Fiction logo

The fantasy parkway

My best friend Marry and I find a secret garden and all the wonderful things that are within the Park.

By Laura mcleanPublished 3 years ago 19 min read
1
The fantasy parkway
Photo by Jonathan Mast on Unsplash

I have lived in a big city my whole life, and the only thing I have seen daily was tall buildings and crowds of people walking the streets. There are very few trees around the city. I believe more people are living in the city. I have never seen a park on the path I walk every day.

I live a block away from school, and it takes me 15 min to walk to my school. I have never changed the path I walked. I have the same routine every day. I don't change the direction I walk, no matter what.

It was the same boring thing I saw every day. Until, I was walking home from school, and I saw a park right where the store I always stopped at after school. It seemed odd to me, but I continued my walk home. I did not stop at the store that day. When I walked in the door of my house, I started telling my parents about what I had seen today on my walk home. My parents said that I must be mistaken. That there has never been a park in this part of town.

As I walked to my room, all I was thinking about was the park I had seen. There was no way I was dreaming of things that are not there. I know what I saw. It was so real. It was like it had been there for years. All the trees and the flowers were fully grown.

The next day on my way to school, I made sure I paid attention to the thing as I walked to school. There was no way I was going to miss anything today. I was getting close to where the store was. I stopped after school. As I reached the store doors, I stopped and turned to look at the park I had seen the day before, but it was no longer there. The store stood in the place of the park I had seen. I thought nothing of it and continued my walk to school.

I was unable to pay attention to the teacher. The thought of this park was not exiting my thoughts. I know I was not dreaming, and I still can't stop thinking about this park. It had so many bright colors. There were colors that I had never seen before.

It was last period, and it felt like the day was starting to drag on. The class could not end any faster. I drownded out everything the teacher said, and I started drawing things I noticed in the park. I saw one tree in the center of the park that glistened. Like it's covered in sparkles. It was almost like a magical tree.

Finally, the last bell rang, and I grabbed all my things and was the first one out of the classroom. I took off out of the school and jogged to the store. I forgot about the park for just a moment until I rounded the corner and seen the park was back and the store was gone again. I was so confused at this point.

How was the park back now? But when I walked by it this morning before school? There were so many questions running through my mind now. I did not know where to start or even how to approach this situation. When I told my parents about the park, they did not believe me. Who could I tell? That would have an open mind and believe me?

I had only one friend that I could trust, my best friend marry. I didn't even go home after school. I went right to Marry's house. As soon as I got to marry's house I told her that she had to come with me to the store. I didn't tell her anything about the park that keeps showing up after school. The only thing I wanted to tell Marry was, I wanted her to go to the store with me.

Just as we rounded the corner to the store, I stopped Marry and told her that I was not completely honest. I had to be honest with her. "Marry for the past two day's there was a park instead of the store. "I stop at the store to get a snack and something to drink every day after school." But the past two days, the store somehow turned into a park.

Marry said to me, " are you sure it wasn't a dream?" I said, there is no explaining this to you. I have to show you. As we continued walking, we reached the store, and Marry, said to me, see told you that you were dreaming. The park was gone. I could not explain how or where it had gone, but the store was sitting there with their door open.

The only explanation I can think of was that the park only shows up at a specific time of day. I said to Marry that she has to come with me after school tomorrow, I would be able to prove it to her then. Marry replied with a sigh, OK, but only if you buy me a candy bar. I agreed as long as she comes home with tomorrow.

I walked Marry home and went home myself. As soon as I walked in the door, my parents started asking where I was? But as soon as I told them I was with Marry, they didn't care. I wanted to get to sleep as fast as I could. Mom asked if I was going to eat dinner? I had to tell her "no" I am too tired. I want to go to bed. We said our goodnights, and I went back to my room.

I had all night to think about why the park keeps disappearing. There were many questions I had with no answer to them. The big question was, "am I the only one that can see the park?" I believe all my questions are going to be answered by the end of the day.

As the sun rose and the birds started chirping, I had already been ready for school. It was going to be another day that could not go by fast enough. On my walk to school, I made sure to pay attention when I come upon the store. I stopped and turned to see if the park was there, but it was not. The only thing that was there was the closed sign hanging on the store door.

The park was not there in the morning. I continued walking to school, As it was another dreadful and slow day that could not end fast enough. I caught Marry in the hallway as she was on her way to her last class and made sure she was still going with me after school. After getting the confirmation that Marry was walking with me after school, I went to my last class.

As soon as the last bell rang, I took off out the door, Just like the day before. I met Marry by the big oak tree, and we took off walking toured my house. As we reached the store, I asked Marry if she could see the park? Marry answered with a "NO," I only see the store. Now can we go inside and get that candy bar you said you would buy me if I came with you.

