Fiction logo

The Fallen Angel - 2

The dreams that haunt...

By Sara SparrowPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

“- is all your fault!” a woman screams. I sit upright, chains rattle, pain swims through my bones stunning me, I move no more as the pain is too much.

“Oww” I groan unable to move much. Chains bind my limbs to a chair, a blindfold over my eyes so I can’t see, it hurts to breathe the chains are so tight. The voices outside, they sound familiar, I rest so I can hear what’s going on.

“I am sorry. For the millionth time. I am sorry” another voice, this one sounds more familiar.

“You will be sorry, I could have you in prison for this” that voice, it sounds so stern.

“Please, you wouldn’t lock me up. I would sue you”

“For what?”

“I don’t know, but don’t be ridiculous”

“I’m not being ridiculous. We’re already in a huge mess, but what’s done is done, you’ve made a huge mistake - “

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ping. Something sounds waking me from my sleep. I sit upright and realise in an instant I'm not in the same place she was before, I'm in an office.

“Are you okay?” the woman asks, this time she is in a white coat, I can read a badge hanging from her pocket, Doctor Kate Callaghan.

“I’m okay” I say rubbing my head, wondering about that dream I just had. Wondering how it felt so real, wondering how I recognised those voices, but, it was all just a dream.

A man in the room catches my eye. A tall handsome man with dark hair and glasses glares at me. I see a badge hanging from his jacket, Doctor Alex Green. The letters IGD are all over the room. What do they stand for? A lot of questions swim around my mind.

"Where am I?" I ask rubbing the sleep from my eyes.

"In my workplace. This is my office" Kate says.

"You should have taken her somewhere else" Alex says taking a sip from his mug, Kate shoots a glance towards him.

"Like where?"

"The police station"

"Alex shut up, I asked you for help"

"I'm giving you help"

"No you're not. They would just - never mind, I'll call Chrissie" Kate picks something out of her pocket, walks over the other side of the room and places the something next to her ear. "Hi Chrissie, could you come into my office?......... great thanks" Kate smiles, walks over to me and sits down.

"What's going on?" I ask, wondering how I've transported from one place to another whilst asleep.

"I've called for my boss so she can have a look at you"

"Okay" I'm so very confused. This man Alex looking at me is making me feel very uncomfortable, and her boss? I wonder.

"This is Alex, he is my co-worker" Alex warily smiles at me. The door now opens, a woman in a white coat walks into the room, a middle-aged blonde woman with glasses, she glares at me.

"Kate" the woman says angrily.

"I...... found her in the middle of the road last night, I took her home then brought her into work this morning"

"In the middle of the road?"

"Yes. Like... she'd fallen from the sky" fallen from the sky? What? Chrissie can't take her eyes off me, making me feel more uncomfortable.

"Kate, I'd like to borrow you outside"

"Okay" Kate gets up and follows Chrissie outside. I look towards Alex, we make eye contact, awkward eye contact. He then gets up and walks outside. Now I am left with my thoughts. The words 'fallen from the sky' keep repeating in my mind. How did Kate move me from one place to another? My dream, what's going on there? And what on earth is going on? All of these thoughts give me a headache. I sit back, relax and look out of a window opposite. My wings act as a cushion, I slowly start to switch my mind off. I peer over into the kitchen area and see some food on a plate, is that for me? I'd rather not be rude and help myself. The words on my arm, Nunti - Satim Finis 1.1.2020. The more I read it, the more I get confused. So, I go back to looking outside, the cloudless blue sky, birds flying around singing and the funny looking buildings around.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Sara Sparrow

Diagonally parked in the universe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.