Fiction logo

The Easy Job

By The Invisible WriterPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
90
The Easy Job
Photo by Ashim D’Silva on Unsplash

Sheets of bank paper float on drafts of air. Wind rushes from vacant spaces where glass panes used to be. Last images of a life lost. The bank manager's eyes stare at me from where he fell on the floor. His mouth moves slightly in desperate gasps for air, he won't get. A lake of red expands across marble tiles. All of his tomorrows are gone, and so are mine.

The ringing world inside my ears starts to subside. Other sounds begin to creep in. A chorus of whimpers, a baby screaming. The soundtrack to how my world will end. I hope my mom will know, I'm sorry. How many steps would it take to see Rosa, sitting in the van, one more time before they gun me down? My hourglass is almost empty. I check my gun again.

I hear their boots on the concrete outside, a stampede of Warthogs coming to root me out. Another flash bang. Their boots crunching on glass. It's time to go home, I stand. Butch and Sundance, goddammit. My gun raises, my finger pulls back. The barrel of my gun flashes. The air erupts with their own sound. Goodbye Rosa, I love you.

Microfiction
90

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (45)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Wow, this is so well written. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    Very dramatic story, congratulations on Top story

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    Like WOW! Your masterful technique for story weaving, always engaging cadence, character development - make for a, yet again, compelling read most worthy of Top Story! So much revealed in a 1 minute read. Congratulations! Pauline 🌸

  • Bookkeeping Firm11 months ago

    This is very nice and informative article. if you are looking for Best Outsourced Bookkeeping Contact Us Now Bright Outsource Bookkeeping. https://globalbookkeeping.net

  • Josephine Samuel11 months ago

    Short and concise. Well structured too.

  • Nora Novak11 months ago

    So good. Almost like poetry. Makes me jealous. ;)

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    I am so glad this got Top Story! Very well deserved, poetically written, great story 😁 My favourite line, "all of his tomorrows are gone, and so are mine".

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Dammit...this gave me chills and stuff. This is so well written, Will. Just. breathtaking. Like so many people have said, you have done a blinding job of making the antagonist sympathetic. He's just a person. Chosen bad paths, going out in a blaze of bloodiness, but still has a person he loves, cherishes etc. Also loved the reference to Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid because that film always gets me in the feels. I shall not take up too much more space, but this is a thoroughly well deserved Top Story!

  • satish Kumar11 months ago

    nice

  • Ahamed Thousif11 months ago

    Amazing work!!!

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Yes! I thought I’d see this here! Congrats on a well deserved top story, Will! 💫

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Wow, the narrative here is suited perfectly to the micro form. It seems like it could be a second installment of “Bullet in the Brain” by Tobias Wolff, one of my favorite flash fiction stories. You tell a whole world in just a couple hundred words, relying on the audience for the wider context but without needing to elaborate. Your chosen lines for characterization are essential here for an emotional center and a narrative momentum that I find masterfully achieved. (“How many steps would it take to see Rosa…?”) Great great work, I thoroughly enjoyed this one. And congrats! 🎈🎊

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    I see the movie, the plan, the arguments. The deed. Then the finale. Really a whole book in 200 words. A really well written microfiction. Congrats.

  • Simon George11 months ago

    This is cool, love this. I love the self-awareness in contest with the die-hard commitment to the life he chose.

  • Mazcuud Cmc11 months ago

    Nice

  • Agunna Chukwuma 11 months ago

    This is a wonderful story

  • Ahna Lewis11 months ago

    Hooray! Top Story!!

  • Alexander McEvoy11 months ago

    Wow that was so evocative!! JBaz said in an other comment that this was a full novel in 200 words and wow I agree!!

  • JBaz11 months ago

    A full novel in two hundred words Awesome

  • J. Delaney-Howe11 months ago

    This is perfect! Great use of 200 words.

  • Will you did such an outstanding with filling in so much detail in just 200 words. Excellent job as always.

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    GREAT JOB !!! 💜

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Wow! That was pretty intense!!! Great job and congrats!!!

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Congratulations on a well deserved Top Story!!

  • Caroline Craven11 months ago

    Fantastic writing - really love 'my hourglass is almost empty'. Great stuff.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.