Fiction logo

The Dragons of Kanta Valley

Dragon Whisperer

By Meela WardPublished 2 years ago 16 min read
Like

There weren’t always dragons in the valley, but some people used to say it was chaos before the dragons appeared. Man fighting man. Bloody battles for territory. Then the dragons awoke but some kings saw them as monsters and attacked. The dragon’s scales were impenetrable against all attacks, so it forced the king’s to retreat. That was a few hundred years ago. Now no kings rule and the people of Kanta live isolated in their valley but are perfectly happy with it . My name is Monica Fern Krimsom. I am fourteen and right now me and my best friend Rebecca Oak Peterson are listening to the oldest elder and retired farmer Karson Nick

”These stories I’m telling you,” Karson said as he rocked in his rocking chair ,”are the same stories my father told me when I was around your age.” His voice was rough and low, but also had a little sympathy. His best friend peak was an old rock dragon, and he’s the oldest dragon I know in the valley. He was curled up next to the porch cause he was too big to fit.

Ah,I feel so refreshed flying through the air again,

I froze. Who had said that? Karson and Rebecca were talking, but didn’t seem to hear anything.

Mmmmm,

Now I was freaking out. Suddenly, a dark shadow covered my face that made me look up.

The sun was setting behind the mountains.

“Oh well,” Karson said with a yawn ”time to make me some tea then off to bed. Goodbye and goodnight ladies.” And with that he disappeared into his house along with peak. On our walk back down the trail Rebecca looked troubled.

”You alright?” I asked ”Fine.” Rebecca replied, but I could tell something was troubling her.

”You sure?” I asked crossing my arms while we walked. ”No,” She sighed “Karson was telling me about dragon whisperers.” “Dragon whispers?”I asked “What are those?”

“There people who have a special gift, an ability that allows them to talk to dragons and share thoughts.” She said “Cool!” I exclaimed, but she still looked sad. “Why are you still upset?”

“Karson said that all the dragon whisperers were killed by king Magnus ,and now there are no more left nor, do they have any family.” I winced at the thought of king Magnus.He was the worst king and was over thrown by his daughter Katrina. During his rein he brought much pain and suffering but, that was along time ago.

We had traveled to the end of the trail that went up to Karson’s house ,and were walking on the road towards the village. It was quite for a while. Rebeccas long red hair sparkled in the sunset as we walked. I decided to brake the silence.”My mom sent me to get a few groceries before we decided to go to Karson’s.” I said. “Wanna come with me?” We had walked into the village and stopped at the entrance.Her gray eyes fixed on me. “But all the kidnappings?”Rebecca was right, there had been eight kidnappings in the last two weeks. Everyone who had been kidnapped has been family of an elder. ”Ok I’ll go tomorrow.” Rebecca looked relieved. “Ok goodnight Monica.” She said as she started to walk towards the direction of her home. “Goodnight Rebecca.” I called after her.

. . .

The next morning when I got up my dad took me to the trade center with him in our horse cart. That’s his job he’s a trade master ,who basically supervises all of the villagers and the dragons trading with each other. Skylar our dragon friend is usually my dads helper. When we got there I was surprised to see Rebecca.

“Hi.” I said “Oh! Hi Monica, my dads here trading his wool.”Rebecca’s dad is a sheep farmer. Rio the farmer of the north let him rent out a few acres for farming by there house. Her mom makes clothes with the yarn spun from it.

“Hello will and hello Kathryn.” My dad said with a smile. ”Why hello Harold!” Mr. Peterson exclaimed. “What a surprise!” “Rebecca, Monica why don’t you two go play.” My father said. “Ok come on Rebecca.”

We raced off towards the summer berry meadow. Summer berries are small little yellow spheres about the size of baby nectarines. They can be cooked into jam, jelly, pies, cakes, and, puddings. They can also be just as great by themselves.They are orange when they form ,yellow when ripe, and red before they rot ,and cause of the name they only blossom in spring to summer. I grabbed a basket from the cart and ran with Rebecca towards the meadow. The meadow smelled like honey and oranges and the warm sun felt nice on our faces. About a half a hour later we grew tired and sweaty from picking berries and, racing in the tall grass.

