Fiction logo

The Dragon's Awakening

Chapter 1: Gone, but Not Forgotten

By Crystal A. WolfePublished 2 years ago 16 min read
4
Image by Igor Olimpov from Pixabay

There weren't always dragons in the Valley. Perhaps there were long ago, but that is no longer the case. Over a millennia ago, dragons ruled the skies, dominated the lands, and frequently perched themselves on the sea cliffs searching for krakens and hydras to satisfy their gargantuan appetites. However, as man encroached the Valley, the dragons started to disappear.

Hunted for alchemy and skinned for armor, they learned to hide. As our resources have depleted in the sea and on land, our sizes have stunted and are near extinction.

Today, the Valley is known by man as "The Forbidden Wood" and justly named as a warning to travelers.

Never. Ever. Enter.

Map of the Forbidden Wood created by the author, Crystal A. Walker in her book "The Queen's Awakening: Retribution"

The deadliest creatures have survived deep inside the forest, outliving the dragons. Even men know not to venture into the heart of the woods. That is a place where monsters are born, and nightmares are made.

Anyone lost near the forest's heart may encounter ruthless creatures like imps, goblins, and ogres. Blood-thirsty centaurs are also commonly seen claiming territory and seeking a mate. Basilisks will turn a victim to stone if eye contact is made. Here, even the innocent are evil with ornery fairies leading the mischief. Should a lost traveler succumb to the unsolicited advice from a helpful fairy, beware...They are known for luring the lost into traps only to sprinkle dust on them for 100-year slumber.

Despite the dangers in the heart of the Forbidden Wood, it's Healspring that is the most formidable. Although its name is enticing, that is where a powerful banshee haunts, keeping the ground in a fog, the sky dark, and life festers away.

It was not always that way, though.

Healspring was a tranquil sanctuary protected by those who had a magical connection to the pools. Like many things over time, it fell to selfish human desires and sought to be a territory to control. Now, the healing waters are cut off and haunted by the "Banshee Queen" with whom no man nor beast will ever cross paths.

Once the sanctuary for monsters and beasts, the Forbidden Wood has evolved into a valley of desperation, rampage, and horror. It's certainly no place for a pygmy dragon with a broken wing.

Through savaging and hiding, I've been able to carve out a meager existence on the Forbidden Wood along the outer boundaries.

Weighting the options where to go, the tiny dragon thinks about his choices. To the west is the mighty capital, Krässe. Ruled by a powerful family, where merchants make their trade. To the east are the wet marshlands leading to Sutler's Bay, known for maritime commerce and occasional piracy. Although the marsh is ideal for ground creatures, I risk a water monster making a meal out of me since I cannot take to the skies right now. Sighing, The southwest doesn't bode much promise at "Hangman's Joy" where the most corrupted criminals gather, and I'd fetch a nice bounty of coin for a scoundrel down on their luck.

However, the land to the southeast holds the most promise. This land - called "D'mar" - was a mighty kingdom and once more powerful than Krässe. Somehow through the complex history of humans, the two kingdoms became enemies. Now, the D'marians are known as "The Exiled" and struggling to carve out an existence through an embargo.

Nightfall is approaching, he shudders, feeling the temperature drop.

Surveying the cliffside, he wheezes through his pea-sized nostrils. Not tonight. Flinching after the slightest touch of his nose along his broken wing, I need rest, and I'll journey up the road at daybreak. Perhaps in D'mar, I can find sanctuary among 'The Exiled.' Little do they know, I think we have a lot in common.

For now, sanctuary rests tonight at a clearing known as "Fallen Horses." Here, countless travelers met their demise naively trying to navigate the narrow road leading to and from D'mar - while staying off the books - before heading to Krässe. After all, all contact with D'mar has been proclaimed forbidden.

Looking for a makeshift shelter, the pygmy dragon sets his eyes on an underturned carriage at the mountain's base. Quickly scurrying under to avoid being seen, he huddles in a corner for warmth. In the morning, it'll be easy to navigate up from here. After all, this is the point where the road forks, leading east to D'mar and west to Krässe. Tomorrow, I'll choose east.

