Fiction logo

The Fiery Canary

Setting the night ablaze

By K.J.GeorgePublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Top Story - January 2022
57

I saw you in my dreams…fiery canary. High in the sky with your friend at night.

Seeing you was almost too good to be true. Way too good to be true. You were a true mystery, a mystery that has gone back for decades. Yet, I got to experience you in all your glory the moment I closed my eyes.

It was late. The sun was almost completely down. The sky now almost completely dark except for the shades of orange, red and yellow that were nearly faded away.

I ran up 4 flights of stairs to reach the tall window that looked out over the city. I was supposed to be getting ready for a party downstairs with a bunch of stuffy rich people. But all they wanted to talk about was their wealth. Something I could really care less about.

I wanted nothing more than to be in the sky myself. In the sky with you…

However, you were with your best friend, much like I was. I guess that’s something we have in common. Spending our time with them was more precious than anyone else's time, and anything else. Always by my side.

As I stare out the window waiting for your wings to go ablaze, I try to remember the tale I was told about you. See, the tales of you feel more like a hazy memory to me. As if I met you in another lifetime… It could just be because my grandmother compared me to you all the time. Beautiful, witty, and unpredictable as she says.

It felt just like flattery every time she said it though. The love of a grandma. Unmatched. However, as I grew older and did my own research, and heard countless different versions of your tale, I couldn't help but compare myself to you sometimes as well.

~~~

The fiery canary. She was beautiful as she was mysterious. Never making an appearance that was consistent enough to ever track her down. She never came at the same time. Nor was there a special event that kept her coming back. She came as she pleased. Anywhere. Anytime. The only thing that stayed consistent was that her best friend was always by her side. That alone was a mystery in itself.

Many of stories were passed down by our ancestors, but one caught my eye. The fiery canary appears, when she finds herself new ally. One she wants to call a friend, grant a wish, or freedom instead. Someone she feels that can match her greatness. Which is why not many people can see her. She only appears to those whom she feels are worthy. No one knows from where she came. No one even knows her real name. Her honey brown skin, and fiery red hair. The golden glow she emits once everyone is in bed.

Whenever she appears, she's at the highest point in the sky in whatever area she is. For example, if she appears near your home in the mountains, she’ll be at the top of the highest mountain. If you live near a beach, and there is a light tower not too far, she’ll appear at the top of the tower shining brighter than the lights even from afar.

Although there are many tales, no one has ever told a story where they came in contact or ever actually talked to her. They just saw her flying in the sky, with her best friend. He was always by her side.

~~~

See, I don’t know whether to call her a guardian, spirit, a deity of some sort? No one really knows. I always believed in them though. Just never seen one, let alone talk to one.

There are also those parts of the stories explaining why you never made contact with them miss canary. It is said that even though they may have seen you, if you came to a conclusion at that moment and your feelings may have changed, you’ll vanish into the sky with no explanation and no trace.

It also is told as, at the moment you reach out to them, and they are too scared or have their doubts, you’ll retract your hand and go about.

Maybe that’s why you continue to visit me... I gave my hand, and I knew it was destiny.

~~~

The sky was now dark and the lights in the city scattered about like the stars in the sky. I began to worry that maybe even I was unworthy of your time.

“Kj, maybe it’s time that we go. Who knows if the tales are true, you know how the elders go?”

My best friend called out to me with worry in his voice. He knew how much this meant to me. He was the only person I’d tell all of my stories too and all of the mysteries I started to uncover.

“Just give me a little while longer. Tell them I’m sick. If she doesn’t appear soon then I’ll call it quits.”

I gave him a soft smile and continued to gaze out the window. I sat near the window for quite some while. Because the next thing I knew I woke up and I was laying down. My best friend is asleep against the windowsill and my head on his lap. I felt bad, selfish even because he decided to stay with me instead of being downstairs at the party. Not that he really wanted to be there either. Just as I was about to wake him up, I looked to the sky and there you were.

Small, which makes sense since you are compared to a canary. But quick like a hummingbird. Reminded me of a lot of Tinkerbell, but you very well inhabited a human. You were little but clearly older than me. Your smile was as bright as your fiery red hair. Flying in the sky, with your best friend close by.

He’s crouched down on the tip of the highest tower in the city. You were floating next to him staring straight into his eyes. His face was rested, little to no expression. But you could tell that he loved and adored you, his best friend.

I watched in awe, as it seemed like you were having some friendly banter. And then you looked at me as if you were waiting for an answer. My awe turned into a smile. As you reach out your hand, I stopped for a second. What if my best friend woke up and I was there where he left me.

You gave me a reassuring smile, and, in that moment, I knew that I’d…He’d be alright. I took your hand and there I went. Into the sky in a blink.

But something felt so unreal, as I looked around the sky. I turned to look at my best friend, and there he was. And so was I…

I looked at you and your best friend too. You both smiled at me, which was new.

~~~

It is said that your best friend's expression never really changes, but I just saw it change.

There isn’t much about him, just theory honestly. For example, he isn't just your best friend but your sworn protector as well. Which is why he is always by your side. There’s also the theory of him being your secret lover. Always to be by your side for eternity. However, no matter the circumstance no one has ever seen any other expression, except you.

Either way I found it cute.

As I flew around the sky with complete awe and gratefulness, I grew tired quicker than I assumed I would. As I look towards you, I guess you saw it in my eyes.

Before I was to part way it happened, the moment I was waiting for all day. You spread your wings and your whole body went ablaze. Your beautiful, long hair turned into beautiful feathers. Red and gold and hints of orange. Much like the sunset before it faded away. You flew straight up in the sky and sang out a beautiful tune. You danced around me for a moment and then you gave me tool.

One of your feathers. It felt like an honor, but also as if I hadn’t deserved it. That was until I heard your voice for the first time.

You shall now be able to hear me, for you are now hold a significant part of me. This way you can contact me or simply just hear me. You have been chosen by us both. We have watched you from afar and we have seen a lot of growth. We thank you for believing in us, for that is partly how we stay alive. We have lived through generations, but our young faces have fooled many who have seen us with their own eyes. We don’t have much time and I won’t say much but I will say believe in yourself and keep your best friend close. He is special much like you, he just hasn’t noticed yet and that’s why he has you. We will keep in touch and continue to look over you. But don’t forget to look over us too.

With that being said, and a smile from them both, they did a small dance around me and then were gone like some ghosts.

I lifted my head off of my best friend's lap, just as he started to stir. I took one more look outside and they flew past the window in disguise. A huge smile took over my face and then I heard my best friend ask:

“Hey Kj, where’d you get that feather from?”

In my lap there it lay, the feather of the fiery canary bright as day.

I just smiled and the only thing I could say was:

“Best friend, I'll tell you all about it when the sun comes up. I think the rest of our days are going to be filled with adventures and fun!”

I saw you in my dreams fiery canary. Or maybe not so much a dream. High in the sky with your friend at night. Seeing you was almost too good to be true. But it was true, and it was fun. And now in life I feel like I’ve already won. But not quite, and I think my best friend will agree. There’s work to be done, and many adventures and places for us to see. Someday I’ll be ready to tell the true story of THE Fiery Canary. A story that I will forever carry of my favorite fairy.

Fantasy
57

About the Creator

K.J.George

✨ An overactive mind put into words

✨ Favorite coping mechanism

✨ Fiction Fanatic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.