“Wanna head down to babble creek?” I asked while wiping and lock of deep brown hair out of my face.“Of course!” Rebecca remarked. We put our baskets by the rocky shore, took off are shoes, and ran into the water. I could see little minos just beneath the surface. The water felt cool and crisp after standing in the sun I laid on my back and watched as dragons flew over the sun. It made me miss Skylar. As if reading my mind Rebecca said “where’s Skylar I haven’t seen her in awhile.” I sighed “she’s migrating

into the beyond she should be back two days from now.” ”wow It would be awesome if she could talk to you and tell you about the beyond.” “I know.” I mumbled “it would be cool.”

We snacked on summer berries and beef jerky I found in the basket for lunch. Then while we were laying down looking shapes in the clouds the bushes on the edge of the clearing started shaking.

“Hide!” I whispered to my friend. We bent down in the grass and then I heard voices

“So they’re on their way from migration? You actually saw them come over the mountain?”, a tall aqua blue water dragon came out of the bushes.

“I’m sure of it. It was the sky and summer dragon clan,” growled an evergreen nature dragon who also came from the bushes. Wait they’re talking…but how? I thought.

The aqua one started eating summer berries. They both looked familiar.

I gasped when I recognized them. We don’t own dragons, but they help us in our everyday lives. Skylar has been in my family ever since my great grandma Karisa was a little girl. The nature dragon was Ivy who helps Kiro, the farmer of the west. The water was Weather, helper of Eric the farmer of the east.

The dragons stopped talking. They had heard me. Ivy started growling then Weather pounced and me and Rebecca fell onto our backs with our chest pinned down by a nature dragon and a water dragon.”WHO ARE YOU!” Weather roared “Weather, Ivy it’s me Monica, Harold Krimson’s daughter” I managed. Weather tilted his head and Ivy cocked her ears. “And that’s my friend, Rebecca Peterson.” After this was said they helped us up and nodded then left.

Rebecca gawked at me.

“What?” I said with a giggled.”You yo- just.”

She stuttered unable to talk.”What?”I said this time serious.”Are you KIDDING!” She screamed “You just TALKED to them and they UNDERSTOOD YOU!” Trying to recover from her screaming she grabbed my arms and started shaking violently”WHY did you NEVER tell me you were a DRAGON WHISPERER!”.

Time slowed and I felt my heart rise up into my throat. I put my hand to my head. The words dragon whisperer echoed through my head . When time sped back up I stopped Rebecca and said ”I never knew I was one I guess that makes sense cause I heard peak dreaming. I also heard them talk about how Ivy saw the sky and summer dra…..” I stopped. ”THERE BACK!” I yelled “LETS GO COME ON!”

As we entered the village there was a group of people towards the middle of the village around the Kanta tree, the center of the village. A Kanta tree has multiple colored fruits. Each color of the fruit can be used for different things. It was a gift of peace from the dragons back when the valley was created. I was making my way through the crowd when I heard a roar.”MONICA?”

It was Skylar. I was so excited so I started running. Finally I was at the base of the tree and I looked up. A roar blistered my ears.

“MONICA!!!“ A large mass of scales slammed into me. I could feel Skylars excitement.

“SKYLAR!” I yelled. I couldn’t stop giggling while she nudged me with her nose. “SKYLAR I think I’m still gonna want my ribs when I’m older.” I said. “Oh sorry but I missed you so much.” She licked me affectionally one more time then got up “WAIT, you can understand me!?”

Before I could answer …“Hello Skylar.” Karisa said in a calm voice.”KARISA!!” Skylar bounded over to her and rested her head on my great grandmas shoulder.

Rainbow, sunny, gust, and storm came down out of the tree. There the rest of the sky and summer clan. Skylar ran over and stood next to them. Behind my grandma, the other elders Hilo, Hearth, Pedagrew, and Adrian came out of the elder hall along with Charlene the elder peacekeeper.

