Fiction logo

The end of times mirage

The end of times mirage of a once free nation

By Gia SantosPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Baja CA, Mexico border wall

The end of times mirage of a once free nation

I was running so fast in ashes falling from the sky... I didn’t realize it then I had dropped my heart-shaped locket necklace. It was a gift from my grandmother passed down to her by her mother, my great grandmother. I stopped for a moment to observe what was happening around me as everything seemed to collapse and explode at once

I looked around me, I could see the military fighting off large moving green creatures with large unidentifiable robotic weapons

Many people were running from the rubble as they passed me and others in the search of a place to hide nearby. Some of the people who pass me by look familiar, I’ve seen them before perhaps on television, a movie perhaps. One lady turns to look at me, I realize then that we are all running with no end in sight

The powerful and rich, the celebrities, and the common people all run for their lives in the middle of what could only be explained as the collapse of a nation, the overtaking of the planet itself, the fall of humanity

Many were running towards the border in hopes of entering a safer non-conflict zone but it was too late... as the Mexico and Canadian borders had been closed due to a massive amount of people forcibly entering both countries to escape the violent attacks

Newsrooms shared the initial attacks which began in New York City and quickly spread to Los Angeles, Seattle, and other major cities. As buildings collapsed and unidentifiable creatures roamed the cities the government declared a red alert, the highest in which all branches of the military would be deployed to counter the attacks

In between all the haze and confusion, I recalled my lost heart-shaped locket and how perhaps it would hold a clue as to where my own family had fled to. The truth was we were all alone at that moment not knowing what would come next

I had a flashback as I lay down to rest on the concrete floor. How did this happen, the news had previously reported a virus had spread beyond their control and had awakened... it had a life of its own and we as a human race were left to fight it, to survive it

Perhaps if we circled back we would realize that all we experimented with and every weapon formed was ultimately turned against us as the cities and small towns crumbled around us. People crying and screaming as they flee the homes and places they once called home

What an irony I thought to myself briefly... if only we had stopped to realize before that as we treated others who fled for their lives in hopes of entering a free country, we too would have been given the same opportunity today and yet we were left to fight, left to survive, left to die perhaps

One thing was certain, my mind knew where it was leading me, away from the chaos and towards the place I once knew. It was not the place I had run from before to escape the conflict, it was the place I recalled as a child once

I knew I would not be allowed to enter my own birth country, I was not carrying my passport nor any belongings, there was no way to prove who I was. I would have to enter as a refugee fleeing the destruction of a once free nation not knowing if I would make it that far... nor if I would survive.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Gia Santos

Bilingual writer, editor & creator

bio.site/Gia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.