After spending a frigid night huddled in the corner of the broken caravan, he shakes the morning frost off of his leathery scales. Winding his way through the graveyard scattered with horse bones and debris, he wearily makes his way up the mountain road.

1 Sunset...he reads the sign. I can be there before nightfall. Perhaps if little-to-no caravans are traveling, I can make it to D'mar by late afternoon.

Hugging the rocky cliff wall, ducking behind boulders, and camouflaging under branches to rest while watching secretive merchants pass, he finally reaches D'mar.

Catching his breath, he takes in the sight of the towers and walls in the distance. Hearing the creaking of another set of wooden wheels rolling toward his direction, the pygmy dragon crouches in the tall grass. Dodging the patches of half-melted snow to avoid tracking, he lets the moldy wheat tickle his belly as he dashes to the castle's stone perimeter.

Following the barrier to a location without guards, he extends his talons out to climb up the moss-covered stones.

This would be much easier if I had two working wings...

Rolling over the top, the dragon heaves himself to the edge of the other side to take in the view.

Squinting, he examines the tripartite towers looming in the distance. The frost covering the steep-pitched roofs melts just beyond the mist, creating a grime-coated film along the limestone walls. Watching the castle's shadows melt into the Valley, his amber eyes fall to the desolate muck-ridden marketplace below.

Glancing down, the pygmy dragon examines the dilapidated yard below him that once served as the castle gardens. Watching a boy steal a piece of stale bread from a nearby wagon and an elderly woman argue with the local a guard over a bag of putrid oats, his belly starts to rumble.

D'mar...Oh, how the mighty have fallen. We dragons can relate. I don't want to be eaten alive by anything in the forest and I can likely find a hiding spot here amongst the market's scavengers. I'll be safe here, and I can sneak into the shops at night for scraps. This will also suit me fine as a place to heal my broken wing.

Digging his claws into the overgrown vines blanketing the wall, he descends to the snow-caked garden. Scoping the decrepit oasis for refuge, his seashell-shaped ears turn to the center of the enclosure.

Drip. Drip. Drip.

His almond-shaped eyes fall to the site of a well in the center of the garden.

Water!

Hopping over another patch of half-melted snow, he grips the masonry. Slipping from the mold and moss caked under his claws, he scrapes his way through the ascent. Licking his dry tongue over his lips and watching the icicles melt, he oversees the drops falling into the dark abyss. Doing his best to balance himself on his back legs and wrapping his tail around the spindle post, he reaches his mouth forward to catch the next sparkling drop to quench his thirst.

Almost there, he extends his neck.

Stretching his tongue out, I can almost feel the cold water on my lips. His thighs tremble to keep him grounded, Just a little further...

Feeling his tail give out, a scream catches inside of his throat as he realizes that he over extended his body far too much to manage the counterbalance.

Plunging into the blistery cold water, the pygmy dragon panics, finding himself below the bone-chilling surface. Frantically flapping his good wing to get to the surface, he claws into a half-rotted bucket. Collapsing into the container, he catches his breath as his wooden life raft bobs around.

No. No. No! This cannot be happening. Feeling his muscles tensing and scales starting to freeze together, I'm going to die down here...

Lowing his head, a warm tear falls onto one of his toes. I've scratched and clawed my way through existence from the moment I was hatched. Even as the runt of my mother's litter, I was cast away. Unwanted. Unloved. Left to fend for myself. Perhaps luck got me through so many years, but it appears my luck has run out. Laying down, he slowly lets his body relax and allows himself to drift asleep. I know I may not wake up after this, and there's no point fighting the end. I give up.

"My lady, there is something that I believe we should talk about," a man says in the distance.

"Like what?" a little girl responds.

Peeling open his gold-slitted irises, Humans...Can't I die in peace?

The man clears his throat, "With the untimely death of your father, your poor mother is without a husband. She will need to eventually remarry."

Glaring up, the dragon watches the little girl's silhouette flicking patches of snow into the well. With some of it landing on the dragon's head, he shakes it off. What do I do? If they find me, they might kill me. On the other hand, my fate is sealed if I stay here.