“Welcome back dragons,” Hilo said in a low nervous voice “we are very happy you have returned.” “ I agree with my colleague ,”said Karisa “it is an honor to have you return to our beloved valley.” “And it is an honor to be back.” Rainbow sniffed. Rainbow looked at the others a nodded then without warning they bowed. A moment of shock ran through the entire crowd. A dragon bowing to you is the highest rank of respect one can bestow.

All eyes turned to the elders. Karisa bowed back to the dragons along with others.

“LET US CELEBRATE!”Hearth announced

Lights were strung along the streets, decorations hung and food was served. I sat in one of the chairs that lined the dance floor. I realized Drake, Mitch, Charlene, and Jane weren’t at the celebration. I understood since Drakes daughters Lily and jasmine had been kidnapped. Along with Dan, janes son and jack,Leo, Nathan, and Irina. Mitches whole family except his wife Helen.Charlene also lost her daughter Cassandra. Skylar came over and sat next to me. She was about my size and was sky blue with other blues mixed in. A little bit of gold a silver mixed with navy blue lined her tail. The flashing light illuminated her scales. “I really missed you.” She sighed

“I did too.” I replied. I took I bite of my summer berry pie. Skylar gasped . “Summer berry PIE!!!” She swayed her tail and gave me her puppy eyes. “Don’t look at me like that.” I struggled “STOP it.” But she just looked at me. ”Why do you always do this?”

“Because it always works.”she said “Fine here.” I threw her the last bit of my pie and it disappeared almost immediately. Rebecca came over holding a chocolate cupcake.

“REBECCA!” Skylar said. ”What did she say?Rebecca said ”Something like ,REBECCA!,” I said with a giggle ”Well hello to you to Skylar. Now let’s go dance!” Rebecca exclaimed. Grabbing my arm she pulled me to the dance floor.

. . .

Skylar took me home cause I was to tired to walk. When we got there my mom greeted me. ”I asked you to get groceries two days ago.” “ I’m so sorry mom.” I said “Don’t worry I got them but I want you to go get more of Eric’s beef jerky from the market.” “Yes ma’am” I sighed “Skylar will you stay here Ryan,Monicas brother, wants to see you before he goes to bed.” “Bye.” I said to Skylar and headed to town.

Susan the shopkeeper was about to close the market when I stopped her. ”I’m so sorry Susan I just need to grab something for my mom.” “That’s all right.” She smiled. I ran in found the jerky and paid her but before I was about to leave I heard “Wait!”I turned and saw Drain Susan’s dragon who helps her. He lowered his head and said “Tell Skylar I said hi.” I smiled. I knew Drain had feelings for Skylar. ”I will.“ And with that I left. Walking toward my house I heard a crash in a nearby alley way. I rushed over and peeked by the corner. “ I swear I didn’t mean to.” A man pleaded.

There were two men in the alley. One with a hood and a dragon black as night next to him and another man was dressed in a white collar shirt with a red tie an apron around his waist with black pants. It was Regan! The town’s tavern waiter and Kiros son. The man advanced on Regan and picked him with inhumane strength. Holding him off the ground with his collar he said “ I don’t believe you.” “No please I didn’t tell anyone!” Regan panicked ”Your plan to kidnap those people was amazing I would never tell a soul.”I gasped. The only one who heard me was Regan ,he looked over and his eyes widened.

”You have bigger problems then to be messing with me.” The man tilted his had in confusion. He looked over we’re Regan was looking. When he saw me he kept his eyes on me at least I think he did cause his hood covers his face. He seemed to get angry cause he squeezed Regan hard making him start to thrash for air. When he dropped him, a sickening crack came from Regans arm. While Regan was unconscious from the pain, the other man started making his way towards me. I ran into the street and ran towards Susan’s shop but it was locked.

I banged on the door but no answer. The hooded figure was walking slowly towards me so I ran home. When I got there something was different. No lights were on. My mom normally waits up for me. When I got to the door it was busted.I ran in and what I saw horrified me. My home was a wreck. Papers scattered ,tables knocked over, and bedrooms empty. In the kitchen I sat and cried. Through my sobs I heard banging. I stopped crying and listened. BANG. It came from the room under the stairs.I ran over hoping it was my family. I opened the door but it wasn’t, it was Skylar.

