Fiction logo

The Fallen Angel

1 - The Beginning of the End...

By Sara SparrowPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

A dull, numb pain rings throughout my head. My limbs slowly start to feel extremely heavy and weak. Blood starts to pump around my body slowly, my heart picks up the pace and I open my eyes to see a white ceiling ahead. A strong smell of lemon fills the room, smells quite nice actually. Something digs into my back making me feel quite uncomfortable, but this thing I am lying on is quite squishy and comfortable. I move slightly to the right making myself more comfortable. I feel a presence nearby, a strange presence. Something, or someone nearby is licking my face.

“Mmm” I groan.

“Hey” someone nearby says. I open my eyes to see a creature, a small animal nearby looking down on me. “Hello”

“Hello” I rub my head, the dull pain swims towards my limbs making me lie back down. “What.. Is that?”

“What?”

“That”

“This… this is Max”

“What’s a…. Max?”

“What a.. oh, he’s a cat” a woman next to me says scratching his ears. Max cocks his head to one side, glaring into my soul.

“Cat”

“Yeah. A cat”

“What’s a cat?” the woman looks confused and looks down on the cat.

“Haha, he’s an animal. You – don’t know what a cat is?”

“No…” I force myself to sit up, the pain rings throughout my body. “Ouch”

“What’s your name?”

“My name” I stop and glare back at the cat. I’ve never seen a creature like this before. No thoughts, no memories, nothing comes to my mind. No matter how hard I think, I can’t remember anything. Nothing from where I’ve just come from, nothing from where I live, nothing of what happened five minutes ago. I feel like I’ve just been born. Raising my arms I take a good look at my body. Scratches on my arms, tatty clothes, something on my left arm catches my eye, black ink. Nunti – Satim Finis 1.1.2020.

“Are you okay?” the woman breaks my trance

“I’m – fine”

“What is that?” she asks looking at the word Nunti.

“I don’t know – uhhh my head hurts to think, I don’t know anything – “ something soft and furry tickles my back, I snap my head around to see two large white wings attached to my back. “I have wings” I flap them a few times knocking some paper off the table “Sorry” I quickly fold them behind my back.

“That’s okay, are you hungry?”

“Hungry” food. My stomach rumbles and I feel a gnawing pain in my left side. “Yeah I’m hungry”

“I’ll fix you something up” she walks into the kitchen, I clutch my stomach and roll onto my side. Max moves closer to me and sits on my lap.

“Hello” he just sits there, staring. “You don’t speak no?” I look around for the woman. Seconds later she comes back into the room with a plate for me. “Thank you” I take the plate, bread and butter.

“Sorry I don’t have much”

“Thats okay” I take a bite, the butter melts on my tongue and I wolf the bread down. The woman picks Max up and sits next to me. He makes a noise, a noise I haven’t heard before.

“He meows when he’s hungry. So – you don’t, remember anything?”

“No” I swallow a mouthful. “I have a very big headache, I feel like…….. I feel like I’ve just been born” a silence falls between us, I reach for more bread but realise it has all gone. I slump to my left side making myself comfortable. Questions swim around my mind. “I’m so confused, I feel so tired” my bones ache, my head throbs and all I want is my mind to shut off. I close my eyes and slowly fall into a black hole.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Sara Sparrow

Diagonally parked in the universe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.