Fiction logo

The Ember of Friendship

The Story of Two Young People.

By Alien eyesPublished 10 months ago 1 min read

Once upon a time, there was a guy named Tom who worked at a shop owned by a wealthy merchant named Joseph. He was poor but brave. One winter evening, Joseph said, "No one has been able to spend a night on the mountaintop without blankets or food. I know you need money, so if you can do it, you'll receive a huge reward. If you fail, you have to work for me for thirty days without pay. Deal?"

Tom thought about it for a moment. He really wanted to earn that reward, so he replied, "Alright, I'll go tomorrow."

After leaving the shop, Tom heard the chilling wind roaring above his head, and he started to doubt his decision. Instead of going home, he found his best friend Jason and told him about the challenge.

Tom asked Jason, "Do you think I'm crazy for taking this bet? Is there any chance I'll get that huge reward?"

Jason pondered for a moment and said, "Let me help you. Tomorrow, when you're on the mountaintop, look ahead. I'll light a bonfire on the neighboring peak for you to gaze at throughout the night. It will keep you warm. Tom, I believe you can do it, but remember, you owe me something in return."

That night, Tom indeed saw a bonfire lit on the nearby mountain peak. It warmed his heart, and he successfully got through the night. Joseph kept his promise and gave Tom a large sum of money. Later, Tom went to Jason's house with the money.

Tom said, "Thank you, my friend. I couldn't have won this money without your help. You said you wanted me to repay you."

Jason waved his hand and said, "I don't want money. I want a promise from you – whenever a cold wind blows through my life, you'll ignite the fire of friendship for me."

Tom didn't say anything but tightly held Jason's hand.

Short Story

About the Creator

Alien eyes

I will always remember your mischief, your tenderness, your companionship, and your alien eyes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • C.S LEWIS10 months ago

    this is so amazing Great job you can also join my friends and read what I have just prepared for you

Alien eyesWritten by Alien eyes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.