Fiction logo

The final days of Christmas

Christmas Short Stories

By Hazel ParadisePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

“A lady’s imagination is very rapid; it jumps from admiration to love, from love to matrimony in a moment.”

― Mr. Darcy, Pride and Prejudice

“You know I am not fond of reading romance, Amelia,” Theo said as he went on typing on his laptop. I don’t know why he works so much when we both earn enough.

“You forgot the fact that your girlfriend is a romance writer and she cannot afford an editor at this stage,” I said.

“You have my credit card,” he said. His eyes were still on his laptop. No denying the fact that once you get into a relationship, it's really hard to get your man’s attention back.

“I am fine without it,” I answered.

When our relationship was new, he would always agree to whatever I say. I wrote books and he edited them for me. Although he is a really bad editor, I need someone to talk to. And this is the only way to do it. Writing can be lonely sometimes and I think Theo isn’t understanding this.

Apart from this, I am not a fan of credit cards. Last time I did holiday shoppings that went over $10k. Theo never said a single word to me but I know how hard he works to keep us stable. I think I am a burden in this case.

I took a deep breath and I sensed the room filled with his rhythmically tapping on the keyboard. It's the same everyday for us. I don’t know what happened to him suddenly but for three months straight, he has been working without a single break. I think he sometimes forgets that I am here.

It's Christmas and this is not what I have planned. Me looking at my man who has been working since 4 am. Outside, it's snowing. Everyone is with their family. Mom’s cooking tonight’s dinner and dad’s decorating home. I am from a small town and Theo from Brooklyn. He is accustomed to living alone while I cannot survive a single day without talking to anyone.

We used to go out so much before. These three months, everything changed. We used to party, although I am not much fan of going to clubs but atleast I get to meet his friends and cousins. We would be going to coffee shops during our lunch break and he would say something sweet to me before going back to his work.

Sweet night messages have been replaced by his typing sound.

“You okay?”

I turned my head towards him. I could see his red eyes. He hasn’t slept properly. His eyes are heavy and I could see those 10 coffees he had before I woke up - are not doing their job.

He needs a break.

I smiled. “I was thinking about tonight’s dinner plan. Wanna go out or you want me to make something for you. Just don’t say noodles. I am done with them.”

He laughed. “You cannot lie properly dear. Come here. I know you hate my work.”

I walked towards him and sat on his lap. I don’t know when was the last time we had some good moments. It's all about work for us. Work from home is not for everyone I guess.

“I know there has been some changes lately.”

“Some?” I said.

“Fine, everything has changed lately. Now right?”

I nodded.

He took a deep breath. “I was thinking about some stuff lately.” He pulled out a piece of paper from a nearby drawer.

“What’s that?”

“List of houses in Brooklyn. I did some house hunting when this year started. Not a nice experience for me but I found one which - I know for sure - you’ll like a lot.”

I looked at him, surprised. “You never talked to me about buying a place?”

He smiled. “I am not planning to keep you in this rental place after marriage.”

Marriage? “You said marriage?” I don’t remember talking about this before. I thought he hated those words.

“Yes, marriage. You are not thinking about being just my girlfriend forever, right?”

“Then, I think you should bend down to your knees and ask me those four little words that every girl waits for her entire life!”

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Hazel Paradise

I am a non-fiction author. I believe every author to be their own boss and have multiple sources of income. Consistency is all you need!

https://www.patreon.com/hazelparadise

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.