I told Marry that I don't see the store. I only see the park. Marry was confused when I told her I only see the park. I stood there for a few minutes, taking in the beautiful trees and plants that surrounded the one tree in the middle of the park. It looked as if all the other plants were only there to prase that one tree. It looked like the plants were reaching out to the tree.

I told Marry that I was going to go through the gate that led to the park. All Marry keep saying was, " she could not see the park that I kept talking about." Marry said, "if that park is there, then why can't I see it?" That was one question I could not answer. So I told Marry that I would not go into the park right now.

I had to tell Marry that I would have to owe her that candy bar I said I was going to buy her. We walked to my house, and all I could talk about is how I saw the park, and she could not. I was rambling on and on with question after question, Just hoping Marry could answer why this is happening to me and only me. But there was no answer from Marry.

We stayed at my house for a few hours before my mom drove Marry home. After Marry went home, I could only think about the park. It ended up being an all-night thing. I watched the sunrise again. But it was finally the weekend, and I had the whole day to figure out why this park only shows itself to me.

I went downstairs to eat breakfast with my mom and dad. When I finished eating, I asked my mom if I could walk to the store in a little bit. My mom permitted me to walk to the store. I went to my room to get ready for the day. This time I packed a bag. I was going into the park today. I could not wait any longer to figure everything out about the park.

I walked to my front door and yelled to my mom that I was leaving and was going to the store them over to marry's house when I finished. I made sure she knew that I was going to be gone for a few hours. But I was going to the store to sit in the alley across the street from the store. I wanted to watch and see what happens and exactly what time the park shows up.

It was still morning time when I showed up at the alley across the street. I sat down with my notebook I brought with me, and every hour on the hour, I wrote down what I saw and if anything happened during that hour. Nothing different happened until I had been sitting there for almost six hours.

Just as I started packing everything back into my backpack, I saw the store disappear right in front of my eyes. It was so amazing I couldn't believe it. I started "walking slowly" across the street with amazement in my eyes. The closer I walked to the park. It appeared more clearly.

As I inched closer to the gate, it started to open. It felt like it was inviting me to come inside. I placed one hand on the gate and finished pushing it open as I walked through at the same time. After being fully inside the park, I turned to look behind me. As I turned around, I noticed that my neighborhood had disappeared. All I saw was a field that went on for miles.

I turned back around and started walking toured the tree that was in the middle of the park. As I walked closer, the tree grew bigger and bigger. I was amazed by the time I was close enough to the tree to touch it. It was no ordinary tree at all. This tree shimmered so brightly.

The closer I got to the tree, the brighter it shimmered. It was almost like it was asking me to come closer. It was almost like the tree was drawing me to it. I continued to walk closer to the tree Until I was standing right beside the tree and could reach out and touch the tree.

But I didn't touch the tree right away. I wanted to walk around and see everything that was in this park. I was trying to figure out why it showed itself to me only. I continued walking around, looking closely at everything. I saw a bench alongside a body of water. I had to sit on the bench and write about everything I was seeing and experiencing.

I could not find my notebook anywhere inside my bag. But as I was sitting there on the bench, I happen to look up, and when I did, I saw a figure in the distance, and it seemed like it was walking toured me. If the park only showed itself to me, how could anyone else be in the park with me?

I started to worry about what was about to happen. I am in this strange park alone. I continued to was this figure coming closer to me. But then the figure just stopped moving. It was hovering next to the tree. I watched it for a few minutes, and then I saw what looked like an arm reach up to the tree and point at something that was hanging from one of the branches.

I stood up and started walking back over to the tree. The closer I got to the tree, the more the figure was taking shape. The figure started looking like a woman in a long white dress with her arm extended out pointing. I looked up to see what the lady in white was pointing at. Unable to see what the object was, I continued walking closer to the tree.

I was five feet away from the tree, and I looked up and seen fruit hanging from the tree. It looked like this luscious pear tree, and all I wanted to do was pick one and eat it. As I reached up to pick a pear, the lady in the white dress started shaking her head NO. It looked so good, though, and all I wanted to do was eat a pear.

The day was almost over. I have to ask the lady in white a simple question. Why? Why can't I eat the fruit from the tree? The lady in white replied, "because you can only eat from the tree one time a day. The tree has a powerful effect after you eat from it. There is never any way to know what could happen after someone was to eat from it.

As I was sitting there talking to this lady in white, all I could think of was wanting to try the fruit. If I were to try the fruit and nothing happens. Then maybe we can share it with the sick, and there could be a cure to help anyone in need.

As the sun was setting, I told the lady in white that I had to go home. The lady in white said to me that she wanted to see me back here tomorrow around the same time. As I ran out the gate, I yelled back and said, see you tomorrow, and I walked out the gate and ran home.

