Fiction logo

The Favorite

Halloween Spooktacular Part 8

By Angela DerschaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
3
The Favorite
Photo by Joel Muniz on Unsplash

Stop! Before you continue, please consider checking out my friends over at Vocal Creator's Saloon, after all, they have worked with me to make this incredible series. We are currently on part 8 of 9, the end is so close I can almost taste it!

Part 1: Daniel Jaycox

Part 2: Tiandra Callaway Moore

Part 3: Natasja Rose

Part 4: Sofia Duarte

Part 5: Paula Shablo

Part 6: Lindsey Phillipshttps://vocal.media/fiction/twins-in-the-garden?fbclid=IwAR2mue9qOoLrWT1RkvQX6i0xqZPn0X0_UxguoiOgX07pQkoMDFwDtISeOpo

Part 7: Andrew Little

Enjoy the penultimate chapter in our story.

😈😈🗡️🗡️🔥🔥

This whole situation has gotten out of hand. The job was simple: my men were to cause Abigail and Camille to argue on the phone, perhaps a family dispute, don't know, don't care, then a truck would plow into the car, efficiently taking the lives of her and the twin boys. I think their names were Andy and Timmy; then again, the details are blurry. Nothing went smoothly! God took the kids due to their innocence and lack of worldly tethers, a mistake I overlooked, and Abigail is stuck in a loop on Earth in her stupid garden. What a colossal mess. Dark Father trusted me, his favorite demon overlord, to deliver fresh souls, particularly children. Otherwise, his plan can't come to fruition. He didn't even need them, but try telling that to the most selfish diety in the world.

Why did it have to be Mark? Of all the reapers of the void I expected to interfere with things, it wasn't him. He’s been around long enough to know this is not how we handle matters. That backstabbing scum brought Camille to the garden to confront the Twin Demons that Master sent. I would have thought that being mauled to death was enough of a warning for her, but no. Now, thanks to a change in perspective, I have to get my hands dirty alongside Albacush and Belthazarian. I stay hidden in my shadow clone attached to the pear tree that Abigail loved so much, waiting to see who makes the first move.

Albacush struck first. Mark stood in front of Abigail to shield her from the oncoming attack, which was almost instantly deflected by his cloak. Belthazarian came to the aid of his demonic doppelgänger with a frenzy of dagger slashes, but they were no match for the unearthly powers of a grim reaper on a mission. Instantly, the wooden daggers were taken from the Twin Demons and rammed into their respective throats. They began to choke on the blood filling their mouths.

“Mommy… h-help us…” They cried, running around in circles and trying to remove the blades. “This bad man is hurting us… please mommy…”

Abigail, still in shock from the event unfolding in front of her, remained seated at the base of the tree.

“Please don’t hurt them,” She pleaded, pulling on Mark’s cloak. “They’re my babies!”

Camille dashed over to her sister and firmly gripped her shoulders and began shaking.

Sis, it’s me, Camille!” She screamed into her ear. Unfortunately, her voice fell silent. Her sister could not see or hear her.

Newly transitioned spirits can’t interact with each other right away, it takes a lot of practice. Something Mark didn’t have time to teach her. Camille began to sob uncontrollably.

“Why can’t I reach her!?” She cried, frantically pounding holes into the ground with her fists.

Mark, who was struggling to fight off the Twins, even in their injured state, yelled back to her. “I’m sorry, but that way won’t work!” He rummaged in his pockets to find something.

A silver hand mirror emerged from his cloak, one with mystical powers imbued in it. An item that I knew too well, as both Mark and I witnessed it's creation thousands of years ago. The Eye of Truth, a relic God himself used to see things hidden to his influence. I can’t let Camille use it to help her sister!

“Okay, okay, you guys forced my hand,” I said, appearing between Mark, Albacush and Belthazarian. “Now things have to get...messy.”

My appearance shocked Mark, Camille, and Abigail.

I reached into my black suit jacket and pulled out my favorite weapon, a long, razor-sharp kitchen knife with an Oak handle encrusted with the Gem of Eternity. The same as the Twin Daggers.

Mark pushed the demonic pests away and started me down with his black, soulless eyes. “Elliot, why are you here?”

I chucked heartily, surely he was joking. I slicked back my unkempt platinum blonde hair, straightened my tie, and engaged my old “associate” in conversation.

“Really?” I asked, dumbfounded by his audacity. “You have no idea why I had to come up to this miserable rock?”

He shook his head.

“You broke protocol!” I yelled furiously. “And now, I have to kill you. Thanks for that.”

To be continued by Courtney Capone.

Series
3

About the Creator

Angela Derscha

Twitter @angied7592. Long time lover of literature. Obsessed with adorable animals and coffee I spend my days playing video games with my brother and fiancee. I got a medium account too https://angeladerscha.medium.com/ check it out.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.