“SKYLAR!” I hugged her “MONICA I’m glad your ok!” ”My family is gone,” I sobbed “ Who took them?” “I can’t remember but..” she looked past me then lowered into her attacking position with her spikes laidback

”Him.”

I turned to find the hooded man in the doorway with his dragon behind him. I ran behind Skylar. The dragon advanced towards her. Meeting him halfway Skylar jumped towards him claws aiming for his neck. He dodged and tried to counterattack. As they attacked each other. I went to the kitchen and next to the stove was a lose floor board. Underneath it was my dads pale blue silver sword in its sheath. I took it and turned to find the man with the hood behind me with his black sword drawn and advancing.

I swerved around and fought him. Skylar was pinned down under the black dragon. She lashed her tail and sliced the dragons back with her spikes. He roared in pain. While he was distracted Skylar used her giant wings and flapped them in his face causing him to release her then she jumped onto his back and started clawing.

Meanwhile I managed to block every blow the man through at me but I was growing tired. He sliced at my head and I ducked down and kicked his legs out from under him. He fell onto his back but sliced my right arm while falling. I screamed. The pain was beyond anything I had ever felt before and it made me sick to think about it. Skylar felt what I was feeling and ran to my aid. The black dragon tried to attacked again but the hooded man stopped him because the noise was waking the villagers.

“Stay still it is not as bad as you think.” I was crying. She tried to cushion my arm but pain exploded. I screamed again. “Oh I’m sorry.”

She looked so sad. ”It’s ok.” I managed.

”Hello?” Skylar turned around so fast it made the man jump.Drake was standing in the doorway. He was the town butcher.”Oh my!” He gasped. I now realized the carpet and the wood was shredded with dragon claw marks. Skylar was shielding me from his sight.

”Dragon what did you do to this house!”

“Drake..”I tried to speak. Skylar looked at me then she understood. She went past me and laid behind me. ”MONICA!” Drake ran over and realized the cut on my arm. He backed up towards the doorway.

”JANE,CHARLENE,KARISA,REBECCA I NEED YOU!” A few moments later Jane the healer rushed in along with Charlene, Karisa ,and Rebecca. Jane and Rebecca ran over to me while Charlene and Karisa looked around at the house. Jane gave me carth root which numbs pain and wrapped up my arm. She took me outside where a group had gathered. She pushed me through the crowd with Rebecca following.

Then she took me to her house and laid me on the floor. while she made some tea Rebecca questioned me,

”What happened?” I sighed and explained my mom sending me for the jerky, and the alley and him attacking me. Once I finished Rebecca said ”Your staying with me from now on.” “Rebecca..” “Don’t Rebecca me ,your from an elder family and I’m not so why would Mr. Creepy come to my house.” I understood why she thought that. ”She has to stay with me for now until she’s healed.” Jane said while handing me a cup of tea. ”For now you should go home.” “But I wanna stay with Monica .” Rebecca protested “No she needs to heal.” Jane said sternly “ok..” Rebecca sighed “well see you later.”

When I was done with my tea,Jane looked at my arm and so did I. A cut from my shoulder ran down my arm and ended at my elbow. It wasn’t bleeding but there was remanence of some sort of poison. “ I don’t know how you came in contact with hyper poison.” Jane mumbled to herself. “What’s hyper poison?” I asked “Hyper poison is from a creature called Sithacampay.” Jane sighed “ It’s one of the only thing that can kill dragons. It’s name means dark suffering.” Jane had cleaned the wound with some sort of bad smelling clear liquid. It didn’t need stitches but the cut would take awhile to heal. She wrapped it then told me to rest. After cleaning the kitchen she went to bed. As I laid there one thing kept tugging on my mind .I’m getting my family back.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Meela Ward

A crazy dragon nerd, and a huge fantasy geek with quite the imagination. She has a big passion for writing and animating.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.