As soon as I walked in the front door of my house, my mom asked me where I went? I had to explain, mom, I am so sorry that I am late. I was not paying attention to the time. My mother replied and said, "Hunny, you are not late. You haven't even been gone an hour. I was amazed. I could not believe I was not even gone an hour. It felt like I was in the park the whole day.

It also made no sense either. How was the sun going down in the park but I was only gone less than an hour. That was amazing to me. There's no way I was only gone that long. I could not wait to go back to the park tomorrow and ask the lady in white why the times passe's differently in there?

I went right to my room and called my friend Marry. I had to tell her everything that happens. I knew Marry is going to be mad at me., Just because I went into the park when she told me not to. But I can not hide this from her. So I jumped on the phone right away and called Marry.

Marry picks up the phone and" asked," what was I so happy for?" I just come right out and tell her. I couldn't beat around the bush with her. Marry could always see through me. She always knew if I was holding something back or not. So I came right out and told her what I did. As soon as the word park come out of my mouth, Marry said, no, you didn't.

There was no need to say anything else. Marry already knew what I was going to say. So I just explained what happen while I was there. The only thing Marry could say was there was no park, so what is going on? I told Marry that I was not sure why the park only showed itself to me or even why the time runs different while I'm in there. The only thing I knew was there's a reason why. Why its only showing up for me, and I am the only one who can see the park.

That night I dreamed all night, and when I woke up, I could only remember bits and pieces of the dreams. The parts I did remember made no sense to me. I asked mom that morning if I could stay at Marry's house tonight, and of course, she said yes.

While I was packing my bag to leave, Marry called me. I told her the whole plane. We were going to ask to stay at each other's house. But we were going to stay in the park. We thought that if we held hands, then we both would be able to see the park.

As soon as we fully entered the park, Marry could see everything I was seeing. It was nice that now she can see everything. I didn't have to explain everything to her any longer. We will get to experience everything together. Now we can have fun together in this park.

Marry starting walking over to the bench over by the water, and I followed. As soon as we sat down, the lady in white appeared from beyond the tree line. Marry's jaw drops in amazement. Everything that has happened since Marry comes into the park is unreal to her. Before today Marry never believed in magic. Today is the day that all that changes.

When I saw the lady in white floating our way, I decided to walk to her and find out what is up with the pear tree. When I reached the lady in white, the first thing out of my mouth was, can I pick a pear? Today with amazement, the lady in white said yes, but only one.

The lady in white said I have to warn you. Once you take your first bite, you will see the world with new eyes. I did not know what she meant by that, but I took a bite anyway. I couldn't wait to see how this pear tasted. My first bite tasted like all my favorite foods altogether.

I turned around and yelled for Marry. When I turned around, I did not see Marry anywhere. I started screaming, but there was no response. Where could she have gone? The lady in white asked who I was looking for? I told her my best friend. The lady in white told me you did not come into the park with anyone. You are here alone.

There is no way I am here alone. I know I come into this park with someone. The question is, where did she go. I dropped the pear and started running around the park, looking in every place she might be. But I found her nowhere. I covered the whole park, and I could not see her anywhere. I don't know what I can do now.

I sat down thinking, maybe I did come into the park alone, Maybe the lady in white is correct. How could I have mistaken coming into the park with my best friend? I was so confused at this point. I didn't know what to do next.

I do not want to leave the park without my friend. I went back to the lady in white and asked her if she was sure I come into the park alone? Her reply was yes. I went over to the bench and sat down. Before I knew it, I was fast asleep.

I woke up to the lady in white asked, is everything alright? I sat up, I noticed I had drooled all over the place, and my cheek was crusty. I was so embarrassed. I replied I'm fine, is my best friend going to be alright?

The lady in white said I bet once you go home, she will be there waiting on you. But you have to promise after you leave the park, you can never come back. And you can not tell anyone about this park. The lady in white said I was the first person in one hundred years that was able to see this park. She also said that I was only one person out of a million's that could enter the park.

After I was fully awake, I gathered my things and went to leave the park. The lady in white said to remember everything that happened while you were under the influence of the pear fruit. As soon as you go through the entrance, it will all come back to you.

I walked out the gate and looked back, and the park was gone. I knew then I would never see that park again. Everything that happened in that park, I will never get to experience again. It would be the best times I would ever remember for years to come.

When I come around the corner to my house, I saw Marry sitting on the porch waiting for me. We sat on the step and talked about our weekend. I had the best story to tell her. She laughed the whole time while talking to her about the park. Marry said to me that this experience would be a great story to tell for my college essay, and it was.

I have never seen that park for the rest of my years. I lived a loving and wonderful life and had many kids and grandkids. I will never forget that pear tree.

Mystery
1

About the Creator

Laura mclean

I would like to test my writing skills. try and see if I can make it any better. When I was in middle school I had a published pome I wrote. It's been so long I can't remember the title or the name of the pome.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.