of it.” She buried her face in her hands

I smiled, although she didn’t notice, because, well, flies don’t have lips.

“I still have a magical scale,” I said to her, over confidently.

She covered me with a metal colander, leaned in and asked, “a magic scale, huh? If you have a magic scale, why are you still a fly, why haven’t you changed yourself back into a dragon and made Hilga pay for how she wronged you, huh?!? Magic scale indeed.” She scoffed.

I buzzed a couple times into the colander, trying to get out of a potentially deadly situation, with no luck. “Let me out of here and I will explain.” I seemed to beg.”

She hesitated for a moment, and then removed the strainer. “Thank you,” I said.

“The magic is tricky. Hilga wanted to ensure that exacting revenge on her would be difficult. For me to return to my former state, I need to fulfill a good deed to someone wronged, someone helpless. As an act of selflessness and goodwill. I heard what happened, and I know for a fact that the information your lover left you with - was untrue. He has traded your child to pay off a debt. I can help you find her. But for the magic to work, the recipient, you -must also sacrifice something, willingly.” I lowered my eyes, not wanting to see her upset. What happened next surprised me, greatly.

She jumped to her feet excitedly, “I will do anything to save and recover my child, anything. What do you need from me?”

By Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

I was moved deeply by her love; I pulled the small scale from under my wing and placed it in the palm of her hand. I crawled on top of the scale. “Ok, close your hand, gently - hold your hand over your heart – and repeat these words.”

She carefully held the scale and I next to her heart. I could feel and hear it heart pounding, my wings fluttered with nervousness.

“On this day I give myself - the grandest form of sacrifice.

Reverse things done, make right the wrong - the future no longer mine.

Grant me strength to change the past, renew my love before me.

Magic restored; justice take flight - on re-established wings.”

As I was saying the last of the incantation, the room filled with smoke and the air vibrated with thunder. I could feel my form changing. I was excited, realizing soon, I would be restored to my previous, majestic self. As the smoke began to clear, I was thrilled to see my mighty form in the window. I unfolded my wings and let out a powerful roar, surprised I was unable hear myself, nonetheless, I stepped forward to show myself to Ella – sure that she would be in awe of my presence, and that I when I saved her child, she would hold me in her warm graces forever.

Reality, however, is a funny thing.

I felt myself rising into the air, and I was not moving my wings. As I turned to investigate, I saw the most beautiful dragon I had ever seen, and it seemed to be holding onto me. As we made our way back to ground the dragon spoke to me, it was Ella’s voice. “So, your magic worked. But tell me, why you are a dragonfly.” I was heartbroken. My wish for Ella was so powerful, of course, she received my form, my power.

By Ajithkumar M on Unsplash

“I guess this is my fate,” I told her, trying not to show my disappointment.

“We have no time to waste, Ella- We have to go save your child.”

Without practice or notice, she swept us away, like she was born for it. As I guided her, she took us to the covered bridge, where it had all begun. Laying just inside the bridge itself was a saddlebag, inside the bag was a list – instructions to find where Tia was.

When we arrived at the hide-out, deep in the woods, it was getting dark. Ella could smell her child. I went ahead to check it out, since I was smaller and harder to see. There she was, tied like a hog, to a chair. I could hear the men talking.

By Noah Silliman on Unsplash

“If we don’t hear anything from him by daylight, we will tie her in a bag and throw her in the river.” I was enraged and forgot myself. I flew in through the window and charged the leader- “What is this?” he hollered. “Damn bugs, I can’t wait to be out of this stupid town.” After a few more swatting attempts, I buzzed back out the window - to report what I knew about Tia.

As I approached Ella, I could tell she had been crying. “Oh, please don’t cry, we are going to get Tia, everything will be ok.” She nodded in agreement, as I landed on her hand, she pulled me close to her face and whispered.

“Thank you so much for helping us, I could have never done this alone.” Again, I smiled, although I knew she couldn’t tell.

I gave her the layout of the cabin and where each man was located. I reminded her that she was a fierce, mighty dragon - protecting her young, the rest was instinct. They didn’t stand a chance.

She was absolute beauty in motion.

As I watched she and her daughter disappear into the horizon, my wings fluttered. I was content being a dragonfly. I was content with the admiration and gratitude in Ella’s eyes as she was able to save her own daughter. I will forever cherish the kiss she laid on my tiny cheek. Content that I did a good thing, the right thing.

Suddenly, there was a burst of light, and through the haze - I could see Ella and Tia coming back towards me. As she landed ever so gracefully in front of me, I felt the change. The magic.

I had been completely restored. I didn’t need to be the massive dragon to change someone’s life, I needed to be available and willing. That enabled Ella to become the hero she and her daughter needed.

I was glad to be the fly on the wall, happier still that I was able to experience the day Ella saved us all.

She was beauty in motion. There wasn’t anyone that looked at her that didn’t wonder what it would be like to have her affections. But she had no desire to belong to someone. She did what she wanted when she wanted and with whomever she wanted. Freedom was her lover, the wind and midnight sky her companions. She wanted for nothing.

And we will soar the skies together, for as long as the magic allows.

Fantasy
49

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock8 months ago

    Fly, dragonfly, dragon, mother & child--you have bewitched me, my friend, with this story of your heart.

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    I remember this one! Loved it the first time, and still do!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Still love it, maybe even more. Great entry.

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    absolutely great my friend, reminds me of a song, “can’t touch this” 👍

  • Georgenes Medeirosabout a year ago

    Amazing. I loved it

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous & fascinating💕😊💖

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    This is such a creative & fascinating take on the challenge! Well done! :)

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    This was fantastically creative and out of the box. I love stories like this that cross over the boundaries of thought and imagination. Excellent work.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Emeka Nwankwoalaabout a year ago

    I reward you awesomely. Lovely

  • Abigail Penhallegonabout a year ago

    This was such a fun take on the challenge! I liked that the fly on the wall concept allowed for a believably omniscient narrator!

  • Ali Loveabout a year ago

    Telling stories your heart needs to tell.... Your heart has a beautiful whisper. Great story. Great characters. Love the unique creativity. Thank you for sharing your heart stories.

  • Sara Jane Triglia about a year ago

    Had a hard time getting invested in a story with a fly as the MC. But it seemed very unique and creative.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    So good,….you had me at “ my name is Carl”. Who names a fly Carl….

  • SJ Coveyabout a year ago

    I thoroughly enjoyed your story, so imaginative and creative. I hope u are rewarded by wining of this challenge. Carl is a great name for a dragon or a fly or a dragonfly ❤️🥰😍

  • Dr. Constance Quigleyabout a year ago

    This was unique and fun! I wish you luck in the challenge!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Great storytelling! I was hooked from the get-go! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    I love how your mind works! Great story! 🥰

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    What a wonderful tale. This is truly great storytelling. I loved it.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Such a wonderful, unique take on the challenge! Really enjoyed the creativity. I also wrote about bugs in my story, so I fell in love with this. ☺️ Great work!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wow. This is incredible. You manage to take a pesky little fly and turn it into a hero. Well done.

  • Branden Kerrabout a year ago

    Wow I loved this story. Was amazing! I particularly laughed at this part, After she regained consciousness, I was able to tell her my story, and exactly how I thought I could help her.

  • Brendan Parkerabout a year ago

    Really original! You built a lot of pathos for the main characters and I wanted to see them succeed

  • Excellent unusual take on the tale, love it

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    Wow this is a very unique take on the world of fantasy. Love it my friend 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.