The man continues, "Perhaps, I can marry your mother? One day, you may even think of me as a father."

Their voices drown out as the dragon weighs his options. With this heartbeat thumping in his ears, he senses the window to take action is closing. Maybe I still have a little bit of luck left...he lets out a whimper.

"Did you hear that, Viceroy?"

Rolling his eyes, "It's probably a mangy cat."

"It didn't sound like a cat," the little girl leans over the edge looking into the blackness. "There's something down there!" her excitement echoes down the well's walls. "Quick! Pull the rope. Maybe we can get it out."

"Right away, my little lady," Talon mocks a bow.

Feeling the rope tugged, the bucket lifts the dragon to where his rescuers await. Once I get to the surface, I'll bolt to the nearest corner of the garden and disappear.

With the light casting a shadow into the bucket, the dragon makes eye contact with the girl. Suddenly, his heart melts, and his mind is captivated by her innocence as an aura of love surrounds her. His body warms, and he feels her heart beckon him as though under a silent spell. Looking over her shoulder, he sees the man holding the rope with one hand and reaching out to the girl with the other with a sinister grin etched on his face.

He's trying to push her in!

"Ava! Get away from the well!" a woman cries out from the terrace.

Leaping into her arms, she catches the dragon and lands on the ground, cradling the broken beast to break his fall. Letting his body melt into her like a warm blanket, Ava rubs her hand along his spine to help stop his shivering. "It's a dragon!"

Behind a coat button, the dragon watches the noblewoman rush down the marble stairs. "What are you doing letting her sit on top of a frozen well?" Helping her daughter to her feet.

"She was safe, Lady Edina. I have nothing but the best intentions for your daughter," he extends his hand out to ask to kiss hers.

Smacking it away, "I've seen your 'good' intentions, Talon," she glares. "We will talk about this later."

Wrapping its tail around Ava's forearm, he digs its claws into her fur coat. Its feathered beard shakes as the animal shivers in the winter breeze. Trying to conceal the animal from the wind, Ava swaddles her cloak around him and feels the reverberation of his chest while the tiny beast calms itself. "What kind of dragon is this? It seems kind of small. I thought dragons were big."

"It's an amphithere," Talon said.

Image sourced by Wikimedia

Stroking the dragon's head, "an amp...amphip..." Spittle projects from her lips while she tries to repeat the pronunciation. "I'll just call him Phip!"

A name? I have a name! Phip...I like it.

Her doe eyes look to her mother, "Can I keep him?"

"No, Ava. It is still a dragon, and he should remain in the wild," Lady Edina tucks a loose strand of auburn hair behind her daughter's ear.

Hunching her shoulders, she examines his broken wing. "But mother, he is hurt, and he'll die if we do not take care of him."

Talon bends his knee to bring himself to her eye level, "All things die, Ava, and many of them cannot be helped."

"We should always try. Shouldn't we?" her eyes fill with warm tears.

"This dragon may appear small and innocent, but some things are not always what they appear to be," Talon said, turning to her mother. "Some things may turn on you and hurt you when you least expect it," he furrows his brow, seeing Lady Edina cast her back to him.

Phip glares at Talon. Something is very wrong here...

"With your permission," he bows. "I will care for the animal until its wing has mended, then he'll go free."

Edina turns to her sobbing daughter. "Fine," she exhales. "But see to it, the animal is completely healed before releasing him. Ava is right, and we should try to provide him with the best chance of survival."

Mercy? From a human? I am not sure what is rarer. That or seeing another dragon.

Bending a knee to reach her eye level, Talon reaches his arms out. "Bring me the dragon, my dear."

"His name is Phip," she holds him close.

"Of course. I'll take good care of Phip. Now, I believe it is time for your lunch, so hurry to the kitchen and see that you get something warm. You've been outside in the snow for far too long."

Unwrapping Phip from her cloak, Ava rubs the tip of her nose on top of his head before handing him over to Viceroy Talon.

