Fiction logo

The Dragon Tamer

A girl seeks knowledge long after dark

By Kira DeSomma Published 11 months ago 1 min read
1

The creature would stay asleep as long as I kept the lights out. The acrobats had folded themselves into their hammocks, the fortune teller ducked into her caravan, and the clowns piled into their tent. There was only me and the beast.

The dripping candle shook in my sweaty palm. I heard his chest rumble somewhere between a purr and an engine thrumming to life.

“You’re back,” the monster growled, turning one enormous eye my way. “Have you decided on a wish?”

“Yes,” I replied, holding the candle up to see his terrifying face, “I want you to teach me.”

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Kira DeSomma

Author. Artist. Earl Grey Enthusiast // She/her // Joypunk and/or hopecore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.