She smells of lavender...It's been a long time since I've caught a whiff of such a divine scent, his memory flashes back to when he was a hatchling learning to feed in a blossoming bush.

Suddenly the smell of musk and sweat overwhelms his nostrils as Talon's malice fingers tightly grip around Phip. Watching Ava run towards the kitchen, an awkward silence looms in the air, only broken by the Viceroy's guttural voice. "Your daughter needs a fatherly figure in her life. Perhaps, you will reconsider my proposition and take me as your lord and husband."

Pivoting on her heels, "No! It was a mistake what we did. We should have never had such a relationship. And to try to hide what was done to Lord Gaven. We-"

"We did what was necessary. Now, no one will ever know of our affair. You will keep your head, and the kingdom will move on from their beloved Gavin and shall adopt a new 'Head of House' soon enough. Think of your daughter," he caresses Edina. "What will Ava think hearing that her adulterous mother and the man she had an affair with killed her father?"

Pulling her arm back, she slaps him across his smug face. "You will leave Ava out of this!"

Rubbing his pink cheek, "Your choices look grim, Lady Edina. If you do not name me as your husband, I am afraid I will have to take additional measures."

"You do not scare me. Do what you must, but you will stay away from my daughter from now on." Curling her lip, "I saw how close you were to her at the well, and your twisted desires give you away." Turning her gaze to the ground, shaking her head, "I should have never appointed you as Viceroy." Keeping her voice steady as tears flood her eyes, "You have tricked and betrayed me."

"You had no choice. You know as well as I do that Krässen rulers would have made you appoint me whether you wanted it or not," he tries to kiss one of her rosy cheeks.

Pushing away, "Do not ever presume you have permission to touch me again. Stay away from me and stay away from my daughter!"

"You are just as guilty as I am," he hisses. Circling her, "I remember that day well. You lured your 'king' to the top of the stairs and..." he pushes the empty bucket down the well. "You practically executed him yourself. I can almost hear the snap of his neck when he landed. My sweet Lady Edina. I fear that you may have put yourself in a terrible quandary, and I think the best option for you is to keep your mouth shut. After all, what will little Ava think?"

"Keep her out of this," she snarls. "And stay away from the both of us," she storms up the snowy path.

Phip and Talon watch Edina push the castle's ironwork door shut.

"Oh, what a malleable woman. She was far too easy to bend to my will," his lip curls as he scratches Phip under the chin. "Now, she sees the truth, but it's far too late. Any implication she has will not only condemn her but will rip whatever security her daughter has as the last of her forsaken lineage. There is no denying that the people loved King Gavin..." he looks down at Phip. "...Which is what made him such an attractive target."

I have seen monsters in the Forbidden Wood, but I never imagined I'd find myself in the arms of one of man's most corrupted.

"Now, what to do with you...Clearly, our little Lady Ava has taken a liking to you, so I'll keep you around as my bait to keep her close. Whether Edina likes it or not, I will always make sure that I have a tie to Ava. At least, until her retched bloodline is wiped out when I shall become the next ruler of D'mar. Finally, the Krässen family will be proud again, and I'll be rewarded handsomely."

I've been many things. Beast. Dragon. Legend. Forgotten. However, today I have adopted a new title. 'Puppet.'

"Shall we go, my pet? Let's see what our Ava - the 'Next Ruler of D'mar' is doing. Surely, she'd love to see you..."

---

Disclaimer: Characters in this story were inspired by my 1st fantasy fiction self-published book "The Queens Awakening: Retribution." Thank you to Vocal.Media for this month's writing challenge as it made me think about dragons. As a result, it catapulted my imagination to do a side story to the main fantasy fiction series that I am overdue to dust off.

Fantasy
4

About the Creator

Crystal A. Wolfe

Blogger | Creative Writer | Traveler | Full-Time RVer

You can find all of my articles on my blog as well on Medium where I'm most active in Humor, Lifestyle, and Travel. I've self-published one fantasy fiction with the sequel in the works.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lynda Spargur11 months ago

    I love dragons! And the world you've created here is very interesting. Thank you for sharing this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.